7th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Apologies for the delay, a combination of hangover (there were definitely shots being bought last night, I remember that), shopping and losing a chunk of time (again) in Arkham City is to blame! Good news is I have a decent office chair at last, so I can get myself a new PC to work at (and eventually start playing The Old Republic!).

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR
  2. Pass the Rock – Earn 20 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  3. Fourth Horseman – Earn 6 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 3000 cR
  4. Foggy Notion – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud and Famine on – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR

If you’re going for just this challenge you’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Pass the Rock – Earn 20 assists today in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Note, this is not in 1 game, so I reckon just play as normal and you’ll get there. As ever with an assist challenge, tell your team you’re going for it, and if possible pair up with someone. In Sniper game types this is very powerful as you can try to both shoot the same person in the body and one of you should get an assist.

Fourth Horseman – Earn 6 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 3000 cR

There are so many options for multikills – Team SWAT and Grifball are probably the best in my opinion. But any mode you’re good at will work – Squad Slayer because people cluster in it. Juggernaut (if you can get it) is really good for it. Don’t forget that multikills stack, so 4 kills in a few seconds counts as the double, triple and over kill, and you’re almost there!

Foggy Notion – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud and Famine on – 1500 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

22 Responses to 7th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Andrew Saxon says:

    I just wanted to announce that I beat Legendary campaign solo yesterday using the help of Tyrant’s mythic guide it was actually easier than my previous run through on Heroic. (I only just started playing Reach regularly less than a month ago btw, but I was a daily Halo 3 player a few years ago, so it was like riding a bike)
    my gamertag is DonSaxon if anyone wants to play with me sometime. I mostly only play Team Swat and Anniversary Classic for the headshot kills. and Firefight for daily challenges and achievements.
    sometimes I play Team Slayer, Rumble Pit, Infection, Action Sack (thinking about changing my gamertag to ActionSaxon one day), etc. Not big on BTB, objective, invasion, etc. but I will play anything sometimes because I like to keep it fresh and get bored on the same playlists after a while.
    feel free to add me, just let me know in the message that you are from here and what playlists you normally play 🙂 will also be glad to help do FF challenges and other daily challenges just let me know.

  2. jay says:

    In my first Nightfall speedrun today, the forklift was already exploded! Lol! had to restart.

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    Credit rewards suck recently. That is all.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I know. Only 1500 for 20 Assists? Not a good payout for all the work it takes.

      • Gil says:

        That’s what I was thinking. You can as much credit doing a standard mm game anyway.

      • Gil says:

        At least it’s not as bad as the challenge with killing four people via grenades and getting a whopping 500cr for your troubles.

  4. I recently finished Reach on Legendary alone too, thanks to Tyrant’s guide, only been playing it since the day it came out but I’m a terrible shot. I recorded the Brute & Grunt dance party and put it on my Facebook page with the comment, ” They threw a dance party for me doing it ” lol 🙂

    • Andrew Saxon says:

      haha I was thinking almost the same thing about the grunt dance party in club errera, was thinking of recording it and doing something with it but alas I am lazy indeed.

  5. chriscray says:

    I did all but the last mission legendary solo sans guide. It basically took a whole weekend on some of those. I couldn’t make the last one. Then, it was presented as a challenge, a weekly LASO. I figured no way in hell, until Matthew linked tyrants guide. I started over, and was done in no time!

  6. Locklear66 says:

    I fine

    • Locklear66 says:

      Sry bout that. I finished on legendary about a 6 months ago. We don’t have Internet fast enough to run a Xbox so I preaty much do as much as I can offline,but I ran through it at a level a day after work with no help cause I didn’t know about the tyrants guide it shur would have been nice to have it.

      • That’s saying something!!!! No way I could do that, I could barely do it on Heroic. I did Heroic without any tricks or guide but could only do 5 levels on Legendary without the help of the guide and tricks.

    • Locklear66 says:

      Preaty much all I did was run from cover to cover with power weapons and the neddler it works great on unarmered brutes. Also I assassinated preaty much all the elites cause it’s a sure kill and you don’t waist a ton of ammo on the. Im sry I lied I ran nightfall with that glitch trick but it was some other kid that I learned that from

  7. chriscray says:

    LAME! custom challenges are not paying again! Tonight I’m out 33,000. Last night it was 25,000 cr. That’s 58,000! I would have only been 150,000 away from mythic. Oh well, I am having fun!

  8. Gil says:

    Does that forklift glitch really work? I eventually gave up trying to get it to work. Maybe it’s been fixed?

    • Yes I used it today or yesterday now, took maybe 5 tries. FYI The last time I did it co-op though the bad guys were waiting for us when we “fork-lifted” through.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        If they fixed it, they would stop giving us so many “Complete a Campaign mission on x difficulty with x skulls on”. It gets to the point where it seems like they WANT us to use the forklift glitch.

        Also, when doing it on co-op, whoever the host is has to be the one to do the glitch. That way the enemies are a lot less likely to show up.

      • Thanks for the info SensoryFour34. That’s exactly what happened, he was the host and I went through first. It was the weekly co-op dash but we put a whoopin on em and made it in time.

    • Paul says:

      You have to position the forklift just right so your body hops out in line with the exact middle of the door

Leave a Reply

