4th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Those of you on my XBL friends list will have seen I’m making my way through Batman: Arkham City. I’ve not finished yet, and I’ll do a proper write up once I’ve finished it, but so far it’s wonderful. It’s a good sign that I’m thinking about the story and the set pieces even when not playing it, and it’s significantly more fun that I found Deus Ex.

But it’s still not as much fun as Ms Splosion Man, which I loved to pieces.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5500 cR
  2. A Walk in the… – Kill 1000 enemies on Beachhead in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  3. L.D. Pillar – Complete The Pillar of Autumn, without dying, with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt, and Touch Luck on – 5000 cR
  4. Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 150 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 5500 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. If you’re going for the last challenge then perhaps work in something like Team SWAT until you have that then finish this off in your favourite game type.

A Walk in the… – Kill 1000 enemies on Beachhead in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

As ever if you’re going for this take whatever game type you can the first time it shows up. I like Beachhead because the range of weapons and vehicles makes it a commendation chasers paradise. 1000 kills though? So that’s likely to be 11 games of Score Attack, maybe 3-6 games of Firefight Arcade or 9 games of Gruntpocalypse. I say go for Score Attack, since you get more choices of maps. If you end up with a random amount of kills needed then get into Crashsite or Gen. Defense in Score Attack to get however many you need.

L.D. Pillar – Complete The Pillar of Autumn, without dying, with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt, and Touch Luck on – 5000 cR

Key to this challenge is the point that if you die, quickly hit pause, then select Save and Quit, then reload your last checkpoint in the menu, and you’ll be reset back, having never died. The best advice I can give is to have a read of Tyrant’s Mythic guide to PoA, which will serve you well here for getting through the mission, and is much much easier than trying to figure it out yourself.

Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Jump into a Team SWAT match, take out some guys and it’s an easy top up of 2000 credits. Precision weapons are the DMR, Focus Rifle, Needle Rifle and Sniper Rifle.

34 Responses to 4th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Krandyt says:

    I can’t wait to start arkham city so it will be interesting to see your write up of it , but I’m going to get the last couple of achievements on assassins creed 2 first. Don’t fancy any of the challenges today not doing the weekly until the weekend and I hate L.D. Pillar so another haloless night for me.

    • Andrew Saxon says:

      arkham city was a VERY VERY fun game! I played through it twice AND did the catwoman missions/riddler trophies etc. really hope they keep making those games for many years to come!

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Bleugh, those flipping 100 feathers in AC2 were one of the most frustrating things ever.

      AC is great fun, I’ve loved playing it. I’m going to try and 100% it, but there is a lot of other stuff to play (Saint’s Row The Third arrived today!).

      • Matthew Vose says:

        The second AC being Arkham City, the first being Assassin’s Creed. Stupid alphabet.

      • Andrew Saxon says:

        Ac1 was OK but all the AC games since then have been absolutely magnificent. ubisoft makes some great games… Prince of Persia series and AC series are two of my all time favorites along with the Halo (of course) and God of War serieseses… the guitar hero series is a great one too although thats a totally different ball game. Arkham city quickly made it to close to the top of my list though. some other good stuff to check out: dead rising 2, dead island, and dante’s inferno.

  2. Braythor says:

    I haven’t even played Arkham Asylum yet…I’ve so many games to catch up on.

    LD Pillar? Again? I’d love to see the stats on how many people actually complete that challenge. And another map specific FF challenge. I really would like to see them make the map come up as first choice on days when these challenges pop up. If they can do it with Installation 04, which comes up as my first choice 9 out of 10 times, why not others? Nice to see a hefty MM challenge to help with the weekly though. .

    • Steve Bergen says:

      They only do the basic maps because there are people that do not buy the map packs for some reason. I will definitely get the MM challenges probably not the FF and absolutely not the Campaign.

      GT: stevebergen

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I would too. I can guarantee I’m not gonna do it. I think A Walk In The… should be changed to A Pain In The… because that’s what it is, and that’s why I’m not doing it either. 1000 enemies is just to much to even bother when it’s a MM Weekly. I was waiting for something like Gunslinger, though, so I can get extra cR for completing the Weekly.

    • Flacksguy says:

      Know what you mean, I just started Arkham Asylum the other night, so I’m a long way from Arkham City. Glad to hear it’s a good one though.

      1000 on Beachhead?
      Nah, I’m not going to spend half my day waiting for it to come up.

      • Andrew Saxon says:

        you don’t have to wait for it to come up, just get on FF doubles (with your mic), and either hope the other person wants it to or beg them to help, you can veto until you get it, rather than only being able to veto (none of the above) once or twice like in other playlists. worked for me. also I haven’t tried yet but if you go to score attack playlist, its JUST YOU doing the firefight so you can choose your own map variant, but not sure if you can veto unlimited times (until theres no more maps to choose) like you can with FF doubles, but if you get stubborn teammates on doubles I’d try score attack 🙂

    • Matthew Vose says:

      Definitely jump on Arkham Asylum, it’s wonderful. Arkham City is very similar but much grander and with more stuff to use and do. But when it ain’t broke…

  3. Andrew Saxon says:

    do you have to be on a specific difficulty for the PoA challenge?
    (first time poster, daily reader, big fan of the site/blog/whatever)

  4. Rossco says:

    My god these challenges suck big time. I’m only gunna bother with 3 of em and campaign can kiss my butt.

  5. Downserj says:

    I would recommend creating a custom challenge to go along with “A Walk in the…” challenge. You can make a 3 hour challenge of 785 kills for FF and get 10,000 cR. If you want to make it 6 hours then set it for 1013 kills for 10,000 cR. This seems to be the max cR you can get for one FF custom challenge.

    Hope this makes the 1000 kill challenge a little more worth it. 13,000 cR for the same work as 3,000 cR. 😉

    • Downserj says:

      Might as well add 785 medals (3 hours) or 1013 medal (6 hours) and get an additional 10,000 cR on top of that. So you should be able to get 23,000 cR for just completing the “A Walk in the…” challenge.

    • Uberzephyr says:

      Like Downserj says, a custom challenge will add 10k to that total. But it also takes at least 9 games to break 1000 kills, so that’s another (roughly) 18k. So really it amounts to 31k cR for about 2 hours of game play – not too bad. The biggest problem is getting the frickin’ map to come up that many times!

  6. Randy says:

    L.D. Pillar isn’t terrible, until the last part of the mission, I’m NOT going through this again after last week

  7. Owellyn says:

    I completed Arkham City. Really enjoyed it I still have to go back and get all the collectibles. Has anyone read the comic bridge between Asylum and City? Very good story and fills in the blanks.

    Not long been playing Halo but this blog has been a massive help to get me integrated and moving up the ranks pretty swiftly. keep up the good work!

  8. DKong27 says:

    Huh, I’m surprised they have 150 multiplayer kills with the 500 kill weekly. Makes me want to finish them both more though. Definitely not gonna do the campaign one… Legendary on Reach just doesn’t have the same feel as Halo 3 for me. I’m kinda glad for Beachhead though, more time to go for vehicle kills.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      “Legendary on Reach just doesn’t have the same feel as Halo 3 for me” – it’s not really easy anymore? 😉

  9. Andrew Saxon says:

    thanks for the replies to my question earlier, I have two more questions:
    1) how do you set up a custom challenge?
    2) I made it to the end of long night of solace on legendary campaign, but then gave up at the hard part at the VERY end of the mission, my save point is no longer on there (can’t hit “resume solo mission or whatever), but can I Start back at rally point bravo and go forth or do I have to start back at the beginning of the mission now to get credit for doing the mission on legendary? PLEASE tell me I can just start at rally point bravo… I made it well past that point the first time around.

    • Randy says:

      If you can’t resume, you HAVE to start back to the beginning. And custom games? In the menu that says “Matchmaking, Firefight, Forge” etc, go to Firefight, and while in there you can customize the options

    • Braythor says:

      1) Custom challenges are set via Halo Waypoint. Hopefully this link will take you to your own challenges page (you’ll have to link your GT to Waypoint if you haven’t already)
      http://halo.xbox.com/en-us/Career/haloreach/Challenges

      2) I’m not sure. You might as well try it, as it’s not too hard to get from bravo to the end. If you’re struggling with the last bit, you can get into the turret at the front of the falcon and kill the elites with that (you’re also invincible while inside it). Once you’ve done it, check the mission select menu and see if LNoS has been counted as complete on legendary. If not…sorry, try again.

      • Andrew Saxon says:

        aaahhh thank you braythor, that is why I couldn’t find the custom challenges, cuz I don’t have halo waypoint yet. guess I will be getting that soon! I had already been considering it.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Nope, you’d have to start from the very beginning again. 😦

  10. Locklear66 says:

    I have a question. I know you guys post links of y’alls games on halo I’m just wondering how do you transfer your file off of halo. Do you have to be a bungie pro subscriber

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Which files? Screenshots can be taken no matter what, but for videos you need to buy render minutes. It used to be part of Bungie Pro but Pro doesn’t exist anymore, so Render Minutes are available for everyone to buy.

  11. Tim Horak says:

    these were’t today’s challenges…

    • Steve Bergen says:

      Yes they are Tim.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Yes, yes they were. You might’ve been looking at yesterday’s, depending on what time you looked. Challenges change at 3am PST (which is 6am EST, 11am GMT, etc).

      Or you’re trying and failing to get people to visit your blog.

Leave a Reply

