2nd January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Yesterday I wrote a post on the 3 games I’m most excited about in 2012. Have a quick read and let me know what you’re most excited about this year – bonus points for something unique! 🙂

Today’s challenges are:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. Support Structure – Earn 30 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  3. Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 150 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR
  4. Inclement Weather – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with the Thunderstorm Skull on – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack, 120-135 in 2X SA, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). If you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense.

Support Structure – Earn 30 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

Assists are slightly harder on Firefight I think (you have to deal 40% damage and someone else kills them within 4 seconds). My recommendation is normally to play Courtyard, as you tend to stick together in the entrance to the spawn room so you’re more likely to help assist and get assists from your team mates, whereas you spread out on other maps. We have FF Doubles that will be really good for this – one of you arms the Plasma Pistol to over load, the other takes out the enemy. Particularly the Brutes and Elites are easiest to get this on, and communicate with your team that you’re doing this so they can get the kills and you get the assists.

Hyper Lethal Vector – Kill 150 enemies with headshots in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Gruntpocalypse and 2x Score Attack are great ways of doing this, you should be looking to get a lot of headshots in a game, especially if it’s on a simple map where you can line up the Grunts, like Corvette or Courtyard. If you get to a high number rather than doing a whole game again jump in Crashsite or Generator Defense and only defend until you have your total then give up the goal.

Inclement Weather – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic or harder with the Thunderstorm Skull on – 3000 cR

Wow, it’s been over a year since we had this challenge (10th December 2010), although we’ve seen it a number of times as Just a Shower with the difficulty at Normal rather than Heroic. However… I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

14 Responses to 2nd January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Scruff 815 says:

    DOA 5 and Halo 4 will be the only games I bother pre-ordering / buying on release day this year. Everything else can wait until it’s nice and cheap. And that includes Mass Effect 3, since half the game’s going to be held back as DLC anyway.

    And as a side note, why do these Daily Challenges have absolutely nothing to do with the grindtacular Weekly? 😦

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Oh, and The Darkness 2 is pretty high up on my list too. But since it’ll undoubtedly drop to half the price within a month of release, I can wait 😉

  2. Braythor says:

    I’m intrigued by Journey, I’d not heard of it but it sounds promising.

    The first game I’m stoked for SSX. SSX Tricky was one of my favourite PS2 games, and I felt the series didn’t really live up to it afterwards (though SSX 3 was very good). The new one is looking awesome and sounding amazing. I love the fact that you can load your own music in and the game will remix/adjust it (I don’t know the techy terms) to be in time with you playing the game!!! I think that’s simply astounding.

    Darksiders 2 has me quite excited. The first one was fantastic. At first I feared it would just be a God of War rip off, and obviously there are similarities, but it’s different enough to stand as its own game, and the second one is looking good.

    And of course Halo 4, which is kind of expected really.

    Honourable mention goes to Bioshock Infinite, which I’ve no doubt will be superb.

    For the first time, I am not bothered by a semi-major Final Fantasy release. FFXIII failed me so spectacularly that, even though XIII-2 seems to have addressed some of the issues, it still contains some of what really bothered me in XIII (namely the battle system), and so I’m not paying it any attention. Maybe once I can get it second hand for a tenner or so I’ll try it.

    Of course, if by some miracle I can afford a PS3 at some point this year, there’s a lot of catching up to do there…

  3. Flacksguy says:

    The game I’m most excited about is TODAY, when the New York Rangers face the Philadelphia Flyers in the NHL’s Winter Classic outdoor game. Yeah Baby! Let’s Go Rangers!!!!

    ……oh wait, you meant VIDEO game…..
    *hides head in shame*

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Heh, if we’re talking any game, then the rugby league season starts in a month. I’m eagerly awaiting my shiny London Broncos season ticket (my nearest Super League team), but I’m hoping to make the opening Wigan (my actual team) friendly in ‘Ull in a fortnight!

      More than a little excited about those prospects!!

    • Randy says:

      YES^ #1 in the East, man, and it will stay that way when they destroy the Flyers today

    • 'Cos says:

      I second that. Love the Winter Classic. And my Bulldawgs play in the Outback Bowl today! So much sports…

      The game i’m looking forward to most is Max Payne 3. Absolutely loved the first 2 on original xbox. Shouls be awesome.

      Good day all, best of luck to you.

  4. mickoboy90 says:

    The games I’m definitely getting this year are halo 4 and borderlands 2.

  5. SensoryFour34 says:

    Firefight Monday? Not even a challenge for the Matchmaking Weekly? That’s kinda weird.

    Anyways, the only game I can think of that I’m getting this year is Halo 4. I might want others closer to the release date, but Halo 4 is all I can think of right now.

  6. Locklear66 says:

    Just halo 4 for me. I already have it preordered so all I got to do is wait. I just hope 343 does as good a job as bungie if not il probely cry……well not reAly but I will be disappointed

  7. Will Cline says:

    I got a Kinect for Christmas … I’m all about some Fruit Slice Ninja right now… After I pop out 40,000 credits in 1.5 hours by an 800 kills and medals custom challenge for reach. Also, back to the guitar with Rocksmith. It’s a little remedial for me in some ways, but I’ve not played in a long time. More satisfactory than the Guitar Hero games.

  8. Greg says:

    My games for 2011: Well I got Forza 4 for X-Mas but I am a pefectionist and wanted to finish Forza 3 before I start it. Combine that with the fact that I hear GTA V may come out this year (so I have been trying to finish the Episodes of Liberty City games), I have put Reach asside for awhile. I excited for GTA V (if indeed it comes out in 2012), Halo 4, and Madden 13.

Leave a Reply

