29th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

No gaming related news for you today. Except that the USB connector on the mic for my Rock Band set has been somehow crushed. I have the wireless Lips mics so that’s okay, but for some reason they don’t work with Guitar Hero games. Which meant playing Beatles Rock Band instead.

I’ve taken pliers to the USB and it’s pretty much back into shape. I need to test it, but I suspect a new one is actually in order for me.

Oh, and I’m awesome at singing ‘Run to the Hills’ by Iron Maiden. Like, really awesome.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  2. Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 200 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today – 3000 cR
  3. Roast ’em, Toast ’em – Kill 10 enemies while jet-packing in Exodus on Normal – 2400 cR
  4. This is My Rifle… – Earn 60 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2700 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 150 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2250 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack, 120-135 in 2X SA, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). If you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense.

Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 200 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today – 3000 cR

Automatic weapons are those that fire repeatedly, namely the Assault Rifle, Plasma Repeater, Plasma Rifle, Needler and Spiker. In Campaign you want a mission with lots and lots of enemies quickly. As usual, Winter Contingency’s a good one as it’s not too hard, and the enemies come quickly. Stick to Normal difficulty so you don’t have to spend too long. There are tricks in some places like Rally Point Bravo on The Package where you can get a checkpoint just before a group of Grunts so you can take out 5 quickly, then restart checkpoint and do it again.

Roast ’em, Toast ’em – Kill 10 enemies while jet-packing in Exodus on Normal – 2400 cR

Go to Rally Point Alpha of Exodus where you’re given a jet-pack and hop over to the platform. You need to make sure you’re actively firing the jet-pack when you get the kill otherwise it doesn’t count. 10 should be pretty easy, you can snipe the Grunts and Jackals before actually making it to the platform so getting a few that way. However it’s always good to grab the Rocket Launcher off the marine as you get to jet pack area, then just blast some Grunt packs. There was also a good suggestion from Turbo previously – pick up a Gravity Hammer from the Brute who runs at you, then hit fire and equipment at the same time when hitting someone.

This is My Rifle… – Earn 60 kills with precision weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2700 cR

Much better credit return than the time we had 77 for 1400 credits. Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Beam and Needle Rifle. Team SWAT will do you well here. Unless you use melee or Pistol every kill will be a precision weapon kill, so play it a few times, try and get a good team who will cover your back (and you theirs), and just do this over 2 or 3 games.

20 Responses to 29th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Zidane says:

    Just following on from yesterday’s lagging conversation, I upgraded my broadband to infinity and it’s been great for ages but this last week I have been experiencing weird lag.

  2. Yesterday I was in a game and was not lagging at all but 2 guys on the other team kept disappearing and reappearing several feet from where they were. Not sure if that means they were lagging or what but they were on the same console and stayed together.

    • OK, I didn’t see Scruff 815’s comment about lagging from yesterday till after I posted today. Thanks to all for the info and yes it’s possible that I just partially miss at close range with the shotgun, I can barely hit a target standing still. 😦

  3. clutch1965 says:

    for 2 days I could not get any of the challenges to load. I kept getting a failure to load message
    after a full party voted on the game type. I fixed this by installing the reach disc on my hard drive.
    Hope this helps to keep someone else from wanting to throw their controller thru the tv.

  4. Locklear66 says:

    Also by downloading game to your hard drive it will make them load faster and the cd will not spin continually in the drive so it increases the life of your Xbox…..just a thought on clutches comment

  5. DaRoflBandit says:

    Augh, 200 automatic kills in the campaign is going to be a GRIND. I’ll get to it sooner or later.

    • Dogmeat says:

      Don’t you just hate these 5-minute “grinds” on The Package rally point bravo for 3000 cr? I sure do! I much prefer the 60-second challenges. 😉

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        I never used that one, I did a different one on Winter Contingency. My version of it is 4 grunts, and a checkpoint practically right next to them in the relay station.. And since I killed everything beforehand from Rally Point Bravo, and I mean EVERYTHING, it took me 7 minutes. There may be an easier way to do this, like on the Package on rally point bravo like you said, but I don’t know how to do that one though D:

  6. Zidane says:

    Any preference on tomorrow’s weekly?

    • Dogmeat says:

      For a change, I would just like something that actually coincides with my working on mobile asset/downshift commendations in MP matchmaking or grounded/perfectionist commendations in firefight.

  7. J.D@wg says:

    I’m actually kinda scared at the thought of Michael singing Iron Maiden…. But it’s whatev!

  8. DaRoflBandit says:

    Well, I’m good at singing Eye of the Tiger on Rock Band, but then again, who isn’t? XD

Leave a Reply

