13th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

I was enjoying the campaign challenges in Arkham City, right up until they became incredibly difficult. So I’ve gone back to the normal challenges without the modifiers and I’ll be trying again next week. Without the modifiers I’m okay and can generally get them done. On the fourth try.

Anyway, today’s challenges are:

  1. More Than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. Single Wield – Earn 77 kills with small arms weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2800 cR
  3. Go Right Ahead Folks – Earn a First Strike in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  4. Make a Wish… – Earn a Running Riot in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 5000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More Than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Multi Team Battle or Grifball are the best ways to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other modes. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. If you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly.

Single Wield – Earn 77 kills with small arms weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2800 cR

Team SWAT – Magnums will be a good way of doing this. The Plasma Pistol also counts as Small Arms, so think about using that to take guys down, it’s good for stripping away shields, but the Magnum is better for unshielded guys. Infection is good too – you can snipe the zombies using your pistol and get a few kills that way, esp in Cage, Courtyard  or Pinnacle where you can see Zs coming.

Go Right Ahead Folks – Earn a First Strike in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Team SWAT, Grifball or Infection are good game types to get this in. Infection & Grifball particularly because you get a First Strike in every round, so it’s giving you a good chance to pick up the medal. In Team SWAT, Asylum, Countdown or Sword Base are good for picking it up. On Asylum, zoom your DMR through the central arena and watch for the opposite team coming down their ramp. Countdown you can look through the central area and see the opposite team there, and on Sword Base go to the top of the green lift if you’re red, as blues usually come up the lift first. If you’re blue then go to the ramp up from your starting point as you can often snipe someone who doesn’t expect it.

Make a Wish… – Earn a Running Riot in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 5000 cR

15 guys in a row without dying. That’s not to say 15 within a few seconds, but in the span of one ‘life’. Not the easiest, but they’ve upped the credit return which is good. Best advice? Grifball is always a good place if you can get your timing right and watch for betrayals. Juggernaut’s another good one. Infection can be good if you can get a decent team of humans together, but it’s hard to get 15 in the short space of time. In theory you can get this in any mode, it’s just harder to do it without dying in most variants. I expect everyone will have their own thoughts on this so please share in the comments.

16 Responses to 13th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Rossco says:

    Well it looks like I may not get weekly today. Running riot will be difficult I usually get those when I’m not trying. Seeing as it is a challenge and I will be trying I prolly won’t be able to get it. I might need to cheat to get it with some spare controllers. If anyone else wants to do this challenge with me after 2pm est and has spare controllers then add gt: Barry Mikokin3r . Might need four people all with spare controller to do this.

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      Or, you could play on Team Slayer Doubles, you would only need 3 spare controllers then. But, you can get banned for this so I suggest that you get some kills on the guests that won’t be playing to avoid this.

    • Steve Bergen says:

      Just be careful you don’t get credit banned doing it that way. 5000 credits is not worth have a day or two ban. Just my opinion. I don’t have much time today but I will try and get some challenges. Going to the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra tonight, they are playing the music of John Williams. He composed a lot of epic movie themes.

      GT: stevebergen

      • Locklear66 says:

        He composed the theme for star wars without any kinda notes at all

      • Steve Bergen says:

        Locklear, I did not know that. He is a brilliant guy.

        GT: stevebergen

  2. Lomion says:

    Don’t forget the Anniversary Classic playlist for getting sidearm kills. Assuming you have the DLC.

    Pistol beats everything in Anniversary Classic.

    • Eskobar says:

      Nice, I’ll def. do this challenge in that playlist. Running Riot however will be difficult, maybe infection ^^

  3. SensoryFour34 says:

    Looks like I’ll just have to wait until tomorrow to get the Weekly. Especially considering I’ve never gotten a Running Riot in my life.

  4. BJ2603 says:

    Only ever had one running riot and it was in team arena lol go figure… Looks like a SWAT day for first strike, 77 pistol and 25 MM kills… If I get lucky enough to bump out the Running Riot then it’ll b a bonus. Trying usually gets me jittery and I choke 😦
    Remember kids, 32,767 is the MAX single challenge payout!

  5. Micah says:

    So I took the advice and got the 25 kills & First Strike via Grifball. Is it always just a pound-fest? I think I got killed more often by my team than the other. Won’t be playing that again unless I need lots of kills for an achievement.

  6. SamCiphus says:

    Living Dead is by far the easiest way to get a Running Riot, that’s where I’ve got most, if not all, of mine.

    • Eskobar says:

      I got a spree though I was pretty drunk last night going for the running riot, lol. Damn zombies kept forward rolling towards me!

  7. Randy says:

    Only time I came close to a RR was Pinnacle or Boardwalk and it involved lots of snipes.

  8. SensoryFour34 says:

    Anniversary Slayer is probably the best for Single Wield. Especially if you happen to get a game like this.

    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=903210101&player=SensoryFour34

    For whatever reason, I’ve been getting games like this all day, but this was by far the best. 😀

Leave a Reply

