Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 16th January

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Nightfall: LASO – Complete Nightfall, Legendary, All Skulls On (LASO) – 12000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Nightfall LASO might be the simplest of all, and I’m expecting most of you should be able to flick through the gates from the forklift with no troubles. To see the whole level done check out Tyrant’s LASO guide. As ever 5-10 minutes and you’ve got a tasty bonus!

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

32 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 16th January

  1. Mister X says:

    Easy.

  2. Tim says:

    Having trouble getting threw the gate can never get the rite angle

  3. Joe says:

    The last few times I’ve done the forklift glitch it hasn’t worked. I get through the gate just fine then start merrily sprinting on my spartan way through the deserted last leg of the mission, just to be lit up by the turret and elite who shouldn’t be there. Have they removed the glitch?

    • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

      I’ve seen before that sometimes people have issues doing the glitch when in co-op. I kept getting hung up by all the grunts on the bridge, so I just assassinated all four of them after the elite, took the forklift over and popped through on the 3rd dismount. I repositioned the forklift slightly each time while to get myself as close as possible to the middle of the doors. I musta run through 20 times before I remembered about the Save & Quit option. Dur.

  4. Dan says:

    I just did it now, glitch still works fine.

  5. SensoryFour34 says:

    Easiest 12,000 cR ever.

  6. Bah Bodenkurk says:

    My problem with the speed run is Jun always starts sniping right away at the pylon, which brings a ton of attention. Jun’s an asshole. Kat, though, is by far much worse. I can’t tell you how many times she’s either splattered me or driven me off a cliff.

    • I think if you stay with Jun, right in front of him he wont shoot. I also get splattered by Kat and she gets me killed hi-jacking the wraith too. I often wonder why they act so stupid when it’s time to get in a vehicle, on Halo 1,2,and 3 they just jumped in.

  7. Randy says:

    My only issue with this challenge isn’t the forklift…I’m a greedy bastard…A LASO is a LASO regardless of ease. I want more credits for it haha

  8. chriscray says:

    I have a 25% success rate with that beeping rear wheel steering hunk of junk. I have a hard tome speed running between the first section to the section with the indigenous yacuty? .

    • chriscray says:

      Gutas, not yacuty

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      It’s not that bad. Just run through it and if you have problems, stay back and snipe the Gutas. You can also stick them and they’ll die instantly if you have to.

  9. SensoryFour34 says:

    I’ve been really surprised by the trouble everyone has been having with this. I can’t even count how many times I’ve done this, and I never seem to have any problems unless it’s my own fault. It sometimes takes a minute or two to get through the gate, but that’s usually the only problem I ever have. Am I just doing it perfectly every time or is everyone else just doing something wrong? (Not trying to be rude. I’m honestly wondering.)

    • This was my first attempt ever at LASO and I’m a Forerunner. I have enough problems on Legendary with no skulls on but I made in 7 minutes, I was like “feet don’t fail me now.” Also got the Carter helmet avatar award that I wasn’t even aware of.

    • Scrimjaw says:

      I ‘d agree here. Anytime I need to speed run a level for a challenge, it is this one, so I guess I have lots of practice. Even if I get killed at the forklift [It has happened a handful of times because I cannot get it lined up right] there is a checkpoint right before that so I just run up and do it again. Eezy-Peezy.

  10. Scruff 815 says:

    I assume I can do this co-op? I don’t really want to lose my single-player Campaign save. 😕

    Tips for forklift glitching: park the forklift at a slight angle (so not exactly parallel with the gate), say about 15-30 degrees, and make sure that the point that you exit from is in the middle of the two gate doors.

    Once you get the hang of it, it’s very, very easy to do.

    • Alex 700 says:

      Yes,you can do this on co-op that is how we did it. Advice: then use a flash drive or a portable hard drive to save it in. NIGHT FALL challenge comes up alot and you can continually get this challenge completed if you use a save in only 5 seconds each time. all you have to do is complete it once and you save it and use it forever……….

      • Scruff 815 says:

        I don’t like the memory stick method, but thanks for the tip anyway 🙂

        So this challenge is totally do-able in co-op.

        What I would NOT recommend is trying it co-op with an idle controller. Ugh. Not only do you have the added complication of significantly more enemies, but just as you get past the first area (arguably the hardest part of the level) and are about to round the corner to where the Guta are, your idle controller guy gets teleported right into the middle of the enemies around you. And unless you’re Goro, you’re going to have trouble getting both characters to run to relative safety without one of them dying 😕

  11. Alex 700 says:

    WOW no way I cannot believe they are doing this as a weekly easy 12,000cr

    easy load that save and get it done! ;0)

  12. clutch1965 says:

    thanks for the tip of being at an angle at the door, I thought you needed to be perfectly aligned
    with the door. It helps me to look from the pylon to the doors and make sure my helmet lines up with the seam between the doors. If jun starts the party early always snipe the grunts in the pylon first.

  13. Dan says:

    After watchign EGS, RC master, and Tyrant’s mythic and legendary guides, I tried to just run through and every time I get pwned. It’s always at the start, its the hardest, after I get past the first area with the jet pack elites with focus rifles, they follow me and kill me. Boom dead. One shot. You get the idea. While the sprinting method works for coop dash, it’s mostly based on luck on legendary. You run through and pray to god you get lucky and get through with ONE bar left. I have almost NO problems with the forklift part, and yes all you do is stay ahead of Jun to keep him from firing at the bridge.

    My method because sprint wasn’t working, I took camo from the start of the level, and walked slowly, or crouched to keep completely invisible. Took longer, but it was a hell of alot safer.

    • I think the beginning is also a place that you have to stop Jun from shooting the grunts. On my first try after I killed the Elite I stood still and Jun starts shooting the Grunts alerting the bad guys with jet packs and it was over. My 2nd try I killed the Elite and hit sprint and Jun did not fire and the bad guys didn’t follow me. There’s still a chance you’ll get spotted but it’s less.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        If I could betray Jun, I would do so again and again until the end of time itself. Yeah, Kat’s a bad driver, but Jun is non-stop annoying in every single way.

  14. tobiasvl says:

    Remember that Blind isn’t necessary for this 🙂 Makes it slightly easier.

  15. Quinn says:

    Man, when I first saw this challenge, I was like, LASO? NO WAY! Then I looked up Tyrant’s guide and saw that I had been doing the speed run wrong. At the second area, where you need to snipe the grunt, I was going around on the right instead of the left. Whoops.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      You snipe a Grunt? 😕 I usually get by with melee attacks alone…

      • Quinn says:

        Yes, he’s at a turret. It depends on which way you go around. If you go to the left, you have to snipe a grunt. If you go right, you either melee the grunt from behind or, like me, get gunned down time after time by an elite.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Ah yes, I see which one you mean now. I always go right and smack him in the back. Also good for a health recharge if Black Eye is on 🙂

  16. Rossco says:

    I’m a Forerunner also and this is the first time I have done this challenge alone. I have had friends do it with me before but all I did was run and follow them or hide in safe spots. Its not quite as simple as everyone makes it out to be. I guess if have a loty of practice it seems easy to you now. It took me 7 tries cause twice the gutas bitch slapped me in the face trying to run past them. The other 4 failed times were at the forklift I would run past grunts and elite straight to forklift. Well that’s how the video showed me how to do it but those enemies always catch up and throw like 4 stickies right on forklift and it happens everytime. So on my final try I just decided to snipe turret, elite and grunts. Then nothing bothered me and it was quiet making it easy to line up forklift and try glitch. I got through door first try when I was finally able to get forklift near the doors. Funny part is twice when I got stickied going to the doors the explosion launched me over the doors and put me where I needed to be with ease. It kinda sucked being teased like that before I successfully got through.

  17. Steve Bergen says:

    Finally finished this weekly, this was my first LASO I have finished. Glad it is done.

  18. Quinn says:

    I’m not a huge Legendary guy, but today I did the LASO and “It was the Winter…” and thoroughly enjoyed them. I did have to use the Save & Quit method a couple of times though.

    Also today I was playing Action Sack Dino Blasters when my all my teammates quit at the very beginning. Then I went on to hold out against them until they quit, leaving me with a win at 15-16.
    🙂

    gt: QuinntinteranC

Leave a Reply

