26th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

So this is Boxing Day, and what have you done? Another year over, and a new one with Halo 4 to be released is just begun!

If you’ve not heard of or don’t have Boxing Day in your country, here’s some info on it.

I’m glad you all liked the song yesterday, I had fun coming up with it on the drive from my friend’s place in Surrey (where we’d spend Christmas Eve playing HCEA over a few beers then in the pub!) to my parents in Sussex. Christmas Day was excellent in the Vose household. In terms of Xbox/game/geek gifts, I got Batman Arkham City (hurrah), the Roxio game capture device (so expect video commentaries to be coming in 2012), LoTR Extended on BluRay, The Clone Wars S1-3 on DVD, and Lightsaber chopsticks. Yep, they’re as awesome as you’d expect! There was other non geeky stuff, the Starbucks book Onward, the new Metallica CD, Carrie Fisher’s new book, some awesome chutneys, Jurassic Park on BluRay, other misc stuff. All in all I’m a very lucky boy.

My 10 month old nephew is going to look amazing in the Star Trek bib and iPhone romper suit I got him! And Christmas goes on because the main present for my parents hasn’t arrived, so I’m looking forward to seeing their excitement over it. I’ve also bought a friend in CA a copy of Last Night on Earth with some expansions. Having heard all about it now she has it I really want to play it. Not sure it’ll work as a long distance game though!

I hope everyone else got and gave exciting presents, feel free to brag in the comments, especially your gaming related gifts 🙂

The challenges today are:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR
  2. Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 50 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the pistol – 1000 cR
  3. Points, Points – Score 20,000 points in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1750 cR
  4. Killing Spree – Earn a Killing Spree in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Be Their Huckleberry – Kill 50 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the pistol – 1000 cR

Try and get a Gruntpocalypse game in so you can stick to just the pistol, take out the little methane breathers as quick as possible then back in the menu to get it done. Some maps are definitely better than others, Corvette and Courtyard are small and easy to see across to take them out.

Points, Points – Score 20,000 points in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1750 cR

2X Score Attack all the way on this one. Or any of the Arcade variants work too. I seem to remember completing this one with a couple friends in either Rocketfight or Fistfight on Courtyard. Just remember this has to be in one game.

Killing Spree – Earn a Killing Spree in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

A Killing Spree in MP is killing 5 people without dying. Grifball and Rumble Pit are my two suggestions, since they’re both pretty easy to go on a run without dying, especially if you can play Juggernaut and then be the Juggernaut. Infection’s good when you’re human, Invasion’s good if the opposition just run at you and you work as a team.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

19 Responses to 26th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. SgtMaj AJJ says:

    It’ll be unboxing day at our house as I venture out into the wild searching for post Xmas deals. Halo 2 PC is listed as available at a couple of local locations, and one title I plan on returning with.

    The kids got me the Halo Encyclopedia, which is very well done. Also got Battlefield 3, which at this point is just “neat”.

  2. Flacksguy says:

    A little disappointing that 343 didn’t do anything cool with the challenges yesterday. Oh well.
    The family got me the new Art of Halo: Building Worlds book, along with MW3 and Arkham Asylum/Arkham City.

    …..however, I barely got a chance to try them, because they’re hooked on Skylanders.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I kinda thought that (about yesterday’s challenges) – but then, who was actually playing Reach yesterday? 🙂

      • 'Cos says:

        Well, i hate to be THAT guy…

        I didn’t have the benefit of a Christmas this year, as i was alone. Playing Reach was my Christmas, unfortunately.

        My Halo related gift…a shiny new haunted helmet for my spartan. yeah.

        Hope everyone had a great Christmas themselves, and got everything they wanted. Please be grateful for what you got, what you have, and for the friends and family you have in your life. I am…

        – seventh dawg
        http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/default.aspx?player=seventh%20dawg

      • Dogmeat says:

        Congrats on Inheritor, Seventh Dawg!

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        That’s two Inheritors on my friends list now. Congrats, Cos! 😀 I didn’t know you were that close. (I remember you being a Forerunner, but not a Reclaimer.) If I ever get there, it won’t be for a long time. Right now, even just Legend feels too far away. 😦

      • 'Cos says:

        Thanks guys!

        I’m not going anywhere. I still want to work on my commendations, so i will still be playing Reach. My point is that i will still be commenting here, and am still available to help any of you complete said challenges, or simply to play some multiplayer with. Let me know if you care to play…

        Thanks to you all for getting me there. You helped whether you knew it or not. After a year i have a few ‘tricks’ i’ve learned for credits, multiplayer, campaign, and firefight. I would like to share…

  3. Locklear66 says:

    Well no halo stuff for me but my wife got me kenect which I hope works well with halo 4. My parents totem a giant bean bag and a really awesome remote controlled tank that fire air soft bbs. But most of all I’m glad I got to spend time with my family.

  4. thegoatboy says:

    I got the new Stephen King book 11/22/63, which I was really looking forward to(I stayed up late and read 79 pages before finally falling asleep). Also received some Best Buy gift cards. No Halo related gifts for me either 😕

    “According to Wikipedia…” Since I live in the US I should give my mail carrier and the UPS driver a fifth of Scotch. Hmmmm…. no more gift cards for them I guess. Any suggestions on a good Scotch?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxing_Day

  5. clutch1965 says:

    2 x score attack on courtyard and 3 challenges done. a quick run nightfall followed by a game of rumble pit. easy challenges today. + knocked out weekly in doubles with son. nice credit return for less than 1 hour play time. matthew keep up the great work.

  6. LAP Rooster says:

    Not halo related but I got 007 Quantum Of Solace from my wife as well as books 6-8 of the Ranger’s Apprentice series. So just a few things that I got.

  7. BJ2603 says:

    Not a gaming related present (well kinda sorta :)) but my sister bought me an amazing t-shirt. It depicts a mans face twisted in agony as he is hit in the face with a tea bag, accompanied by the slogan “teabag, apply directly to the forehead. Use only as directed.”

  8. Rossco says:

    I didn’t get much just clothes, cologne and chocolate. But the best gift of all was the christmas blowjob and sex from the wife.

  9. alex700 says:

    IT was a HALO Christmas at our house:) Halo 2012 wall calendar…Halo Reach cd soundtrack, Halo Wars cd soundtrack….HALO Mega blocks several sets. Also Red vs Blue latest dvd season-HALO HALO HALO all the way! Oh and we also each recieved a copy of LOTR War in the North for Xbox 360 as well! also a new controller with the fan built in to cool hands while you play games;) Sounds like you had a Marvelous Christmas as well 🙂

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Good set of pressies! I’ve not seen S9 yet, looking forward to it though! The controller sounds cool (da-dum tish), what’s it called?

      • Alex 700 says:

        Hello Matthew 🙂 the new controller is called Air Flow by Power A with patented cooling fan technology it has the dual rumble, glowing buttons,also has the chat headset port. there is a button to turn the LED lights on or off and the fan has Low or High button as well. The controller has soft touch grips and illuminated vents (where the cooling air comes out at your hands)in the lovely xbox 360 green color. It is officially licensed for xbox 360.

        the fan is 40mm and circulates up to 3.41 cubic ft of air per minute. This is a wired controller with a 10ft/3m release cable.

        They are sold at many stores here in the U.S. Best Buy, Target, Toys r Us, Gamestop etc.

        It has many other countries listed on the bottom so I would think you could come by it in the UK.
        the websites listed on the package are http://www.bdainc.com and http://www.PowerA.com

        I hope I gave enough details for you- I am beginning to feel like a t.v. commercial or promoter 😉 lol

        Have a great day!

  10. Flacksguy says:

    If anyone is still without the Noble and Defiant Map Packs, they are on sale again today only Dec. 27th (it’s after midnight here on the east coast of the U.S.)
    They’re both half off (400 points) and two Halo themes are also half off, Anchor 9 and Noble Team.
    Keep in mind this is for Dec 27th only.

  11. Pingback: Blocks Toys Pictures Blog

Leave a Reply

