25th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Happy Burns Nights to you all. I’m only half Scottish so I get to choose whether to have neeps or tatties wi’ me Haggis!

99% Arkham City. Should be finished tonight. So. Very. Close.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR
  2. Katanarama – Kill 1 enemies using the Energy Sword in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR
  3. Iron Will – Complete a Campaign mission alone on Heroic or harder with the Iron Skull on – 2500 cR
  4. Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More than a Handful – Kill 125 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2500 cR

Multi Team Battle or Grifball are the best ways to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other modes. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. If you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly.

Katanarama – Kill 1 enemies using the Energy Sword in Firefight Matchmaking – 1000 cR

The easiest way I see of getting this is playing score attack or 2x Score Attack and getting to the Elites at the end. One of them carries a sword (more than one in 2x), and will of course rush you. Once you’ve taken him out, grab the sword then go after his buddies. Fiesta Fight is your alternative, fun, option, where you may get given the sword at some point if you die and respawn.

Iron Will – Complete a Campaign mission alone on Heroic or harder with the Iron Skull on – 2500 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Wait… it’s 10k if you win 12, so this is… well it’s just broken. Plus it’s a little bit of a grind. Go for Team Slayer/SWAT/Snipers/Objective/Grifball/Action Sack game types so you only have two teams playing and a better chance of winning. I’d also recommend finding some guys you play well with and sticking with them.

34 Responses to 25th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. BJ2603 says:

    Well the question is indeed who is the big winner? The answer is no-one. Not even if you complete the challenge. Cr payout fail. It’s funny there’s been so much talk here of topsy-turvy payouts and then this one comes along…

    • Dogmeat says:

      To think that just a few days ago (Sunday), you could win 12 games for 10,000 cr! Today’s big winner challenge is yet further proof that 343 didn’t bother adjustng the payout for every challenge that exists. 😦

  2. Brady says:

    15 wins 3000 cred? Smh arcade fight is good for sword kills it is on one of the load outs

  3. Rossco says:

    Usually I go for every challenge regardless of the payout. 15 wins is way too much of a grind and in my short 4 hour span of playing time it may not even be achievable. I recently started playing the campaign on legendary to get 2 achievements I need. After I get the three obtainable challenges I will continue my legendary endeavours. Matthew please save some haggis for me I’m half scottish also.

    Just out of curiosity what is everyones rank and % progress.

    Gt: Barry Mikokin3r – 100% armory, 87% commendation and I’m a Forerunner with less than a million credits away from Reclaimer.

    • André says:

      Gamertag: Eskobar Returns.
      Progress: 99% armory, 79% commendation.
      Rank: Noble with less than 120k credits away from Eclipse.

    • l0 Dolla Bagel says:

      Just thought I should post since I am 20,000 credits away from Reclaimer. 😀

      GT: l0 Dolla Bagel

      (First character is the letter L)
      Please send some requests. 😛

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I’m Legend with 61% for both. I’m saving up for Inclement Weather, so it could be higher. Not sure I’ll actually use Inclement Weather, though, because (in my opinion) it makes you a bigger target. I’m just gonna buy it now because everyone saves it for last, and they say it feels like it takes forever.

  4. Dan says:

    ONE sword kill?! Seriously? Load up Fiesta Attack and you could get the sword at the very beginning. This has to be the easiest challenge ever. Or is it Link up your gamertag with bungie.net? All you have to do is enter the halo reach matchmaking playlists to get a challenge.

    12 wins for 10k or 15 for 3? El Crap. I’m thinking of trying anni classic to get pistol kills today, although I’m terrible at swat magnums, maybe I can get this weekly.

    My gamertag is KrazyDan26. 86% armory and 70% commendations.

  5. l0 Dolla Bagel says:

    Also: 100% Armory
    79% Commendation
    Forerunner (20,000 away from reclaimer)

    GT: l0 Dolla Bagel (with the letter L at the beginning)

  6. Gamertag- MisguidedDrake4
    Rank- 200k into Eclipse
    Armory- 88%
    Commendations- 84%

    Hit me up if you have a positive KD and are good.

  7. Micah (SpartanM914) says:

    70% Armory
    42% Commendation
    Brigadier Grade 2

    Been on LIVE Gold since December and moving up nicely now with the ONI TD farming plan (started yesterday)

    I basically started from scratch with Reach b/c Microsoft handily wiped out my old gamer tag with all of my offline experience from Halo, Halo 2, Halo 3, and Halo 3:ODST on it. Thanks guys.

  8. DaRoflBandit says:

    How come everyone has armory completion so high? I’ve only got 36%. I guess that’s because I saved up for all the expensive stuff first! Also, my commendation progress is 61%, and I’m a hero. Commendations are slow now, I’ve gotten all of the easy ones (I don’t do really hardcore boosting like the TD trick) and the ones that were in my comfort zone. I guess I should start on really going for the campaign ones, most of them are silver and below for me.

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      I meant that my rank was a Hero. Kinda vague I know.

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      I also got Cr reset, that’s why my commendations are so high for my rank.

      • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

        What is the 6th character in your GT? I sent you a friend request on LIVE for that VidMaster Challenge, but I might not have spelled your name right.

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        What are you talking about? Whats this “Vidmaster challenge”? And that letter in my GT you are talking about is L, but lowercase. I don’t know if I got your friend request, since I did not know what your GT was until now. Maybe I got it, maybe not.

      • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

        I posted on 1/17 about doing a Vidmaster Challenge from ODST. You responded that you were interested, but never responded to friend request.

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        Really? I can’t remember… anyway, I don’t think I ever got your friend request.

  9. Locklear66 says:

    Gt:is Locklear66
    Commendations around 40%
    Armory about 40% also
    I’m a Brigadier grade one but I’m like my armor so I don’t buy more also at the rate I play it will take me approximately 9 years to reach reclamer. This is do to the lack of Internet

    • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

      You know you can choose to wear any armor you’ve purchased, right? Just select it and it will say “equipped.”

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I think he means he likes his armor, so he doesn’t see the point in buying more.

      • Locklear66 says:

        Yea I know you can use other armor. I just like what I got so yea I don’t see a point in getting more

  10. UMD BULLDOG 98 says:

    Rank Eclipse
    Commendations 64%
    Armory 12%

  11. Steve Bergen says:

    Rank: Legend (310000 to Mythic)
    Commendations 53% (I have all the easy ones, slowly going through the though ones)
    Armoury: 76%

    GT: stevebergen:

  12. Scruff 815 says:

    Rank: Eclipse
    Commendations: 81%
    Armory: 99%

Leave a Reply

