Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 30th January

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Multiplicative – Earn 200 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking this week – 25,000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

This is actually fairly easy to get I reckon. My usual tips apply here – go for Grifball, Team SWAT or Multi Team to get a good chance of quick kills (SWAT because you can kill in 1 shot to speed up the kill, Multi Team because people group together, Grifball because it’s one giant melee anyway!)

For SWAT and Multi-Team, some maps help better than others, my favourites are:

Sword Base – On SWAT you can hold the killing area at the top of green lift and take out a team as the rush you from any direction. On Multi Team if the top of that lift becomes a killing zone through some grenades in it then follow them up to mop up.

Pinnacle – Since you can see across the map you can hit two people even if they’re in different areas. The room and loft also help contain people to use the Rocket Launcher or Grenades on them.

Asylum – Similar to Pinnacle, but this is even better for sniping people who run across your field of vision.

Countdown – A nice killing area at the top of the lifts, Multi Team is good for this because everyone comes from different directions so you can steal kills and take out the person who was shooting as well. You might get a couple at the beginning if you go to shoot your opponents on the opposite side of the atrium.

Reflection – Again some nice killing areas at the top of the lift and along the long corridor.

I know there are more maps, but these are the ones where I think you’ve got a good chance of getting multikills.

And finally, don’t forget the multikills will stack. So an Overkill (4 enemies) will count as 3 for the double, triple and Overkill.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

39 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 30th January

  1. Pingback: 30th January – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary « Halo Reach Daily Challenges

  2. Peggy Peggy says:

    They should make the challenge Earn 200 Multikills in multiplayer Matchmaking this week (without playing Grifball)! Lol

    • Steve Bergen says:

      Yeah, Grifball will be played a lot this week. Since I play SWAT the most anyways, that helps.

      GT: stevebergen

    • Rossco says:

      Without grifball then nobody would be completing weekly except for the nerds that play 24 7

    • Dogmeat says:

      *sigh* I don’t see getting enough multikills with vehicles over the course of a week. I guess I’ll be deviating from my objective yet again. I suppose I could be grateful the challenge isn’t harder, though…nearly impossible even!

      How about 200 multikills using only plasma grenade sticks? Or only assassination multikills? Or maybe only while jet packing?

      Others?

  3. Quinn says:

    It will be difficult for me to get this one since I hardly get any time to play during the weekday’s.

  4. Scruff 815 says:

    Ugh. I’ll give it a go if I can get a group of a few people together to (literally) hammer it out in Grifball, but I can’t say I care all that much.

    • JThomas says:

      Don’t care? 20k isn’t enough for you Hollywood? Some people are straight up jokes…

      • JThomas says:

        *25k

      • Dogmeat says:

        Be nice or Matthew will give you the boot!

        Scruff could pull 25k of credits in 2-3 games of firefight with custom challenges, not including the dailies for today. Some of us have simply gotten burned out on Grifball, Hockey, and Haloball Extreme. The only incentive I have going for me (since credits are meaningless now) is that I haven’t missed a weekly challenge since the game came out.

        The 17 wins crowd will be trying to win quick games of Grifball while the weekly crowd will be trying to draw out the length of each match. It should make for a frustrating day for everyone! 😦

      • JThomas says:

        25k for 2-3 games of custom challenges on FF? How so? I’m listening…Ha.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Your face is a straight-up joke. Stop being an internet hard man, idiot. No-one thinks you’re cool.

        And no, 25k isn’t enough for me. I need over 1.5million to rank up – 25k is a drop in the ocean on that, and I’m pretty much past the point of doing things just for the credit payouts.

        Now go jerk off.

      • Dogmeat says:

        It depends on your rank. I get 10k-12k cr simply from playing one firefight match! If you add custom challenges, ranks such as scruff would match if not exceed that amount per game.

        What rank are you? You might not be rewarded as much right now. Therefore, the weekly would be more enticing. Don’t forget to add mp-matchmaking-related custom challenges that complement your efforts when going for the weekly challenge. You stand to triple your total payout when all is said and done (not including normal credits earned from playing each match)!

      • Dogmeat says:

        Ouch! Having a rough day, Scruff?

      • JThomas says:

        Scruff, I’m not trying to be an “internet hard-man???” (whatever that is, hipster).

        It’s funny especially coming from people like you that say you need a ton of credits to level up or buy armor, but then say that 25k in one pop isn’t a lot. Sorry to burst your bubble but your not going to find a 100k challenge… How do you think you’re going to get a lot of credits? Hmmm…from playing? Especially from games like grif and swat where you can get a bunch of kills and medals. Don’t you think getting an added incentive of playing to get there with weekly and dailys is going to make things faster? To you apparently not…

        Don’t preach to me about needing a ton of credits to level up, I’m a Noble and looking for the last 2 armor percs.

        Dogmeat, again I’m a Noble and pretty much stick to score attack because I can finish gruntpoc on Corvette in 5:20 consistently. So, I haven’t done custom challenges but it sounds promising!

      • PEM1989 says:

        To get 20K in 2 FF custom challenges:
        set up 1000 kills in 3 hours, and 1000 medals in 3 hours.
        You will need 9 score attack games, played alone, which is doable in 1.5 hours.

        My rank is Reclaimer.

        I get about 4.5K (with a low bonus) per game in FF Doubles – 2x Score Attack, which could be as fast as 5 minutes on Corvette, if the other player does not leave. A second player distracts the enemy, making the game much faster to complete. I also get 10 to 12K in an arcade game, but that could take over 20 minutes to play.

        I get roughly 2.5 to 3K per SWAT game.

        I complete challenges now, only for the sake of completing them, not primarily for the credit payout.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Some people just don’t think 25k is worth playing with all the betrayers and quitters in Grifball. I usually like Grifball, but lately, it seems like there aren’t any good players there anymore. I’m sure Scruff would rather wait until next week when the Weekly might be easier, and won’t have to be done in Grifball (because I personally know how much he hates it.)

      • Zidane says:

        JT you muppet, your comments are based on lack of knowledge and your tone isn’t welcome!!!

      • Speaking of betrayers, I get a kick outta the way that works. A few days ago in Team Slayer my teammate melee’s me in the back and takes my rocket launcher, I didn’t get the option to boot. Today in a game were throwing grenades like crazy and I accidentally kill my teammate and get booted, must be a random selection.

      • Matthew Vose says:

        You guys crack me up. Coming here, thinking it’s a forum at Bungie or 343 and flaming each other. You’re so silly.

        If you have a question or a discussion point then make it. If you’re bitching or insulting go find a new hole, it’s not appreciated nor is it stood for here. If someone bitches at you, you don’t need to take the bait and snap back, just rise above it. And if you see it happening you don’t need to get involved.

        Simples.

  5. Gran Calabaza says:

    Hey! It’s been a while since the last time I posted here. (Yeah, my english keeps sucking, and now that I’m learning german, it’s worse: I’m mixing languages)
    I think we have had this Challenge like 2 or maybe 3 times before? Not sure. Those times I’ve done it in Multiteam. I don’t like Grifball: most of the times I die more than I kill, and by far! I think those guys have alot of skills (distance and time accuracy), but I’m not interested in learning how to use a hammer, a spade or a ball. Besides, the Close Quarters commendation is already full.
    So, yeah, good luck everyone, and don’t forget to have fun: that’s one of the main goals, right?

  6. Dan says:

    Your English sucks? dude you didn’t have one single spelling or grammer mistake. Don’t know what you’re talking about. Anyways I was hoping for a firefight or campaign challenge – this past week I’ve devoted myself to playing the campaign on heroic with all silver skulls on – this means blind. Hell of a lot more fun than usual. It’s either this way or legendary, and legendary reach is coming next from now on. 🙂

    Although I dispise LASO challenges, a campaign runthrough would be nice. And we haven’t had a proper firefight challenge in months! Endure the return twice in the past 2 months I think. I want Ride the Wave; a good FireFight grind. I’m getting real tired of multiplayer weeklies, I didn’t get last week, nor did I get the single wield the time before that. 12/200 pistol kills last week, instead I enjoyed myself and did other gametypes.

    Today I did about 3 or 4 hours of griffball, and it had its ups and downs. I’m up to 115/200 so tomorrow I may get it out of the way, but everytime I play griffball I see it – the assholes, they’re everywhere. Today because of quitters the other team was down to 1, and my team, with the exception of me kept spawn killing and assassinating the one guy. 4v1, I tried to score and betray my teammates to shorten the humiliation for the other guy. Last time my entire team quit it was 4v1 and the other team thankfully scored as fast as possible instead of spawn killing me for 10 minutes or more. I try not to betray and I usually don’t but in those cases it’s not worth playing when it gets like that.

    ISO::: Firefight or Campaign ‘This is how we do it’ challenge next week.

  7. SensoryFour34 says:

    Another option if you’re sick of Grifball is Multi-Team. I was playing a game of Elite Slayer and got a Killtacular without even knowing what happened. I’ll have to look later and figure it out.

    http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=920310874&player=SensoryFour34

  8. Rossco says:

    I got all the daily challenges whyll going for the weekly. I ended off 133/200 from like 2.5 hrs of grifball. I don’t like grifball much but it is great for wins, positive K/D, sprees, multikills and numerous other commendations. I also simply like completing as much weekly challenges and dailys as I can to increase those numbers. If u u try to get commendations like sprees on slayer and swat it will take years to onyx it. Where as with grifball u can receive 4 or more sprees a round with ease, making a far quicker increase in commendations.

    Just my personal thoughts on grifball as much as it sucks. I love plowing the fields for the ball carrier and getting killionaires and sprees on the way.

    • André says:

      If I’m lucky I can get many kills in Grifball, it’s like flipping a coin. Thats why I prefer SWAT where I usually can get many kills. Record being 51 in objective / 40 in team.

    • Gil says:

      I hardly get any kills from Grifball because opponents always have Gravity Hammers with greater attack range.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        They don’t – the gravity hammer does more damage in Grifball. Splash damage does more damage than a direct hit. Just learn to swing your hammer earlier than you think you have to.

      • André says:

        I know, but I end up in a everlasting battle half the times if I charge too early.

  9. Thomas says:

    IIf anyone wants to party up for griftball to do this quick I don’t have much time to play my gamer tag is. Htowntxforlife ill be on in a couple hours after I get off of work msg me if you want to do it.

  10. Scruff 815 says:

    In a less cranky way of justifying what I said earlier…

    I’m not mad keen on this challenge, because it means playing a load of Grifball if you want to knock it out reasonably quickly. I don’t really like Grifball, especially with 7 other random players. As my gaming time is limited, I wasn’t sure that I’d bother investing the time playing a game mode I don’t like much in a bid to get 25,000 credits which are fairly worthless, given that I only need one more item from the armoury and I play more for fun than ranking up these days (primarily because the top ranks take FOREVER to get through); when instead I could spend my valuable gaming time playing something I like instead.

    As it turns out, I’m alternating my gaming hours this week with a little Grifball with a bunch of AC:Brotherhood multiplayer. And I am now so confident that my previously stated opinion about “7 other random players” is right. I’ve never “avoided” so many players in such a short space of time…

    Matthew – yes, I flew off the handle a bit and I’m sorry about that, but at the same time you can’t expect people to not be idiots occasionally. It’s the internet. There’s nothing special about the Waypoint / Bungie forums that makes people be stupid, it’s the fact that it’s the internet and anonymity makes people say stuff that they wouldn’t say otherwise. I know I *should* just rise above when someone’s being a jerk to me, but I have a bit of an issue with that sometimes. If there was a delete button on here then I would’ve used it; I just have a bit of a problem when it comes to not reacting to people having a go, whether that’s online or in person or whatever. “Rising above it” is dangerously close to “Sitting and politely taking abuse”. But that’s the end of it now.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      No, rising above it isn’t taking abuse politely, but debating and discussing without resorting to things like ‘Your face is a straight-up joke. Stop being an internet hard man, idiot. No-one thinks you’re cool’.

      I reference B.net and 343 simply because they’re useful references on this site. I know there can be idiots, but we’re all striving to be better people and I want to see people at least being civil in this little corner of the interwebs.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Yeah I know. If there was a delete/edit button, it would’ve been used not long after my initial post and it would’ve been re-written with a great deal more humour in a more relaxed manner. But there isn’t a delete/edit button. But hey, all done now. 😕

  11. markf says:

    I got my 200 multi kills playing strictly swat already. It’s easy peasy.

    • Rossco says:

      U musta played a crap load of swat. Cause I only played 3 rounnds of swat this week and I got maybe 2 multikills in 3 rounds. Grifball I’m getting like 10 or more a round.

  12. J says:

    I went +51 in a Griffball Game today lol

  13. André says:

    +25 twice in a row in team swat. Team of warrant officers. Almost halfway on the weekly, might play towards it later. Haven’t played much matchmaking this week.

Leave a Reply

