14th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Speaking to a guy at work last week we found out we were both Xbox gamers and played a large number of games. He was embarrassed about his very large gamer score, so told me he was just over 35k. I’m not sure whether it’s a compliment or not that he was relieved when he found out I’m about to hit 51k.

Whatevs, I’m an achievement addict. To put it nicely.

Going to Wigan today to have a post Christmas night out with all the other rugby fans I chat to on Twitter. Should be interesting, the Wigan accent can be impenetrable at times, especially when drink is involved, and those of you who have heard me know I have a very Queen’s English, Surrey accent. Should interesting!

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 250 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3800 cR
  2. Cook ’em, Clean ’em – Kill 20 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking while you’re jet-packing – 2400 cR
  3. That Pink Mist – Kill 40 enemies with a Supercombine from the Needler or Needle Rifle in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  4. Iron Will – Complete a Campaign mission alone on Heroic or harder with the Iron Skull on – 2500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 250 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 3800 cR

You’re better off doing the other challenges first then mopping this up if you’ve not done it yet. Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Cook ’em, Clean ’em – Kill 20 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking while you’re jet-packing – 2400 cR

Remember you have to be actively firing the jet-pack when the person dies to register it, otherwise you’re just falling with style. Dino Blasters and Grifball are almost tailor made for this, what with the jet pack load out and all. Normal multiplayer games (Rumble Pit, Team and Multi Team) and just firing short bursts when you’re about to kill someone – particularly with grenades or heavy weapons. Some useful places – grenades in Pinnacle when people are in the main loft area, Boardwalk again in the central sniper point. The Hammer and Sword work well with this, just use the equipment and fire buttons at the same time.

That Pink Mist – Kill 40 enemies with a Supercombine from the Needler or Needle Rifle in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

So there are lots of options in the new Score Attack modes. FRG Attack gives you a Needler with unlimited ammo, but that only really works on the Brutes and Elites (and the Skirmishers if you can catch them in the open). In general I still recommend any game where you can pick up a Needle Rifle from a Jackal and put 3 rounds into an unshielded enemy to get the Supercombine. 2x Score Attack or Fiesta Attack would be good because you can get loads of Elites at the end. FFA works well once you get the Mythic skull on, since enemies die less quickly and the Supercombine is more effective.

Iron Will – Complete a Campaign mission alone on Heroic or harder with the Iron Skull on – 2500 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

38 Responses to 14th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Brady Cook says:

    They always spawn behind the gate when i do the forklift glitch… anyone know what I’m doing wrong?

    • SamCiphus says:

      Strange, it’s never once happened to me, not even in co-op…

      • Brady Cook says:

        It happened to me in co-op I even got through the gate on my second attempt out of the forklift.

      • SamCiphus says:

        Best do it on your own. I don’t know why, but for some reason it buggers up when you do glitches on co-op, like an override.

      • Steve Bergen says:

        Even in COOP it was empty on the other side of the gate. When you cross over wait a few seconds and the phantom will drop off two grunts and a jackel. That is all the enemies on the other side that I have faced.

        GT: stevebergen

    • Scruff 815 says:

      Fairly sure it’s a speed thing. I think the enemies spawn after Jun says some line of dialogue or other; you need to glitch through before he does that.

    • MJOLNIR Tester says:

      If you play co-op your buddy SHOULD NOT cross the bridge (where the lone Elite and Grunts were) leading to the forklift. It will trigger spawning of enemies. After you get through the gate your buddy will teleport to you.

      • Eskobar says:

        I think this is correct. I’ve yet to have a co-op partner not cross the bridge though.

      • Eskobar says:

        Works fine in single player, I just completed the Iron Will challenge. Also in co-op it might have to do with the host like mentioned before.

    • Quinn says:

      Did you make sure to kill all the grunts at the bridge? I missed one behind an ammo crate and had to start the checkpoint over.

      gt: QuinntinteranC

  2. SamCiphus says:

    Have done all the challenges except the jetpack one, didn’t need to do it because I got the Weekly!
    Literally the game just before the challenges rolled over I got my Running Riot! Well, actually I got a Rampage and a perfection, and my 20th kill was the last kill of the game! We ended up beating the other team 50 – 3. Quite a result!

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      Really? What game mode? I’ve only gotten a RR 8 times, and I got most of them when i was up against REALLY stupid players. my most recent one was in Invasion on Boneyard, when the other team simply could not kill me, and I only died when someone fed up with me killing him and the rest of his team got rockets and camped at this hole in their base’s ceiling. you can guess the rest. Plus, I’ve never gotten a rampage either. D:

      • SamCiphus says:

        It was on Hang ‘Em High in the Anniv. Classic playlist, I was really suprised I didn’t die, because it was lagging quite a lot, but I just stayed up on the highest part of the map and went for headshots as the other team scurried around beneath me. When they did come find me, I found that the a shotgun blast to the face never fails! Got a shotgun spree too.

  3. Scruff 815 says:

    My gamerscore is 56,904 and counting…

    Also I have thus far completed a resounding 0 out of 16 challenges. With a possible 8 to complete over the weekend, I’m fairly sure I won’t be getting this Weekly done 😉

    • Eskobar says:

      91840 I’m an achievement hunter. I also play lots of Reach!

      • Eskobar says:

        I guess that’s what I do when there’s nothing else to do like work etc. but I will soon have to start working, meanwhile it’s game time!

  4. Bah Bodenkurk says:

    My gamerscore is 4155. I often feel embarassed at how LOW it is!

    • Steve Bergen says:

      I don’t know what mine is, but it is about the same. I don’t play that many games, usually only Halo: Reach and the Rock Band games.

      The concert last night of John Williams music was awesome. They opened with the ET theme, then Jurassic Park, Jaws, a suite from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Raider’s of the Lost Ark. After intermission, they played three beautiful pieces from Schindler’s List with the violin solo, it brought a tear to my eye. They finished off with a suite from Star Wars, the Main Title, Leia’s theme, Imperial March, Yoda’s Theme, and the Throne Room and End Title. It was so cool to see that live. For the Encore they played the Theme from Superman. If you have a chance to go to and Orchestra and hear this music or any classical, it is worth it.

      GT: stevebergen

      • Locklear66 says:

        Don’t get me wrong I love halo and it is great but first and for most I’m a star wars fan. Iv read all the books watch all the movies and preaty much can quote them word for word. I would have killed to hear the star wars part I bet that was pure awesomeness

  5. MJOLNIR Tester says:

    That Pink Mist – Kill 40 enemies with a Supercombine from the Needler or Needle Rifle in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

    If you have a second controller, Firefight Doubles -> Arcadefight is the best way to go. You will have unlimited lives and unlimited ammo, and every type of enemy from Grunts to Hunters, including plenty of Brutes and Elites so it is easy to get supercombine kills. Use the second controller to sign in as Guest and then just use your main controller and let your “Guest” twin serve as a decoy.

    Pick the Jetpack loadout and you will start with a Needler and Fuel Rod Gun. At some point you will kill a Skirmisher or Jackal Sniper carrying a Needle Rifle. Swap the Fuel Rod Gun for the Needle Rifle and then you will have a Needler, a Needle Rifle, unlimited ammo, unlimited lives, and plenty of targets.

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      Make sure that the guest gets some kills too, otherwise you might get credit banned! 😦

  6. Locklear66 says:

    My gamer score is 6870 or close to that but I mainly play halo and assassins creed

  7. Quinn says:

    For Cook ’em Clean ’em, I believe that Splockets would be easy enough to do, since it’s mostly one hit kills. That is on the off chance that you manage to get Splockets in Action Sack though….

    I’m embarrassed by my gamerscore, only 1445, even though I mostly just play Halo. On the upside, I did just bother to get my 75 points for 1,000,000 firefight points.

  8. ITS ZAPHOX says:

    51k? Nice. 48775 here

  9. SensoryFour34 says:

    My Gamerscore is 10,690, but compared to some of my other friends (Scruff) it seems really low. I don’t play a lot of games, but the ones I do play, I try to get as many Achievements as I can.

    • Braythor says:

      Yeah but Scruff’s an achievement whore as well. I’m only about 4,000 more than you Sensory. Mind you, I don’t think it accurately represents gaming time; I’m currently about 15 hours into Mass Effect and I’ve only got about 120 for it, whereas other games can give you five or six times that score for the same amount of time.

  10. DaRoflBandit says:

    My Gamerscore is only like 5.6k. Pretty low, considering that I have played alot of games, but I don’t really care about achievements.

  11. Alex 700 says:

    7,660 achievements here. working on the daily’s this week to get the 30K weekly:) these 4 today will be no trouble. I have to get 3 more done tomorrow -Sunday to have my weekly done:)

    Here’s hoping that they are good ones tomorrow 🙂

  12. Finally was able to kill the invisible Elite and get the data pad at the beginning of WC on Legendary, surprised there’s no achievement for doing that. Took me like 10 tries restarting the mission to get close enough to do it.

  13. Micah (SpartanM914) says:

    Random Question – For the “If They Came to Hear Me Beg” achievement where you have to assassinate an Elite to survive a fall that would have been fatal, do you have to do that in campaign? Are their locations or maps y’all have done that one other than at the beginning of The Package?

    • I believe you meant at the start of The Pillar of Autumn. Yes if you start Nightfall on Legendary there will be another elite at the start down where the 3 sleeping grunts are. Backsmack the elite at the start, then find the other elites down low, sprint, and jump. Good luck.

      • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

        Yeah, It is Pillar of Autumn. I’ll try that at the beginning of Nightfall. I can’t count how many times I’ve tried POA. I’ve successfully killed the Elite several times and didn’t die, but didn’t get the achievement.

      • Locklear66 says:

        On the pillar of autumn you have to run and jump and quit runnin in mid-air to make it count that is at the very beginning anyway

    • Braythor says:

      Another option is Tip of the Spear. After the moron pilot flies the ship into the EM field, grab a jetpack, go up to the rocks by the plasma turret and there’s an elite there. Jump off a rock above him, use the jetpack, fall, assassinate, win.

    • I think on The Pillar of Autumn you have to actually knock him down and jump on his head. I also assassinated him 3 times with no achievement. I have the video of me doing it if you want to see it. GT SyKoTic KoBra in my file share under ‘one giant leap’

    • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

      Ok, so 75 attempts later I assassinated that friggin elite on PoA like 8 times, but never got the damn achievement. I even watch the Rooster Teeth video and, per the comments here, started turning off the sprint in mid-air, to no avail. I tried dropping off the pipes near the big tower in Tip of the Spear, but since Gorge is hosing that elite with the machine gun, it’s hopping all over the place. I’ll try that elite on nightfall next.

Leave a Reply

