Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 19th December

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Endure: The Return – Complete four sets on any Firefight map in co-op play on Heroic or harder – 30,000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

As with last time, it doesn’t say Matchmaking, so there’s a possibility of doing this with two players or more in co-op on a hand made game type. So select the Firefight option from the main menu, get a squad together and jump into a game. A set is 4 rounds (3 normal and a bonus), and a normal round is 5 waves. So 64 waves when you consider the bonus a wave and you’re done.

You can change all the settings yourself quite easily, if you want it quickly done download my Firefight Invincible game type from Bungie.net and have fun wiping wave after wave of Elite Squad from the face of Reach (or the skies if you do the recommended and play on Corvette). Squad up with some buddies and just play through it.

One of the key things we found last time is you should keep playing into the fifth set – the game doesn’t seem to recognise the end of the fourth until you’ve moved on. In fact it’s better to just keep playing until it tells you it’s completed, just to be sure.

There are ways of speeding it up – obviously infinite health, shields, very powerful weapons and weak enemies are good. Grunts can come out faster and be easier to kill.

If you want to arrange a squad meetup and Firefight session please the comments during the week to sort it.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

47 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 19th December

  1. gans42 says:

    This is a gift, thanks 343i!

  2. Matt says:

    I was hoping it would be this challenge again (Endure: The Return: The Return?). I’m 15K away from Legend so sitting around for a few minutes killing Elite Generals for 30K sounds great. Thanks, 343!

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    On the one hand, it takes about 20 minutes for a free 30,000 cR and it’s a challenge that even those on Silver accounts can do.

    On the other hand, it’s incredibly boring and requires absolutely zero skill.

    Take your pick whether this is a good thing or a bad thing 😉

    • Zidane says:

      I take it this can’t be done in ffm

    • Roan-the-Man says:

      Hey, maybe they could’ve made FF Limited completion in FFM a type of Endure Challenge. Than again the Lag for most of my friends and me is sooo damn horrible that it couldn’t be done solo (when everyone lags out)!

    • hate_stupid_cookie_references_guy says:

      Hey Scruff, if the challenge is beneath you, then ignore it. It’s like some people who refuse to play ANY firefight challenge because it’s beneath them, or refuse to buy armor because the notion is silly.

      Don’t bring the snotty HaloWaypoint attitude to Matt’s site.

      It’s Christmas, maybe 343 is being generous to us ungodlike skilled players like you, cheese and snickerdoodle. Lighten up already. Join the military if you’re god’s gift to sniping or whatever buddy.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        What are you talking about? All he did was state facts. He said it’s boring and takes no skill, both of which are true. The only one with an attitude is you.

      • Braythor says:

        There’s only one person on this page with a snotty attitude, mate, and it isn’t Scruff. His comment was clearly a light hearted one, as they always are. Of course, you’d know that if you were on here often, which you’re not. Your feeble attempt at implying familiarity has backfired completely – if you were indeed a regular you’d know that the correct way to refer to the owner is Matthew. Not Matt, Mat, Matty, or any other shortened form of the name.

        Many people might not like the comments of folk like Scruff and Snicks (though that’s mainly due to the habit those people have of injecting their own idea of intonation into comments for the single purpose of then starting an argument), but there are just as many others who get on perfectly well with them, and avoid places like the waypoint and bungie forums because of people (read as “trolls”) like you.

      • 'Cos says:

        This IS matthew’s site, and we are all fortunate enough to have been coming to his site for over a year now…without too many a$$hats such as the likes of you. Seriously though, where do you get off? Scruff has and is a mainstay here, as well as a “fan favorite”. That is because he has a sense of humor, has incredible information he shares with us all when he doesn’t have to, and has respect for his peer players while doing all this. Who are you? You HIDE behind a different handle like a scared child. At least have the balls to use your normal handle so we know who we are dealing with. You made some friends today, jacka**!!

        To everyone else who might be in a good mood this holiday season (imagine that!)…be safe, have much fun, enjoy some good company, and happy gaming.

        Whoever this troll is can “take a festive ride on Santa’s big, fat …”

        – seventh dawg…out!

      • gans42 says:

        Careful who you insult, but he actually is a sniper in the military. Plus an expert hacker, and he can easily log your IP, trace you, and shoot your ass with a .50 cal. Obviously I am joking. The point of this post was to demonstrate how easily you can make yourself seem like a complete idiot and a$$hat on the internet. Though technically I didn’t need to make this point…you did such a much better of it than I possibly could, so thank you!

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL, you’re getting punished 🙂
        Seriously though, see how many people are sticking up for Scruff? Now look at the people sticking up for YOU. Need I say more?? And whats with newbies to RDC bagging out snickerdoodle?

        Also as Braythor stated, you refering to Matthew as Matt makes it seem like you two are great friends… which you are not.

        So keep it in your pants, and don’t try to earn a good reputation by making others look worse than you. It just won’t work buddy.

        This whole situation reminds me of ‘Mister X’ 😀 Remember him??

      • BJ2603 says:

        Wow, someone’s friend request to scruff got rejected here lol u mad bro? Kudos to everyone who stood up for a valued member of the community.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I want to rub my snotty Waypoint attitude over each and every one of you. ❤

      • Scruff 815 says:

        And to the angry, angry man who hates Snickerdoodle, me and Cheese (who has done WHAT to you exactly?) :

        It’s true – this challenge requires no skill. It’s only possible to complete it in Custom Firefight, in which you can make yourself completely invincible. You could play it ‘legit’ of course, but no-one will, because that’s pointless. Everyone’s going to do this whilst invincible. So although it would take longer, you could easily complete this challenge with your controller in a different room to your Xbox, playing one-handed. It is also a bit boring to complete, because of the previously mentioned invincibility thing.

        You’ll notice that I also said “it takes about 20 minutes for a free 30,000 cR and it’s a challenge that even those on Silver accounts can do” – these are all good things. CELEBRATE GOOD TIMES COME ON.

        Now in return, this is about the fifth time that you’ve come along here insulting people that you don’t know whilst hidden behind a vague username, which btw is a really nice attitude to bring to MATTHEW’S site. So how’s about you leave your Gamertag so we can discuss your issues one-on-one, rather than having to defend myself / my friends on a public forum every time that you’re in a grouch?

      • 'Cos says:

        🙂

        Well put Scruff.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        Woah, someone forgot the sugar on their cereal! Seriously, dude, chill out.

        That is all.

        No, wait, as everyone says it’s Matthew. I can stand Matty, but definitely not Matt. I’m nowhere near cool enough to carry off ‘Matt’.

      • Sir Galahad 63 says:

        Scruff do you realise how respected you are? And what an impact you must have made on peoples conscious?

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I think his problem with Cheese is he knows that he can achieve the amount of skill he has. The rest of us know it too, but we actually accept that. As for you and Snick, he’s just begging for attention, so he insults the people he knows will get the most reaction out of everyone. It’s really sad that people actually think it’s fun to do things like this.

      • FireySplork says:

        Other than this kids snotty and unneeded attitude, i have a question for you scruff. Why did you change ur gamertag from UK to 815?

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Apparently… Scruff UK is a swear word. Delete the “scru” and the space between the FF and the UK and you’ll see why. 815 was a suitable replacement because I’m obsessed with LOST 🙂

    • OGNoshkanok says:

      I like challenges like this simply because I haven’t the time to play MM, what with a full-time job and two kids. Without MM practice, I suck fat testes against skilled players. FF and FFM challenges allow more casual players like myself to advance in rank, at least marginally in comparison with players who have time to hone their skills in MM. It does require zero skill, I must concede, but I have fun endlessly blasting Covie scum into oblivion. 🙂

      • I agree!!!! I’m a lousy 54 year old gamer but I do have hours of fun on FFM or the campaign. I use rifles an smaller weapons on FFM to make it more challenging but usually someone blows up the bad-guys with a rocket while I’m shooting at them, notice I said at them. I just don’t stand a chance on multi player, wish they had a better way to join up people at more even skill levels, slaughter fests are a bummer.

  4. Defender77 says:

    Yeah, no kidding. I’ll have my 6 year old do this one for me. She likes blowing elites up with the rockets. Easy money…

    Defender77

    • Robert Fisher says:

      If anyone wants to complete this challenge, hit me up. Send me a message or fr. My gamertag is: dobato fisher.

  5. ASLANS R0AR says:

    quickest way to get this is found here (download gametype at bottom of video):

    • ASLANS R0AR says:

      correction – open up to view on YouTube to see the download gametype link . . .

  6. SkyrinGans says:

    If anyone would like to complete this challenge and has no friends to help them, feel free to add me, “TheJokerHAHAHA2”. I’m 17, USA, so I’m not some squeaker or dumbass. I also guide you through how to complete the whole campaign on Legendary solo so YOU can easily swim through mission after mission in a breeze!

    • gans42 says:

      2 things. First of all, saying you’re from USA or 17 doesn’t disprove you’re a dumbass. I am not saying you are, I’m just saying there’s dumbasses in all nationalities. Also secondly if you have no one to play with just plug in a second controller.

      • Greg says:

        Nice. 🙂

      • gans42 says:

        The nice is to which part? (Just out of curiosity)

      • OGNoshkanok says:

        I was simply amused by your wit. 17-year old Americans are generally dumbasses.

      • gans42 says:

        That is an unfair assumption and you are misconstruing my point. I was mentioning that saying your age and nationality should have no impact on whether your a dumbass or not. I’ve met dumbasses on xbox live that are twice my age, and I’ve met some people that are much more mature than their age. All across different nationalities, so try not to be close minded and accept people for who they are on their own merits, not just based off of stereotypic observations.

      • Greg Little says:

        Take no offense gans42, I am an American who feels that my citizenship and freedom of speech give me the right to make observations about my culture. There is a high school in my neighborhood, and those (*&@ teenagers endanger everyone with their negligent driving. Of course you’re correct, it’s not all of them. But the moronic teens who senselessly pelted my wife’s car with lunchmeat are dumbasses. I myself was once 17 in America and was a HUGE dumbass. But hey, it’s all good. I meant “generally.” Your statement MAY have carried more accuracy than you realized, and obviously I was the only one who thought so. Please excuse my outburst.

  7. Roan-the-Man says:

    Step 1: Get another Account/Guest account on your console to join you. (With friends, it’s even better)
    Step 2: Set up the gametype using hundreds of ENDURE variations available through the File Browser and Online.
    Step 3: Corvette or Courtyard as Maps.
    Step 4: Start the Game and Alternate controllers between rounds (if playing alone).
    Step 5: PROFIT???

  8. I did it with my 2nd profile and 2 controllers so I did both weekly’s at the same time, but what I did to make it interesting was I did all assassinations. ( or tried ) I would use one controller to make them angry and switch to the other to assassinate while they were beating on the other guy, except for the bonus round, way to many Elites so I went to rockets. The really odd thing was that on one profile I had 169 assassinations and 168 on the other. It took about 80 minutes but it was way more fun than just shooting rockets, and of coarse I had it set on invincible.

  9. Rossco says:

    I need someone willing to add me on live and show me how to set this up. I have done this weekly twice before in previous weeks, however it has always been set up by my co-op partner. So if anyone is willing then add – Barry Mikokin3r. I’m a forerunner that is not technically inclined. Thx for the awesome explanations on this forum though. They truly help.

    • THEllisor says:

      Rossco, I’d be willing to help, that is assuming that my connection doesn’t screw me over (I can do BF2 online no problem, and I can get up to 2 Mb/sec upstream but Reach campaign and FF both seem to be a bit … touchy) so I’ll drop you a message from my account (same name as here) later tonight when I’ll be able to do a run through. And you can also save the gametype after you play (Go into filebrowser > Recent files > then save the FF matchup.) And you can do the same with any other matchmaking gametype/custom gametype.

  10. Brook Harris says:

    I did this yesterday it took exactly 85 mins.

  11. David W. says:

    I did it n didnt get the challenge completed. wtf. help
    gt davstersz

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Checked your game history and it’s hard to tell – you spent 81 minutes doing it, so either you went back and got it done, or you’re using the totally wrong gametype. With 4 people it should take 20 minutes, maybe less.

      – Download the Gametype listed in the challenge description above
      – Play that Gametype in Custom Firefight, either with a spare controller or some other people
      – Keep playing through FOUR bonus rounds.
      – When the FIFTH set starts (so AFTER the fourth set finishes), the challenge should mark as complete.

  12. 'Cos says:

    Did you wait until the beginning of the 5th set?

    This seems to be the most common ‘mistake’.

  13. 1. Use rockets set to Elite Generals or Hunters on Corvette. Use both controllers at least a little and it should take 25 minutes. I did mine in 21.

    2. Make sure to wait until the start of 5th set. For some reason it made me kill a few enemies at the start of the 5th before I got it. Just be patient.

  14. Rossco says:

    Wahoo I was able to do it in roughly 20 mins with a spare controller against all hunters. Usually when I have done this challenge in the past it pops up each set I have completed. However this time around it never told me after each set or that challenge was complete. I just noticed in bottom left corner 30000cr pop up.

  15. Teece Hunter says:

    I refuse to play firefight, as do all of the people on my friends list, so I couldn’t get anyone to do that with me if I wanted. I tried it online co-op from the multiplayer list and nothing. So, farewell, last time I’ll ever break down and play this terrible gametype again. Not to mention, Halo would not have a following whatsoever if not for the multiplayer. If Halo didn’t have online multiplayer, it would be in the 5 dollar pile at Wal Mart with Star Wars Legos. They need to honor their roots, and if they get too far away, they’re going to lose the majority of their dedicated people. Stop pretending, Bungie.
    Teece

  16. Teece Hunter says:

    P.s. Your online gameplay is nearly unmatched. Save my online gameplay; my fileshare is Rambo, and you are at the cutting edge of your field. My compliments.

Leave a Reply

