9th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Monday again, easy weekly challenge which is always good. And I’ve made good progress on Arkham City, now I have the Catwoman stuff to get, and then all the challenges, and then New Game Plus. So actually there’s a lot still to do. But I’m enjoying it. Certainly more than collecting the 100 bloomin’ feathers in Assassin’s Creed 2.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR
  3. Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 100 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today- 2500 cR
  4. Participation Counts – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2400 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Fire When Ready – Kill 30 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1100 cR

As ever, Grifball, and you’ll get this in a game or two. Try and get at least one buddy to hold the bomb whilst you play for kills (and vengeance), or hold the bomb yourself and pick off the other team as they come at you with hammers.

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR

If you’re going for just this challenge you’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 100 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today- 2500 cR

Automatic weapons are those that fire repeatedly, namely the Assault Rifle, Plasma Repeater, Plasma Rifle, Needler and Spiker. In Campaign you want a mission with lots and lots of enemies quickly. As usual, Winter Contingency’s a good one as it’s not too hard, and the enemies come quickly. Stick to Normal difficulty so you don’t have to spend too long. There are tricks in some places like Rally Point Bravo on The Package where you can get a checkpoint just before a group of Grunts so you can take out 5 quickly, then restart checkpoint and do it again.

Participation Counts – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2400 cR

Complete 4 games. Don’t drop out. Get to the end of each. Just play through them. Doesn’t matter if you win or lose. Sorry, I can’t drag out this explanation any further. Is there a way of doing this quickly? Infection is a very fast game type so you’ll probably get it done in 10 minutes using that, or Grifball if you want to just go after the bomb score.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

11 Responses to 9th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Krandyt says:

    Know what you mean about the feathers in assassins creed 2, just got the last one the other night took me an age to find it though, happy about the weekly might even do these this week.

  2. Braythor says:

    Might do the MM ones to make a start on the weekly, but this morning, after going to see a screeing of Coriolanus (which was pretty damn good), I finally got me a copy of Mass Effect, so I’ll be popping that in and seeing if it floats my boat. Or spaceship…

  3. Roan-the-Man says:

    Meh, pretty dull selection to start off the week…and weekly! I mean, who wants to spend time collecting AR kills when you could jump in on Invasion or Action Sack for fun.

    Nothing much to say, except that TES: Skyrim’s been hacking away at my playhours since I popped the disc in! Quests to do, people to kill and most of all Glory and Loot await!!!

  4. Eskobar says:

    4-5 minutes on The Package (checkpoint) for 100 assault rifle kills. Wonder if I ever will start to boost Standard Issue commendation, it’s at bronze :/ might go for silver.

    Anyone else get custom challenge credited? I can afford my armor effect now 🙂

    • Steve Bergen says:

      I got my custom challenge credits. Not sure about all of them, but I noticed a significant increase.

      GT: stevebergen

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        If you completed any Custom Challenges while they weren’t working, you will get full cR for all of them.

  5. Andrew Saxon says:

    just wanted to note that the turrets and the warthog gun do NOT count as automatic weapons on the daily challenge. I thought I had a bright idea and tried gunning down some grunts and elites on the Lone Wolf mission and it didn’t work. of course, popping their shields with a plasma pistol or plasma rifle then hitting them with the AR or plasma rifle gets the job done just as good (for the elites and brutes… for everyone else just hit them with the AR/plasma rifle alone)

  6. Andrew Saxon says:

    anyone who wants to play some SWAT or Anniversary Classic (or get some daily challenges done each day) with me and stormbootz (tim) send me an invite, my gamertag is DonSaxon. we aren’t the BEST players in the world but anyone looking to have some fun and not take it TOO seriously hit us up. of course we DO usually win most of our matches though, we aren’t noobs, and we could use more players that don’t suck. but like I said, we are just having some fun mostly, as long as you don’t go like -10 K/D spread every match, you are welcome to play with us

    • Steve Bergen says:

      I will add you guys
      GT: stevebergen

      • Andrew Saxon says:

        awesome, accepted request. what do you normally play? unless its FF for a daily challenge I am usually on Anniversary classic or SWAT but I am down for anything usually. action sack, team slayer, infection, MLG, grifball, pretty much whatever. send me a msg on XBL letting me know what playlists are your favorites and lets play together next time we’re both on!

  7. Locklear66 says:

    Well I got a newish game. Dues ex. I don’t care much for it tho and I am barely through the introductary part. Just about no game lives up to my exspetations since I started playen Halo,Assassins Creed,and Call of Duty

Leave a Reply

