27th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

The Xbox Live deal of the day is the Halo Reach Noble and Defiant map packs for half price each (plus Reach itself discounted but I’m assuming you already own that). Check out Major Nelson’s post about it for details.

My Xbox hasn’t been plugged in yet, yesterday I did finally get to play the new Ankh-Morpork Discworld board game. Very fun and a well designed game, here’s my write up on it for anyone interested (and if you like games and the Discworld series you should be).

Today’s challenges are:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  3. Huck It, Luck It – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud, Tough Luck, and Catch on – 2000 cR
  4. Up Close and Personal – Kill 5 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2343 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, 125+ in 2x Score Attack, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). There was a great comment a while ago (sorry I can’t remember who said it) that if you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense.

Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

A lot of the unusual solo Firefight MM variants give around 25 Elites these days – 2X, Fiesta etc. Firefight Doubles might well be a good way to go here if you pick Arcadefight on a map you both like, although I’m not sure if that’ll give you 100 Elites to split. So as above, do 2x score attack twice and you should get this.

Huck It, Luck It – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud, Tough Luck, and Catch on – 2000 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

Up Close and Personal – Kill 5 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2343 cR

Close Quarters Combat is essentially melee, assassination, sword, hammer or shotgun kills. Grifball is 100% melee and easy to get lots of kills when you get your timing right. Infection can be really good, and it does appear that sword kills count double for the sword and the pummel.

15 Responses to 27th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. My Little Housing Blog says:

    One challenge for me today. Have not been doing much playing, so I must start again.

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Might combine Huck It, Luck It with the Weekly for maximum credit return if I get the time today.

    Hopefully we can get through today without anyone bragging about what their wife “gave” them for Christmas…

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Hey if I’d been given that for Christmas I’d be bragging, although if he let her off with just one in lieu of any presents then he’s totally missed a good opportunity!! XD

      • 'Cos says:

        I would have loved a BJ for Christmas from my wife…if i had one. However, i hope she has no idea he is online declaring this to a bunch of strangers. If i had received, you all would never know. Might be the last one for a while otherwise…

        Just sayin’…

        Have a great day all, and good luck to you.

      • Locklear66 says:

        Ok I understand bein proud of it but seriously dont post it on this site. I guess it ain’t none of my business but I comE to this site for clean info and that was anything but clean

      • Angel says:

        Agree with locklear66

      • Roan-the-Man says:

        Some things are VERY personal to let out on an online forumDedicated to ‘gaming’. I could understand the need for attention when you have a ‘good time’ with someone… But unless they are very close to you, it’s really shameful to openly boast your private endeavors with strangers or not-well-known friends!

      • Roan-the-Man says:

        Scratch that, it’s not good to let out your personal experiences with ‘Anyone’ (be it known or unknown to you) with unknown users online!!! You never know who’s life you could ruin through chatty talk with others online!

  3. aim4daface says:

    I’m sick of not knowing,so I’ll ask osomeone who really knows their Halo.Ok so I play a lot of 2x,so I was on Beachhead, I died,& u know the”Default Spawn”I guess u would call it?I spawned directly above that, on top off the glass ceiling,with no exit,I die, & I swear to God,it read”Killed byguardian(s)”?

    • Sometimes if you try to move before your finished re-spawning it could cause you to go up and then when you move bang your dead. It will also happen on other maps with a ceiling right above your head so try not to move until you’ve finished re-spawning.

  4. Flacksguy says:

    I may pick up those half off themes and avatar props today. My son really wants that Energy Sword and I really want that Infection Form.
    Love these half off daily deals. Looks like I’ll also be checking out the 29th for deals on Red Dead Redemption, 30th for Gears & 31st for Call of Duty.

  5. Roan-the-Man says:

    Sup guys? Back from a long weekend of family re-unions for the Holidays! Can’t wait to try out Reach on a fresh-out-of-the-box HDTV System (The usual Boxing Day craze, up here in the north) Nice batch of challenges today, Got the Weekly lined up for the 3rd challenge and the rest will be a walk in the park!

    Damn well, looking forward for some MM On a 39” screen of my own. Might even try and get competitive in the Arena (bleh, if it’s even possible!).

  6. Rossco says:

    Sorry to those I may have disgusted or ticked off yesterday with my comment. It was a good christmas in all and that was just the icing on the cake. In the future I will refrain from sharing something so personal. Another day of easy challenges.

Leave a Reply

