Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 2nd January

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

All In A Week’s Work – Kill 500 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking this week – 20343 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More credits for fewer kills than previously? Thank you 343. Although this is the 4th multiplayer Matchmaking weekly in a row, so hopefully it’ll get mixed up soon.

What’s the best way to rack up the kills in Multiplayer? If we take it by game type (and this list is not definitive):

  • Grifball – Can be a really mixed bag, against a good team or someone scoring quickly you won’t get many kills, but if you’re able to time your hammer blows right or grab the bomb you can get 30, 40 or even 50 kills in a 3 round game
  • Rumble Pit – If you can win games that’s 25 a time, but usually in 10-12 minutes. Something like Juggernaut is good where it’s not necessarily on kill volume, esp if you can take out other players
  • Squad Slayer – Can be high kill volumes, especially if you’ve got a good squad who know how to play well so you can get through games quickly
  • Multi-Team Battle – Normal Slayer is good, but the objective based missions are really good, Crazy King and Oddball can see you net 40+ kills
  • Invasion – Depends on your team and the ability of the attackers when you’re defending, but if they keep swarming there are loads of opportunities to get quick and easy kills
  • Action Sack – DinoBlasters seems pretty quick and shares the kills pretty evenly, and HaloBall Extreme can net you loads of kills

There are lots of game types – Infection can be good but not a high kill game type when I’ve played it, especially if you’re never made human. I think all that you need to do here is keep playing along.

As ever I hope you’ve all got your own ways of doing this (and I don’t want to hear about signing in with friends or spare controllers to boost), so please do let everyone know in the comments.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

26 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 2nd January

  1. Rossco says:

    Anyone that boosts a measily 500 kills is just lazy. It looks like I will have a day of grifball once I finish the daily challenges. It should only take me 10 rounds or less for the weekly.

    • chriscray says:

      When I go for kills, someone always quick scores. When its time for wins, or even match completion, well you know. Overall I average probably 25 per game.

      This one is easy, but in a day would be a long day for me. I do get reached out!

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Ugh. I hate this Weekly. It’s such a massive grind for such a low payout. At an average 15 kills per game, that’s 34 games. At 15 minutes per game, allowing for loading times etc, that’s 510 minutes, or 8.5 hours of gameplay. Yes, you can play Grifball and get it done considerably quicker but I find that soooo boring.

    Depending on what the week throws at me I might try and get this done with a load of SWAT, but it’s unlikely I’m even going to bother trying.

    • jay says:

      Not if you’re terrible with the hammer, like me. 😦

      • AmadeusMop says:

        The hammer has a considerably longer range then you’d think, especially against someone without a shield, like in Grifball. Try swinging the hammer about 1/2 a second earlier than you think you should.

    • callupchuck says:

      My god you are getting spoiled. I remember when weekly’s were worth only 5000 cR.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        That was around the same time that it took about 10,000 cR to rank up, right? 😉 The last time we had this exact challenge, it paid an extra 10k. Plus Custom Challenges have come along since and made it very easy to get a lot more credits for way less work than this.

  3. Halo man says:

    Could u do firefight matchmaking???

    • Scruff 815 says:

      No. Multiplayer Matchmaking means just that – it HAS to be against real people.

  4. Roan-the-Man says:

    Hmm, a very ‘Grind-tacular’ challenge within MM this week. Add to the fact that I’m finding myself with Terri-bad lag in almost every game… And you know I’ll be coasting off on dedication for this one.

    Moreover, as Scruff pointed out…the payout is pretty un-inspiring to get this done for enthusiasts 😦

    Hope they avoid a similar challenge (lookin at you Clear Eyes) next week!

  5. Quillian86 says:

    So, kill about 100 people a day, and you’re good to go. Wait, less credits for more kills? Ugh, now I’m halfway tempted to say “screw that” and just forget about it. (Still, not bad if you need a reason to raise some commendations.)

  6. Steve Bergen says:

    If you match this up with custom challenges and the credits from just playing normally. It will add up quickly. 100 kills in 3 hours is 4249 credits. Not bad when you add it all up.

    GT: stevebergen

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Yes, but if you’re only in it for the credits it’s very, very easy to get 20,000 cR in 5 minutes by setting up custom challenges to support the target designator on ONI.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      100 medals in the same time is even better. Even if you’re just decent at Grifball, this should be pretty easy, since every kill gets you at least one medal. If you do 100 kills and about 150 medals or so, then you’re set. 😀

  7. Rossco says:

    I did all the daily challenges and the weekly in less than 5hours. I wouldn’t say that is much of a grind. On top of the weekly cR I was averaging 2000-3000 cR a round. Took me about 15 rounds of grifball to get it. My highest kills in a round was 68 and my lowest was 13 cause in some cases u get players who just want the win. If u want quicker results then just get 3 pals in matches with you, take turns holding the ball and run the time out as long as you can why’ll getting kills. When I play grifball I kill everyone on way to enemy side and wait by spawn then from that point on its all timing but the best way to get lots of kills. As annoying as it is to happen to yourself it will present the same effect on the enemy. Eventually it will cause players to quit bettering ur chances to focus on ur kills easier and the other bonus is u will get a win easier on a downsized team. Just my two cents and I don’t think anyone should be discouraged by this weekly. Its extremely easy.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      But Grifball is as much fun as punching yourself in the face.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I guess I must love punching myself in the face. I got to 356 on the Weekly yesterday, (in Grifball of course 😉 ) and loved (almost) every minute of it. I even got a betrayer I got to mess around with. (He tried to hammer me once I get the bomb, and I just kept jumping over him. 😀 ) Some of us actually play Grifball for fun. How does that make you feel, Scruff? 😉

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Some people think crack cocaine is fun too. It still doesn’t make it right.

      • callupchuck says:

        Yes it is.

  8. Roan-the-Man says:

    Not trying to throw any punches here, but if you can handle a days worth of continuous Grifball…you might find yourself slacking off in other playlists! Try SWAT and/or Team Slayer with a side of Objective instead of holding onto the same Hammer Smashing playlist concerning the weekly.

    You would be surprised, finding your overall player ratings from matches go up if you keep practising on Slayer/Objective variants + your aim might improve your performance in every game…making you a pretty even adversary against some ‘Beasts’ out there!

    And I’m talking about people who actually carry their teams in 95% of matches 😮

  9. Rossco says:

    I prefer swat and slayer over grifball anyday. Just the weekly was a low kill count and I knew I could get it done quick in grifball. Grifball is good for sprees, multikills and your k/d. I only play it for commendations and challenges.

  10. SamCiphus says:

    I got the weekly within 8 hours, played Multi Team, Living Dead and Rumble Pit. Got my first Rampage, my first Hells Jerome, and about 10 Killing Frenzies and 4 Running Riots! Had a blast! Made it to Field Marshall just the day before, so I enjoyed about 2000 credits per game!

  11. Eric says:

    I just played for a solid 5 or so hours and got it in one night, if you manage to get into team slayer match where the other 3 people on your team aren’t the best, you can easily get 25 kills, give or take.
    Plus the multikill bonuses and commendations help boost the score.
    Living Dead is also very easy if you have the patience to camp in tunnels or on highpoints
    Very fun challenge in my opinion

Leave a Reply

