16th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

I started New Game Plus on Arkham City last night. I then promptly died at the very first fight. It’s a little tougher than I expected. But I’m now racing through it, after a couple of hours I’m already trying to get to Wonder City. It’s turning into a bit of a long haul to get to 100% so I might take a break for some Saints Row The Third soon, although the temptation to get the new PC and start The Old Republic (and Halo 2) is growing. Anyone else playing SW:TOR?

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR
  2. This Is My Rifle… – Earn 77 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1400 cR
  3. The Dream Shake – Earn 4 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 4000 cR
  4. Deathless Package – Complete The Package on Legendary without dying – 4400 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

This Is My Rifle… – Earn 77 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1400 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Beam and Needle Rifle. Team SWAT will do you well here. Unless you use melee or Pistol every kill will be a precision weapon kill, so play it a few times, try and get a good team who will cover your back (and you theirs), and just do this over 2 or 3 games.

The Dream Shake – Earn 4 Double Kills in the same match in multiplayer Matchmaking – 4000 cR

4 isn’t too bad these days, Team SWAT works well, but Grifball probably works better for this one too. This is of course 4 Double Kills, not multikills, so getting a Triple Kill won’t count as two towards this.

Deathless Package – Complete The Package on Legendary without dying – 4400 cR

This shouldn’t be too bad for us, especially if you’ve done the LASO on The Package previously. I’m not going to post it all here, but your best thing to do is to follow Tyrant’s guide to playing it in Mythic. If you die you can quickly hit pause then save and quit, then from the menu go back into the game at the last checkpoint. Previously we have been able to play through as you would with dying included, then at the very last checkpoint quit the game, go back in and finish it and you’re good.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

9 Responses to 16th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. SamCiphus says:

    I cannot describe my anticipation for SWTOR’s release in Aus!!!! Been hanging out for it since it was announced like 2 1/2 years ago!!

  2. BJ2603 says:

    I hate to be the jerk who points this out but copy/paste fail made me laugh. Can anyone elaborate how daily challenge ‘the dream shake’ can help me with the weekly ‘nightfall: LASO’? 🙂
    Love ya work Matthew! Thumbs up.

  3. xXMaster SoulXx says:

    I watched my brother play Halo 2 on XBC “X-Box Connect” For those who have never heard of it…its where you can play pretty much any game (as long as there are people playing it) online with anyone just like XBOX LIVE but free! It like a huge system link! He was playing good o’l Acension with the banshee…ofcourse there was alot of super bouncing going on! it was neat to see Halo 2 in again in action!

  4. Locklear66 says:

    Halo 2is the game that hooked me on halo we had it on the Xbox till it burnt out then I had it on my pc untill I loned it to a friend and it came back busted and he didn’t even say sry. I was ticked

  5. Gil says:

    I posted before about not able to get that forklift clipping to work but i got it realised you got to do it at an exact spot. I got this weekly challenge done except when trying to pass the 2nd group i went left into the small building, got a checkpoint, while the Covenant were occupied with Jun, I shot the turret Grunt, ran for it and somehow managed to survive to get to the Gutas vs Grunts checkpoint, pummel the last Grunt to restore my shields and was easy enough from there.

  6. Gil says:

    Screw trying to do The Package. Two games of FF Arcade would yield more credit.

  7. Scruff 815 says:

    If you’re going to do SWAT, make sure to set up some kills/headshots/wins challenges for yourself. All of them will give significantly bigger credit rewards than a measly 1400.

  8. Steve Bergen says:

    I was trying to get the 4 double kills in a grifball game but in two games my team was getting spawn killed badly. So I quit the first game, the second game my entire team quit, so I didn’t feel that bad about it. We were even leading 2-0 but it wasn’t worth the frustration, I will spawn kill to get my challenges but after that I will play normally. I still am play Skyrim on computer, that and Reach take up all of my gaming time. Skyrim is massive I think I have finished maybe 25% of the game and I have played for over 70 hours.

    GT: stevebergen

Leave a Reply

