30th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today I wrote a blog on the highlights of my 2011. Have a read and let me know over today and tomorrow what your personal highlights of the year were.

The challenges today are:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. Close Talking – Earn 20 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  3. T-Hug It Out – Kill 7 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1400 cR
  4. Credits for Completion – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2400 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR

As ever, Grifball, and you’ll get this in a game or two. Try and get at least one buddy to hold the bomb whilst you play for kills (and vengeance), or hold the bomb yourself and pick off the other team as they come at you with hammers.

Close Talking – Earn 20 kills with close quarters combat in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Close Quarters Combat is melee, beat down, assassination, Sword, Hammer, Golf Club and Shotgun. It’s actually my normal way of playing to shoot then melee so it should be pretty quick. Jump into Grifball and have some fun bludgeoning the other team to rack up these kills, or Infection with everything bar the pistol. Halo Ball Extreme can be good for this, but for every HBX with a high kill volume you might get plain old HB which has a 0 kill volume.

T-Hug It Out – Kill 7 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1400 cR

Close Quarters is a kill using melee, assassination, Shotgun, Energy Sword, Hammer and Golf Club. Infection can be useful, as that’s all CQC. If only there was a game type where you only used hammers and swords though? I say Grifball, as that’s all CQC as well, and easy to get lots and lots of kills. For other mode options, Action Sack’s Halo Ball Extreme is great, and Infection is almost all CQC bar the Pistol. Maps like Sword Base, Countdown and Reflection give you the Sword, Powerhouse sometimes the Hammer and Asylum the Shotgun. I tend to melee a lot anyway so this should come in one game.

Credits for Completion – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2400 cR

This is just completion, not wins, so easy to do. Grifball and score with the bomb really quickly is best really.

8 Responses to 30th December – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Rossco says:

    Yay first to post. These are very easy challenges I should be able to do all in one round of grifball except for the 4 rounds completed one. TY matt once again for ur wonderful commentary and I wish u a happy new years in case I don’t get on here this weekend. Happy new year to everyone else also and may the force be with you!

  2. chriscray says:

    Matthew, you were missed yesterday, but I understand what you are going through. I hope your family is not fighting eachother for who gets what like here in the US. That being said, family is first, and I’m no stranger to the bars (pubs) here!

    Gameplay is grifball all the way. I found if you set the custom challenges to mm, 350 medals in 3 hours, you get an additional 15,000 (+/-) credits. Throw in what you can for kills, and another for wins, and your getting close to a weekly challenge payout for 3 hours!

  3. Braythor says:

    Fantastic idea, Matthew. I haven’t had a great year (in fact it’s been one of the worst of my life), but a focus on remembering some of the good bits is a lovely way to round it off. So here goes, and I’ll try not to make it too long.

    January 20th: I turned 30. A group of friends from all over came to visit, we went out for a meal and the company (and gifts) really cheered me up. It was a great birthday.

    April: For my birthday, one of my oldest and dearest friends had bought us tickets to one of the semi finals of the snooker world championship. I love snooker, but I’d never been to any snooker match, so this was fantastic. We were right at the back but I didn’t care.

    May: Another present (I really dragged my birthday out haha), from another great friend, was a ticket to see the Bolshoi Symphony Orchestra at Leeds town hall (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wCWUR1iztV8&feature=g-all-f&context=G2dd77c1FAAAAAAAAKAA). This was AWESOME, by far the best musical experience I’ve ever had. EVER. They played music from three composers, including my favourite, Tchaikovsky. The highlight was Trepak (part of the Nutcracker suite), which just blew me away.

    July: Thanks to some friends, I managed to get a free ticket to the Beatherder festival, a small festival in the north of England, frequented by almost all my friends every year. The weather was, for a change, scorchingly hot. It was a great weekend of debauchery and joy. The highlight was finally getting to see Leftfield live, and they were superb.

    Finally, just two weeks ago, I got a job. It’s minimum wage, no guaranteed hours, certainly not what I spent 4 years and £23K of borrowed money studying to do, and I’m no better off financially, but it has done wonders to lift my mood, and so the year ends on a much better note than it began. Who knows what next year may bring? Hell, I may even find myself a (very patient and tolerant) woman. Preferably one who loves Reach… 🙂

    • Braythor says:

      Errr, I’ve no idea why that linked to an SSX trailer and not this picture of Leeds town hall… copy nd paste fail. Here’s the picture, hopefully.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Some great memories there Bray, I see friends are the important thread throughout. I’ve definitely found that this year, friends old and new being there for me and helping me through difficult times.

      Glad the job’s really helping, hope it is the start of big changes and progress for you. Do you have plans yet for your birthday next month??

      • Braythor says:

        Thanks Matthew. Yes, having some wonderfully kind, generous and caring friends has really helped me through the year. I dread to think where I’d be without them.

        I’ve no idea what I’m doing for my birthday, haven’t really given it much thought. I’ve a mate that puts on a night in Leeds every few months and there’s one the week after, but it means an all-nighter and they’re getting harder to do. Oh to be 10 years younger haha. I will certainly be in a pub somewhere I imagine, as the day does fall conveniently on a Friday.

  4. Dan says:

    I don’t know how long I have been following this site for. At least 3 or 4 I think. Most days if I don’t find out my playing in the morning I get the news later in the afternoon what I’ll be in for and more importantly how to go about getting certain challenges. A great help. I didn’t like reach’s multiplayer element since I went on my vacation from halo a year before but after starting grifball i’ve started to get into it. Before it was just campaign and firefight. While I missed most of the challenges back when I was newer – I didn’t have reach when it was new I picked it up last may. April or May. June actually. From Private to Field Marshal – close to Hero – in 6 months. Thanks for all the help!

Leave a Reply

