10th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Brief one today, we have a conference on for the Business School in my company. 300 something people I’ve spoken to mostly on email, it’s great to put names to faces, I just wish I could remember names better than I do. Which is not very well!

Todya’s challenges are:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  2. Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  3. Leadership Element – Kill 45 enemy leaders in the Campaign today – 2200 cR
  4. The Magic Number – Complete 7 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, 125+ in 2x Score Attack, about 100 enemies in Score Attack and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). There was a great comment a while ago (sorry I can’t remember who said it) that if you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense.

Flat Tire – Kill 5 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Key to point out is you must destroy the vehicle, not the driver first. You’re better off using something explosive (Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher). The Anniversary Firefight map, Installation 04, seems pretty good for Banshees, they appear pretty often. The best options outside of that are below.

  • Score Attack – On Holdout you get Banshees in the rounds. If you can keep a Grunt alive at the end of a wave for a long time you have a higher chance of getting them to come out again and again. They don’t tend to appear when it’s raining
  • Firefight Doubles – Especially Beachhead, where vehicles are usually dropped at the beginning and end of each round, you can decide who gets to take them out and work on it (plus great for working on assists)

Leadership Element – Kill 45 enemy leaders in the Campaign today – 2200 cR

Nightfall, the first dude with his back to you, either snipe him, beat him down or assassinate him, then restart the checkpoint again and again to get it quick. Other options are the Package or Pillar of Autumn levels (which have loads of leaders), the Target Designator on ONI: Sword Base since you get one or two in that beam and can reset the checkpoint just as the bombs fall.

The Magic Number – Complete 7 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

If you want quick game types, Infection and Grifball can be very very quick, so run through them a couple of times and you’re good.

43 Responses to 10th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Stefan says:

    wtf? Oo i just got 15.378 cR from the slot machine. what’s that about?

    • robert says:

      Probally for completing matchs, I think they introduce it recently if i’m not mistaken. Had a few myself most ive had was 9000cR

    • SgtMaj AJJ says:

      The 15K bonus slot, primarily known from Jackpot weekends, has remained active in all playlists, since Bungie implemented it in early 2011. The chances of getting one outside of a targeted weekend are as rare as winning the Lottery, however it’s still active.

      I don’t have the specific confirmation handy from Jeremiah on b.net, however it’s remained the case after the transition to 343i.

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      You got credits in the decimal place? HOW!

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        He didn’t. Everywhere other than America (as far as I know) uses a period instead of a comma for big numbers. 15.000 instead of 15,000.

      • Stefan says:

        Oh yeah, sorry about that. I meant 15k, in germany that’s 15.000. Btw: In the UK is it a period or a comma?

    • Stefan says:

      I have absolutely no idea, thats why i’m asking^^ So what is a jackpot weekend? And why has it been 15.378 and not 15.000? Btw: Is this for the same reason you sometimes get just exactly 3.000?

      I feel kind of special right now 😛 although i would prefer winning the lottery…

      • SgtMaj AJJ says:

        Slot Machine:

        Jackpots – 3,000 (Slot machine total, you will not see 3,200 or some such number, it will be 3,000 even)
        6,000 (considered Double Jackpot and will display as 6,000 even)
        7,777 (non-quit Jackpot awarded rarely)
        15,000 (super Jackpot paid out on top of normal slot, which can be 15,378)

        Super Jackpot weekend was introduced by Bungie in the weeks preceeding their departure from the day to day management of the Halo franchise and subsequent transition to 343 Industries after Bungie Day 7/7/11.

        343i brought it back for a weekend following the release of CE:A. The Super Jackpot has remained in place and is “winnable”. The odds are increased when there’s a Jackpot weekend in place, where individuals are able to win it once per day Friday through Sunday in a specific playlist.

  2. robert says:

    I hate doing the vehicles challenge on firefight. Sometimes can take a while unless u play with a freind on beachhead which will probally have to wait till later for me. Firefight Thursday is the best to complete all the challenges in one match 🙂

    • chriscray says:

      I agree. I love FF, but vehicles challenges take me way more games than I anticipate. If my son is playing too, its not so bad FF doubles, bit score attack, and esp. arcade fight, there’s always someone taking the credits when I get the assists

  3. Matthew says:

    The leadership one can be tough, good advise!

    • Angel says:

      Nightfall , around the corner,kill the elite and revert the last save,Repeat until You have completed the challenge.

  4. Mike says:

    For the leader one, turn on the Thunderstorm skull, it’ll make the elites leaders on ONI for the TD. You can get 3 elites every checkpoint restart.

  5. Roan-the-Man says:

    With this many easy challenges…early on in the week, I’m starting to suspect 343s intentions on the Saturday/Sunday line-ups!!!

    A storms brewin, and I think we might (just might) receive a LASO challenge as a daily challenge on the weekend! If it turns true, you can count on me going for it!

    Ever since memorizing Tyrants mythic guide and watching HALO Speedruns of the week (Reach Levels) on Waypoint…I seem to be Psyched for any type of long-haul challenge!

    Well, so long as the payouts respectable 😉

  6. susskai says:

    thank you so much this helped alot cos I was getting angrily at my xbox cos no vehicles were coming so I couldn’t kill any so thanks and I didn’t know I could do that for the leader one so thanks again

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I was getting angrily at my xbox too.

    • THEllisor says:

      Just a point of notice, I’ve found (through my personal trials on Holdout for the vehicle challenge) that the Banshees on Holdout [b]do not[/b] give you any credit towards Flat tire. None whatsoever (and I’ve tried tagging at least 6 on both this challenge, as well as the last time that Flat Tire came up for the Daily Challenge.) And after doing a little digging, I’ve surmised that there is a problem wherein the Banshees on Installation 04 (the anniversary map pack) were supposed to not give credit towards Flat tire (or the commendation, that I can confirm as also not happening from those Banshees, still at 49 of 50 for me) but instead was applied erroneously as “Banshees do not count” as opposed to “Banshees on 04 do not count”. Of course, I cannot confirm if the problem persists for those who have bought the Anniversary pack, since I do not have it.

      • Meddling Monk says:

        Are you certain about that? I recall getting credit for a couple of Banshees on Holdout last time Flat Tire was up. The hard part is that it’s difficult to actually get credit for killing the Banshee, rather than the invisible pilot (at least, on Score Attack 2x, or any other mode with double damage enabled). About the only way I can manage to kill the Banshee instead of the pilot is with the Spartan Laser.

      • Steve Bergen says:

        I destroyed banshees, ghosts and wraiths in the past and today that didn’t count. Sometimes it just matters where you hit the vehicle.

        GT: stevebergen

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Try using the Sniper. That heavy weapons don’t always seem to work, but with the Sniper, it almost always counts.

      • Andrew Saxon says:

        I got credit for banshees on holdout and wraiths and ghosts on beachhead I think too, both times using rocket launchers on FF doubles arcadefight.

  7. clutch1965 says:

    completed flat tire in ff double. 1 round beach head and 1 round holdout. sniper wrecks vehicles.
    which is good because I need a target that big for me hit anything using one.

    • Locklear66 says:

      If you want to get Better at sniping I suggest( of course) team snipers but don’t just give up play it until you get good and not worry about anything else. Which by the way is what I’m doin.

      • Andrew Saxon says:

        thats exactly what I’ve been trying to do (get better at snipers) using the sniper on Firefight and campaign helps some of course, then once you get good enough, try team snipers on MM and you can get snipers pretty often on headlong and high noon on the anniversary classic playlist. I’m getting much better at it now thank god. the trick is, when you see somebody make SURE you get the reticule on their head before you take the first shot, otherwise they will move out the way making it near impossible to get the second body shot on them AND you will give away your location. that was my biggest mistake early on. now I get those one shot kills a lot more often.

  8. Eskobar says:

    45 enemy leaders: 1-2 minutes on Nightfall on Normal, instant headshot checkpoint 🙂

    Now for the next 3: FireFight and MatchMaking. Hopefully I can get the super jackpot in Squad DLC playlist. Nice January update by 343i !

  9. Dragao1010 AKA: Brian says:

    well after reading about all the jackpot stuff up there ^ i feel lucky that i got 15,000 credits in a row 😀

  10. Steve Bergen says:

    What is the daily cap limit right now? I can’t remember. I got 25,000 credits in custom challenges today, and got all the daily challenges, no jackpots though. I am progressing nicely through Legend rank on to Mythic.

    GT: stevebergen

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I’m pretty sure it’s still 120,000. 343 said that they were going to increase it a while ago, but they still haven’t yet.

  11. Creeper274 says:

    Hey everyone Im a new reader locklear66 introduced me to this site and i think it is pretty cool

  12. Creeper274 says:

    yea but my bro is playing revelations

  13. Beautiful Hands says:

    I got three banshee’s on installation with the sniper, also a grunt mounted a turret and when I killed him (and detached the turret) with a sniper shot I got a vehicle kill. So one game of sniper attack on installation could get you 4/5 of you vehicle kills.

  14. Adam says:

    Holdout is also great for the Flat Tire because turrets are also considered vehicles!

  15. GruesomeGrimm says:

    I destroyed 5+ banshees on installation 04 and they didn’t count.

    • Beautiful Hands says:

      That sucks. Worked for me.

      • Andrew Saxon says:

        I think beachhead is the best for Flat Tire, since you get both Wraiths and Ghosts appearing regularly, and they are actually easier to kill than the banshees since the banshees will dodge your rockets over and over (So frustrating) and if you choose FF doubles playlist you can choose none of the above ALMOST indefinitely until you get the map you want. only ONCE has it not given me the map I wanted.

Leave a Reply

