17th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Having just done it again in New Game Plus, the fight with Mr Freeze might be one of the best boss fights I have ever played. It’s slow, methodical, but you have to know pretty much everything you can do with Batman and his gadgets to take out the big cold one. Especially compared with the other fights in the game (that fight with the Ra’s Al-Ghul, urgh) it’s brilliant, and whilst it wouldn’t work as the last fight in the game, it’s a very memorable moment.

I’m now trying to think of other boss fights I’ve enjoyed in games. Bowser at the end of Super Mario Galaxy and the missile guy from ‘Splosion Man come to mind easily. Hmmm, I feel a blog post coming on about good boss battles. Anyone have any that they particularly remember and enjoy?

Today’s challenges are:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3500 cR
  2. Overlook’s Overwatch – Kill 150 enemies on Overlook in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR
  3. Clip It. Share It. – Make a clip from your Local files and upload it to your File Share – 2500 cR
  4. Up Close and Personal – Kill 5 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2343 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 250 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3500 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack, 120-135 in 2X SA, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). If you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense. I reckon that two 2x Score Attacks should just about get you this (and the other challenges).

Overlook’s Overwatch – Kill 150 enemies on Overlook in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Pretty much the same advice as above. FF Doubles might well get you this much for at least one if not both players, but as ever I say Score Attack so you get more options, get whatever you can on Overlook, and assume you’re doing two games.

Clip It. Share It. – Make a clip from your Local files and upload it to your File Share – 2500 cR

One of the Reach achievements is to recommend a video (note – a clip, not a picture) to someone, this challenge is pretty similar. Press Start, go to Files and Local Store. I had one in there which was the one I’d recommended, so I picked ‘upload to File Share’ from the file info section and voila. If you need to make a clip you can frankly do a whole game, but have a play with theatre mode to capture a good kill or interesting moment in a game then upload that. There’s been some shenanigans with the names and descriptions not being allowed, so you might have some frustration in playing around to get it uploaded, but it’s worth a couple of minutes trying.

Up Close and Personal – Kill 5 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2343 cR

Close Quarters Combat is essentially melee, assassination, sword, hammer or shotgun kills. Grifball is 100% melee and easy to get lots of kills when you get your timing right. Infection can be really good, and it does appear that sword kills count double for the sword and the pummel.

19 Responses to 17th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Braythor says:

    Ah, who doesn’t love a good boss battle? I can think of many, but will only mention a couple. I’ll also ignore Final Fantasy ones, cos even though there are loads of great ones, there’s too many to pick just one or two. So, (other) memorable boss fights:

    The hydra in God of War. Coming across this thing right at the start of the game was an amazing, if somewhat terrifying, moment. But it set the bar for the game, which just kept getting better. One day I’ll get a PS3 and be able to finally play the third one…

    Quadraxis in Metroid Prime 2: Echoes. Great fun, a huge boss with several layers to the fight. My kind of boss battle.

    Nemesis in Resident Evil 3. It’s not so much the fighting of Nemesis that makes it so good, it’s the fact that he’s always there, somewhere, and the moment you forget that is when he’ll leap out of a wall shouting ‘STARS!’, resulting in shepherds pie pants.

  2. ITS ZAPHOX says:

    Easy challenges today, very nice.

    Also, if anyone wants to play some games, add me on live: DSB Requiem

  3. Not having played lots of games due to being poor all my life, the original ‘Perfect Dark’ comes to mind, the fight at the end with the Skedar Boss. There were no checkpoints in that game, if you lost it was redo the level.

  4. petee moobaa says:

    The fight with Shinobu in No More Heroes (on Bitter difficulty) was the first boss battle I ever really loved. A magnificently paced battle where everything just worked; when I finally beat her, it was possibly the most satisfying gaming moment I’ve ever felt 🙂

  5. J.D@wg says:

    Boss battle? I’m really surprised Ganondorf in LOZ ocarina of time isn’t in there. It’s like a 3 stage battle. You fight him Matthew? Or
    anyone else remember that battle?

    • THEllisor says:

      I remember that joker, especially how after taking him down and then escaping through the tower (in a timed sequence no less, something that game developers today need to consider for their games to make them, ya know, difficult) and then after getting out you go to look at something suspicious and then WHAMMO! he’s back, and uglier than before. Not to mention you’re already partially dead (at least the first time you tried unless you either looked at a guide, or you’re just paranoid, or you’re some sort of gaming avatar of skill) and likely out of “magic power.”
      For me, the next boss that approaches that level from the LOZ series was in Twilight Princess which was also a multi-stage confrontation, but the rest of the bosses were not that thrilling for me since it boiled down to “Find special item in dungeon, use special item on boss of dungeon 3 times, win.” Not that they weren’t fun, just that they were blander than the hard bosses of the original games.

      • J.D@wg says:

        Yeah. I also miss the “I’ve already tried 5 times” then you try again and you start crying when the boss kills you instantly. Yep, back then it was an achievement to beat a game.

  6. Devenue024 says:

    As far as great bosses go for me (NOT final bosses), I’m going with the absent silhouette of Marluxia in the Final Mix of Kingdom Hearts 2. What made it awesome was Marluxia’s arsenal of attacks, the reaction commands you could pull off, the doom counter that’s set upon you at the start of battle, and that you can fight him without that freaking card system from CoM!
    Another one would be the two Scarabs on The Covenant in Halo 3. Not only did you have to deal with the Scarabs tag teaming you, but also their ground and air support. That battle was massive, you had the choice of running around the ground in Hogs, Mongooses, or Scorpions or taking the fight to the air with the Hornets!
    I’d also like to point out that the music in both fights are some of the best tracks I’ve ever heard in a game.

  7. Locklear66 says:

    My greatest memory of Boss’s was super Mario allstars on super Nintendo I was like 10 then

  8. Scruff 815 says:

    My favourite boss battle is all the boss battles from Ninja Gaiden 2. Because nothing is more fun than throwing your controller halfway across the room after being insta-killed for the 3,000th time in a row.

    These challenges are stupid, but I will indeed upload a video clip, even though my file share is largely full of videos I submitted to FotW months ago and am keeping in there just in case 😕

    • Roan-the-Man says:

      Oh yeah, I remember Volf (that sound right?) and Zedonius from Ninja Gaiden 2 and how I’ve gotten my ass handed to me on a silver platter….playing on the acolyte difficulty!!!

      Good times, though it’s a miracle my controller survived those months of the ordeal O_o

  9. Micah (SpartanM914) says:

    I know this is a Reach blog, but since half of you are self-described “Achievement Whores”, I figure it won’t be a problem if I have a post for ODST. Is anyone interested in joining me to complete the Vidmaster Challenge: Deja Vu on Coastal Highway? It takes a co-op gang of four on Legendary with the Iron Skull on and no ‘Hog or Scorpion. I’m thinking Friday night, but I’m also on US Pacific Time, which might be a challenge if most of the other readers of this blog are in the UK.

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      At what exact time? Either you friend one of us or we wont be able to do it. I’m also in the U.S. mountain time zone.

      • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

        Is the letter after the ‘f’ in DaRoflBandit a lower case L? I sent you a friend request, but it hadn’t been accepted yet. Are you still in for the achievement tonight at 8:15 PM PST?

    • THEllisor says:

      I’m also up for that, Being on EST I shouldn’t have any issue with helping you, especially given that I am usually up until the wee hours myself. >.>

      Gamertag: THEllisor

    • JustHawkeye says:

      Ooh that’s. The last pest achievement I need. Sign me up. 🙂 my gt is my name.

    • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

      Ok, I friended all three of you. I’m thinking about 8:15 PM PST on Friday 1/20. Does that work for everyone? I’ve got to put my little guy down and then I’m good for several hours. I’d also be up for taking on the Vidmaster Challenge: Endure – passing the 4th set of Firefight on a 4-person co-op game.

  10. On the subject of boss fights, Halo 2’s Regret fight was pretty damn cool. The fact that 2 whole levels of the game came before and then it was a pretty tough fight even on legendary. On the subject of challenges, I think a ton of firefight and a game of multiplayer should do it.

  11. Locklear66 says:

    Has anyone played the powerup Heros for kenect. I just got it and played through the first set of enemy’s and was worken on the next round. They are the same guys but with better stronger powers. It’s a great workout. Just wondering if anybody has any tips for me

Leave a Reply

