Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 12th December

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

ONI: LASO – Complete ONI, Legendary, All Skulls On (LASO) – 22,000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

ONI: Sword Base is not a particularly difficult mission, but this makes it oh so much harder. Even the first Firefight in the Courtyard is a tricky prospect here. When the challenge says all skulls, that’s primary and secondary, so enemies are tougher, weapons give less ammo, shields don’t recharge unless you melee, if you die you either restart or go back to a checkpoint if in co-op. Previously blind isn’t necessary for LASO challenges, hopefully that’s the case here today.

There are a number of key battles you’ll have in the mission, culminating in the climb up through Sword Base and the fight against camouflaged Elites and firing rockets at Banshee’s and dropships. As usual you’ll do well letting Kat do a lot of the fighting for you and backing up from afar. Especially the Hunters – if you can grab the Shotgun from the barricade in their room and getting behind them it’s much easier.

I won’t do a whole walkthrough here – there are plenty on the web already. This guide to doing it on LASO is tres useful, commentary on the level to help you. One of the best tips I can give is a glitch in the game that Bungie still hasn’t fixed – if you die immediately pause and quit mission. When you re-enter Campaign you’ll be back at the checkpoint you last triggered rather than the beginning. If you’re doing it on your own that’s much easier.

I’m sure everyone will have useful tips on particular points of the mission – please add them to the comments.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

24 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 12th December

  1. ITS ZAPHOX says:

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Actually very tempting. I’m hoping that poro would like to run through this while me and Braythor (and potentially Yellow?) have forklift fights away from anything dangerous. 😉 You guys tend to be on a similar time schedule to me, so please to organise in the comments here 😀

    • Braythor says:

      Yep that sounds good to me. I’ve already agreed to a couple hours of Gears with a mate first though, so I’d be looking at about 3-3:30…

      • Braythor says:

        Or this evening before the H3 stuff.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Today’s not so hot for me. I’ve rented a wallpaper stripper for the day so you can imagine how much fun I’m having. 😕

        Thursday is particularly good for me, as is Sunday 🙂

      • Braythor says:

        Ah ok. Thursday evening is all I can do then, don’t know about any days after that just yet.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Blimey, you’re working already?

      • Braythor says:

        Not quite: I have an induction on Thursday afternoon, then I think the job starts on Sunday, but I won’t know what shifts I have until the induction.

      • TheOneInYellow says:

        I agree with both of you, however, I may be busy on Thursday too, but I’ll try an keep it open in case there is an opportunity for all of us to play and do the Weekly, otherwise, Sunday is a very good day 😀

      • porottaja says:

        I can speedrun ONI under 9 minutes (not on LASO though), so will get this done easily.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I could potentially do today (Wednesday); early afternoon would be best though, I’d have to be finished by 4pm at the absolute latest.

  3. Eskobar says:

    Easy weekly! Backup save last checkpoint. 24.000cR in a flash, can’t complain.

    • Eskobar says:

      Including the 2000cR daily*

    • WHGT says:

      So can you explain to me how you save the checkpoint as a backup? Do you use a Flash drive to transfer the gamesave off of your 360 after getting to the final part of every level so you have a save for every level of the campaign?

      • TheOneInYellow says:

        Depends on how you manage your saving of games.

        I use my 16GB USB as my primary save and critical data handling of all things that include saves, profiles, and sometimes DLC’s that extremely small (such as my Legendary Armour Effect for Reach, or my Gears of War 3 beta and Epic Edition skins, but I have many other games which has stuff like this). My USB also holds quite a few Arcade games, for when I go visit friends or play on someone else’s 360.
        I use my old 512MB memory Card (MC) as a secondary back up of save files from my USB.
        My HDD is my primary save for large data storage, such as data or game install’s, large DLC’s, large Arcade or 360 games, video or multimedia content, and so forth. It is also used as a third back up of my save files from my USB.

        Some games, such as Halo: Reach, have game saves on the HDD rather than anywhere else, since I also save a huge amount of video files, which is better stored on my HDD.

        Because of this, I have the ability to play a Reach Campaign on LASO using my HDD as the storage device, finish it, go to my 360 System Settings, and select the storage devices, find the campaign level I just finished on my HDD, and back it up to my USB and/or MC. Then, in the future, should the same LASO campaign challenge arise again (or a variant of the challenge), I copy the previous save file for when I last attempted the challenge from my USB/MC to my HDD, and load Reach.
        I should now be a able to ‘continue’ the checkpoint, and re-finish the level in no time: 😉
        I never use the most recent save file, always the original, which is never altered (I NEVER select my MC as a storage device when starting any game, meaning the Reach campaign saves are kept intact).

        I can store a total of two campaign levels like this (my MC hold the PoA campaign level completed on LASO), but if you had more USB’s, you can store more campaign saves.

        Have fun ^_^

      • Eskobar says:

        That works too, though you’d need a lot of memory units to save every level for later.

  4. Eskobar says:

    You need a flash drive (preferably 1GB) equals 9GB of backup for all 9 missions. Program: USB Image Tool.

    • Eskobar says:

      I also found out this this is a good way to get back levels after the armory glitch, which deletes all campaign progress.

  5. Scruff 815 says:

    Two hours and around 170 total deaths later, the Weekly has been conquered! Thanks to Yellow and RougePegasus for their help 😀

  6. Micah says:

    Matt, for some reason the “Weekly Challenges” button in the header doesn’t give you the same results as clickly the “Weekly” link under Filed Under. The URL is different too. The most recent Weekly Challenge under the former is from May.

  7. Marsh says:

    Did we find out whether we need to have Blind on?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      No you don’t. There’s only been one time ever where we needed Blind on, which was the very first LASO.

  8. Adam says:

    Dumb question…u can do this on co-op right?

Leave a Reply

