28th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Well I took the plunge and pre-ordered Mass Effect 3. I went for Shopto.net, although they have one of the most annoying site designs around (OMG so much stuff going on!) they’re offering a free t shirt, which I’d much rather have than a lot of the other pre order stuff.

I’m hoping to get a start on Saints Row The Third tomorrow. I’m looking forward to it having heard how much fun it’s supposed to be. I’m a little apprehensive though because I have no idea what to expect. But it’s good to try something different right?

Oh, and only one week now till the start of the rugby league season. My season ticket has come so I’m getting pretty excited now!

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2000 cR
  2. Throwing Fireballs – Kill 7 enemies with grenades in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1400 cR
  3. Up Close and Personal – Kill 8 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1600 cR
  4. Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 12 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 10000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 100 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2000 cR

You’re better off doing the other challenges first then mopping this up if you’ve not done it yet. Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Throwing Fireballs – Kill 7 enemies with grenades in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1400 cR

As always I think the objective games in Multi-Team battle are good for grenade kills, especially Crazy King as you can chuck grenades in the ‘hill’ to try and get more than one guy. The Elite variant games can be good with sticky grenades, but Armour Lock is so common now it’s not worth it. I’m thinking perhaps Invasion too, since that’s also not based on kill volumes and you can throw grenades into the target areas when the opposition are unlocking something. Squad Slayer on Zealot can be a grenade fest, Action Sack’s DinoBlasters is excellent for grenades since no one looks for them, Slayer Pro type games can be good. Team Doubles King of the Hill’s variants too.

Up Close and Personal – Kill 8 enemies with close quarters combat in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1600 cR

Close Quarters Combat is essentially melee, assassination, sword, hammer or shotgun kills. Grifball is 100% melee and easy to get lots of kills when you get your timing right. Infection can be really good, and it does appear that sword kills count double for the sword and the pummel.

Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 12 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 10000 cR

This is just a little bit of a grind. Go for Team Slayer/SWAT/Snipers/Objective/Grifball/Action Sack game types so you only have two teams playing and a better chance of winning. I’d also recommend finding some guys you play well with and sticking with them. You’ll get lots of credits from the games and then a tasty tasty 10k bonus on winning your 12th. That’s all worth the gravy in my book.

11 Responses to 28th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Can any of you intelligent players tell me if the speed of your Internet connection affects the power of your weapons,AR, Shotgun, DMR, ect. I lost track of the number of times I shot someone point blank with the shotgun and didn’t kill them.

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      When you attack someone and the hits do not register, then it is probably either you have bad connection or the other person has bad connection. Other than that, when lag happens at all histican weapons (Sniper rifle, Focus rifle, any weapon that has massive range, I don’t know about the DMR, Needle rife, etc yet.) suffer greatly, and you have to really lead your shots, and the distance you have to lead is somehow always random. This can really effect your usefulness when sniping, especially if you are used to histican sniping. I think when you use other stuff besides the sniper weapons, since they are pretty much useless at long ranges (Because of bloom, low scoping magnitude, etc) and because they can be fired faster and have less ammo, there is no really noticeable effects on strange accuracy problems. Hope all this helps! 😀 From, the self proclaimed sniping guru, DaRoflBandit. XD

  2. Dan says:

    Maybe they just cheat. 1 time someone hit me with a rocket while they were right above me and sustained NO damage.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      It’s not cheating. It’s almost certainly just lag. Cheating in Halo is very, very difficult to actually do, even though loads of people run around screaming that everyone else is cheating all the time.

      And depending on the game mode, it’s quite feasible to survive a rocket. You can’t tell if they’ve taken damage or not just by looking at them.

  3. Steve Bergen says:

    No idea. I know I have shot people in the head in Swat and nothing happened, but then I figure if that happens to me, it must happen to them as well. So I live with it.

    I did a calculation of all of the custom challenges (I know, I am a numbers nerd!) I have earned 964550. If they didn’t have custom challenges then I would be back a rank, with lots to go. Then I figured out that Nova rank is about the halfway mark in terms of credits earned to get to Inheritor. Ridiculous

    Easy challenges today, Big Winner will be a grind though. One grifball and a multiteam for the grenades.

    GT: stevebergen

  4. Thanks gamers!!!! At least I know it’s not just me that says ” how did that not kill him/her.” I almost never have a problem with lag ( sometimes on Firefight ) and if I do I don’t use precision weapons until it straightens itself out.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      At the same time, you’ll know from playing the game whether it’s laggy or not. If you or other people are skipping about all over the place, then it’s definitely laggy. If it’s all playing like a dream, then it’s probably not lagging at all, and you just didn’t quite hit them with 100% of the shotgun’s reticle. If you miss even just a fraction of the full reticle, and don’t get them in the face, they can survive a point-blank shotgun blast.

  5. DaRoflBandit says:

    time test

  6. DaRoflBandit says:

    Wow, nobody has posted here (besides me) in 6 hours! Sometimes, the posts just stop! I wonder why….

  7. brian says:

    I finished SR3 in days no cheats. Its easy and kind of fun if you have nothing better to do.

Leave a Reply

