18th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Some great boss battle memories yesterday. FFVII’s Sephiroth fight will definitely live in memory, as will the Ruby and Emerald weapons!

No gaming for me last night as I was out in town. I went to a great ‘Asian fusion’ restaurant in Soho called Inamo. It’s good food and drink, however the exciting thing about it…

You see that table? There’s a projector above the table sending down different ambient images, plus an interface controlled by trackpad on the table itself. You browse your menu, drinks, local info, games and more through it, and can even order your bill by selecting that option. It was a pretty impressive setup, very well constructed interface, and the food was lovely to boot. The bottle of wine was delivered in probably under a minute from ordering. So impressed!

Oh, and I won Battleships 2-0. Champion!

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Gunslinger – Kill 40 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3500 cR
  2. A Satisfied Thirst – Kill 200 Grunts in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  3. Foggy Notion – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud and Famine on – 1500 cR
  4. Vengeance Found – Earn your ‘Revenge’ in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Gunslinger – Kill 40 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3500 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. If you’re going for the last challenge then perhaps work in something like Team SWAT until you have that then finish this off in your favourite game type.

A Satisfied Thirst – Kill 200 Grunts in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

This just cries out for a quick jaunt into your favourite Gruntpocalypse map. Personal recommendation is for Corvette, so you can use the platforms by the corridors into the spawn room to snipe quickly from. Then if you need to retreat you can do so easily and use the corridor to funnel Grunts down, shooting them as they appear. There’s no requirement for how you kill them, so grenade, Pistol, DMR or melee, whatever seems appropriate. Jump into Crashsite or Generator Defense to get your total together.

Foggy Notion – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud and Famine on – 1500 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

Vengeance Found – Earn your ‘Revenge’ in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Revenge is when you kill the guy who killed you. Chances are you’ll pick this up naturally, especially if a camper kills you and doesn’t move. That said, there are some maps that seem to make it easier, particularly ones where you can get back to someone really quickly. Team SWAT on Asylum’s good because you can snipe the guy who took you out from afar. I like Countdown because the high platform by the jets and ramps is always a killing zone that’s easy to get to and you’ll often find your killer there. Infection might be good if you’re the zombie and you get shot by a human and can then take them out. Grifball’s also excellent as it becomes a big melee you can get back to your killer quickly, especially those who stay near your spawn zone.

13 Responses to 18th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Rossco says:

    Nice and easy day of challenges. One round of grifball, two rounds of gruntpocalypse with magnums and a round of WC with 2 skulls on. It should take less than an hour.

  2. Quinn says:

    I have a question. With foggy notion, can I have more skulls on than Cloud and Famine? For example, could I complete this challenge at the same time as the weekly?

  3. Micah (SpartanM914) says:

    Having taken advantage of my last save point from running Nightfall for the weekly challenge, doing the challenge today was a snap. I can see that having my run through nightfall saved somewhere would be really handy. Currently I just use my hard drive for storage. Can any of you who have gotten fancy with thumb drives or cloud storage talk about what you’ve done to save different key points (target locator on ONI, Scorpion vs. Phantoms for 40k campaign, etc) on different devices? What’s your stategy?

    • I was wondering the same thing, me being technically challenged and all. I tried this with another game and it would not save to a check point until I saved it directly onto the hard drive. Also can a external hard drive be connected to the Xbox the same way you do a PC? I would hate to fry something.

  4. Nancy says:

    Do not know where else to go. Have tried all roads that I know of to find out what is going on with my account. I have been thrown off for a couple of weeks and don’t know exactly why.
    Have been thrown off for 10 minutes for quitting too much. ( I do not quit)
    The only thing sometimes is when I am throwing a grenade that my team mate sprints by me and runs into the grenade and sometimes boots me for killing him.
    I am supposed to get an e-mail according to xbox but have not gotten any for any reason. I tried to write, call and e-mail anyone I can think of to get this resolved but do not know where else to turn to get answers. There is no one I can get to, to resolve this problem. I e-mailed someone from support that xbox live told me to get on and it was deleted without reading. Isn’t there anyone that can tell me what is happening?
    I got some good answers from your site and accepted them but also got some answers that sounded like kids were answering the question. They were sarcastic and seemed that I was bothering them. Can someone please help?

    • Scruff 815 says:

      You are not supposed to get an email. Anything that happens due to the rules of the game is nothing to do with Microsoft.

      So are you being thrown off for a couple of weeks? Or 10 minutes?

      Also it usually takes more than one accidental betrayal before you’ll get booted.

      You got sarcastic answers last time because you asked the same question on three separate occasions without acknowledging the correct answers that were REPEATEDLY given to you.

      • Shane says:

        “Also it usually takes more than one accidental betrayal before you’ll get booted.”

        Not necessarily. I get booted first go sometimes whereas if some plonker repeatedly betrays me for a vehicle/weapon, I don’t get the option to boot. There’s no particular rhyme or reason – I don’t betray on purpose although *very occasionally* I accidentally betray grievers. It’s also a good idea to apologise when you accidentally betray randomers.

        Back to Nancy’s question: getting booted counts as quitting. You will get a short ban for that and be put on probation where any quit/boot will give you another short ban and restart the probation period. Scruff’s answers above are all correct.

  5. Noshkanok says:

    Speaking of FFVII, does anyone remember the Sephiroth battle in Kingdom Hearts 2? Totally epic. What fun!

  6. HUGSnFIRE says:

    New to this site.. Love it. Can’t wait to ask about 500 questions.

Leave a Reply

