Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 26th December

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Co-op Dash – Clear any Campaign mission on Heroic, in co-op, in 15 minutes or less – 15343 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

I wish they’d change the title of this challenge. It really should be ‘The Forklift Trick’. And 15 minutes is very generous, it can be done in about 6. If you received Halo: Reach for Christmas, or even a brand new Xbox 360, then congratulations, and you’re about to learn how to use the Campaign mission ‘Nightfall’ to complete virtually any non-specific mission challenge!

As a guide to the Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

One key point is when you do it in Co-op, you can run through together right up to the valley between the pump station and the pylon. At that point pick JUST ONE person to go through and take out the guys on the bridge, then use the forklift to get through the gate and run the rest. If you both go it will massively increase the chances of you being fired upon and the enemies spawning behind the gate.

When you are glitching through the key is to get the Forklift as close as it can to the gate, lined up straight, and with your Spartan getting out at the centre of the doors. If you can get that right it should be simple to get through.

Other than that, for 15 minutes at most that’s a pretty healthy reward!

There was a lot of talk last time we saw this about other missions. With 15 minutes instead of 9 there are more options. Winter Contingency is do-able I think, and if you split your resources correctly on ONI: Sword Base it’s definitely achievable (mad props to John who managed to do it last time on Sword Base in 8:57!!).

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

24 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 26th December

  1. Eskobar says:

    Easy, Nightfall, 2 accounts ,15k each.

  2. SkyrinGans says:

    You can get this done in any mission as long as you have a reliable partner.

  3. Matt says:

    Heroic might put it just past the point where this is doable on Winter Contingency with just a spare controller, given the need to get the other player in and out of the Falcon and into the comm station so the enemies that are dropped off proceed directly to the lower courtyard. I’ve done WC solo in sub-15 but only by maybe a minute. I’d be curious if anyone else pulls this off.

    FWIW, I’ve never been able to get the forklift trick to work (and I’ve driven a forklift many times in real life haha).

  4. iam8up says:

    The last three times I’ve done the mission I did the forklift trick perfectly on the first try.

    • FOREMILES says:

      Me too! Works great if you line up your Spartan just ahead of the gate’s opening. I can’t remember the last time I fought the area where the forklift is.

  5. Scruff 815 says:

    Shame the payout’s not better, but then it’s not bad for 5 minutes work. Also a good Weekly to have in a week when many people are busy with Christmas / NYE etc.

    Anyhoo, hope everyone had a good Christmas and continues to enjoy the holiday season 😀

  6. Easy Weekly, thanks 343!!!! I wouldn’t have had to fire a shot if Jun hadn’t started shooting up the town when we got to the forklift, anybody know how to stop the AI’s from interfering in your game plan? On Tip of the Spear I was stealing a Wraith an the lovely Kat jumped in it and drove it right off the cliff. :o() I know you can leave her behind but I see no way to get rid of Jun.

    • T1M3C0NSUM3R says:

      This has been my experience: For that particular section, just make sure you don’t run too far ahead of Jun, and he’ll stay behind you. If he’s behind you when you get to the “big pylon” he won’t start shooting. If you see him standing there in front of you, eyeing up the covvies, you’re too late.

      • T1M3C0NSUM3R says:

        I just did it in co-op, and it may not be exactly what I posted above, but the principle is the same. Don’t just straight sprint to that part; keep an eye on where Jun is at. He was ahead of me at that point, but not by much, and he refrained from discharging his weapon. Don’t take this as absolute truth, but if you pace yourself through that section, it seems like he’s less likely to blow your cover. Hope this helps!

      • Thanks! I’ll practice on that and be ready for next time. Maybe you might know how multi-player match making works. I’m a Forerunner and found myself matched up against players that just got Reach from Santa. There were people quitting every game cause it was such a slaughter fest. Is it just a random draw no matter the experience level? I’m in no way a good player but they didn’t stand a chance.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        It attempts to match you to players of a similar skill level; but this is often skewed by lack of population in certain playlists, along with misrepresentive stats for new players, and people partying up with significantly lower/higher ranked people.

  7. Quillian86 says:

    Hey, anyone want to play with me to get this one, please let me know! (GT: Quillian86)

  8. Rossco says:

    I did it on WC in 10 mins and 37 seconds with a spare controller. No deaths and 71 kills. Also ran over the gold elite in the warthog, he didn’t c me coming nor did he fire off a shot.

  9. FOREMILES says:

    I thought 343 had fixed some of “the forklift trick” on Nightfall when I ran through the level the other night. Got through the gate and a grunt was shooting at me in a turret. Both my son and I died and all was normal. Must have been a glitch in coop.

    • Eskobar says:

      Same happened here, I glitched through the gate on 10th try then got teleported back to the front of the gate & watched it open. Luckily we had enough time to kill the turrets and enemies before the 15 minutes.

      • Steve Bergen says:

        I just did a run in COOP on Nightfall and the Forklift Trick worked for me. No problems there.

        GT: stevebergen

      • Eskobar says:

        Worked fine in COOP earlier, just that one time it glitched.

  10. D says:

    I so want to get this done, but everyone I know isn’t around this week to play 😦 15000 credits I can’t get and it’s so easy!

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Use an idle second controller! 🙂

    • If you can’t get it done alone send me a message on Xbox Live gt : SyKoTic KoBra – I usually start playing around 3 – 4 PM EST. I did it using my second controller and ran without looking back while the other guy was brutalized by the evil covenant. 🙂

      • D says:

        Sent you a friend req, forgot to say it was me, my Gt is KrazyDan26

  11. JustHawkeye says:

    Tip of the spear is also good for speed runs.

Leave a Reply

