1st February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

You may have seen the blog post from Bungie yesterday. 343 will be taking over EVERYTHING Halo related that they haven’t yet from 31st March. Bungie.net will still be active, certainly for historic data, but halo.xbox.com will be the singular hub for it all going forward from that date.

And I haven’t seen any announcements about why we only have 3 challenges today. Bug? Feature? Glitch? Planned? Only time will tell…

Time has told, and there’s a new fourth challenge. For a short time there was a different third one, but I guess they decided to stick with If It Bleeds.

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  2. Supporting Role – Earn 20 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  3. If It Bleeds… – Find and kill the Gold Range-class Elite in any Campaign mission on Normal or harder – 5000 cR
  4. A Side of Huevos – Kill 40 enemies with Sniper Rifle headshots in Nightfall on Normal – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

As ever, Grifball, and you’ll get this in a game or two. Try and get at least one buddy to hold the bomb whilst you play for kills (and vengeance), or hold the bomb yourself and pick off the other team as they come at you with hammers.

Supporting Role – Earn 20 assists in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Been over half a year since we’ve seen this, and the credit return hasn’t been increased for it. Any of the Matchmaking variants will work well here, particularly Rocketfight or Sniperfight. If you can buddy up to do this (ie Firefight Doubles) you’ll get it quicker rather than just playing and hoping, plus you can reciprocate to the other person too. Don’t forget an assist is 40% or more damage to an enemy that is killed within 4 seconds by someone else.

If It Bleeds… – Find and kill the Gold Range-class Elite in any Campaign mission on Normal or harder – 5000 cR

Your best bet is Winter Contingency from Rally Point Alpha. Follow this excellent guide to find the Gold Elite on all levels, or this comment from MJOLNIR Tester previously about finding him quickly on WC. We’ve also had lots of discussion on one particular Gold Ranger in New Alexandria.

A Side of Huevos – Kill 40 enemies with Sniper Rifle headshots in Nightfall on Normal – 3000 cR

You get 50 something bullets, so just go through and headshot everything you can. There is a checkpoint trick you can use to get this quickly, get a checkpoint trigger just behind the first Elite, headshot him, then reset the checkpoint, rinse and repeat. Note it is only the Sniper Rifle you can use to get the challenge, and it has to be a headshot. I played through to the end of the first camp (before the big creatures), then restarted the mission and got everything next time around. Don’t forget that Grunt’s heads are slightly lower than the tanks on their backs and forward.

31 Responses to 1st February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. My Little Housing Blog says:

    The golden elite I will take at Sword Base today, I think.

    • TheOneInYellow says:

      Yep, did this on Sword Point Rally Point Bravo. Unfortunately, the first fake BOB (white) was not outside (when you return to Sword Base, before the going inside the complex and facing the Hunters), but I knew that he would definitely be inside Sword Base instead. 😀

  2. Tim says:

    How come the same challenge two days in a row and what’s up with there being three challenges today really weird

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      It’s not exactly the same. This is Normal or higher. Yesterday was Heroic or higher. Personally, I’m glad because this is an easy 5000 cR.

  3. TheOneInYellow says:

    Not really bothered about the Assist challenge, but the other two were ultra easy. ^_^

    It is strange, however, that there are only three daily challenges today…hmm…. :s

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      You know you LOVE getting Assists in Firefight. Not that anyone you know would ever shoot you between waves. We would never do that. 😉

    • Dan says:

      Playing arcade again – 4 players – I remembered why I stopped in favour of score attack – the HORRILBE LAG. It’s so bad, so many skipped frames. It’s the only commendation I don’t increase anymore.

      Also I don’t want to see anymore grifball, not after doing the weekly. Today grifball was nothing but fast scoring and betraying.

  4. Psychlone 11 says:

    Do you think it’ll be something like this…

    3 – Challenges Today
    4 – Challenges Tomorrow
    3 – Challenges on Friday

    Then, maybe some amazing credits on Saturday, like all relating to 343? That’s my personal hope…Because, if it’s moved down to three challenges a day; it’s really going to take me longer to get to Inheritor! Haha…

    • TheOneInYellow says:

      Not really, depends on how you play. If you play with friends on Reach MM a lot (either your own friends or from this blog), then you can easily obtain credits, which would generally be higher than daily challenge credit payouts combined. However, the challenges can boost if the payout, and relative difficulty, are worth it.

      Try and go for the weekly challenges over the daily ones as priority, but don’t try and complete daily challenges that are not fun for you, are overly difficult/time consuming, or have low payouts (or worse, a combination of these factors). To make up for any missed challenge payout, play a few MM or Firefight matches.

      This does not count to those who are trying to complete challenges for completing challenges (I don’t know if any really has completed every challenge), or are trying to achieve a specific goal(s).

  5. Quinn says:

    While I have some interest in If it Bleeds, I’m not sure if I am going to manage to get the time to do it. Darn that school, giving me better chances of success in the future, but keeping me away from Halo now.

  6. Matt says:

    I always do BOB Challenges on Winter Contingency, Rally Point Alpha. I bear right when driving the Spade all the way down to the river front; this covers 2 out of 3 spawn points for the BOB without the time-wasting detour to the building where you drive through the covered walkway. If I don’t get it I “Restart Mission” which just kicks me back to RP Alpha and I do it again. Never takes me more than 3-4 minutes to do this type of challenge with a splatter kill.

  7. Rossco says:

    343 must be getting lazy with only 3 challenges today and one of them being basically the same as one of yesterdays challenges. I wish I had the job of whoever creates the challenges cause it would take like 10 mins of work. They can’t even come up with a 4th challenge that’s pathetic.

  8. Dan says:

    Custom Challenges aren’t working on 343 right now, I bet this isn’t a coincidence. 3 Daily challenges and the easy custom option, clearly people have been making credits too easy recently and they are taking control. Either that or server is down. At first I thought it said 50 enemies in firefight. So sad. I’m tired of Grifball, mainly because I spent 15 hours collectively Monday and Tuesday to get the weekly challenge but I suppose another 50 kills won’t be too difficult. Firefight assists just means spamming the grenade launcher, even if you don’t play with friends it adds up easily and nobody will complain that you don’t kill anything. And another BOB. I wanted to set some custom challenges to double the money I’d make today but I guess that’s not going to happen. If there is nobody to play with today I might just do the challenges and pack it in for the day.

  9. Dan says:

    Ahh my avatar on 343 has turned back to recruit. 😦 That’s just great, so the servers are down which means I won’t get onto live to get those challenges done, except for the bob. typical.

  10. Micah (SpartanM914) says:

    Does anyone else use the ONI Target Designator cR boosting technique? If so, do you ever have problems where when you go to revert to the previous checkpoint it restarts the level for you? Any idea why this occurs? I’ve had it do that at night and then not do it the following morning.

    • Scruff 815 says:

      5 deaths in a row in a short space of time will do that.

      But don’t use that technique at the moment. People started getting banned for it this weekend.

      • Matt says:

        Really? I thought the previously announced policy was that CR farming that didn’t ruin the game for anyone else (via for example AFKing. hiding, network manipulation) was OK.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        It was. I’ve used the Target Designator a few times so it’s not like I’m complaining from a moral stance or whatever.

        343 are allegedly investigating as to why people are getting banned for it, but they ARE getting banned for it. You continue to do it at your own risk, although it seems that not hitting the credit cap will help. So aim to get 180,000 cR rather than 200,000 and you MIGHT be ok.

      • André says:

        So its 200k now?! Nice! A shame about the bans. That would suck, I’m at eclipse now. I usually do TL for 50k each day but it’s been a week since last time I bothered. I might just quit it and just play firefight and swat.

  11. Phil (GT feeblestud) says:

    I can’t get on my Xbox right now, but bungie.net says these are the daily challenges:

    Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000cR

    Suppoting Role – Earn 20 assists in Firefight Matchmaking. – 1500cR

    If It Bleeds… – Find and kill the Gold Range-class Elite in any
    Campaign mission on Normal or harder. – 5343cR

    A Side of Huevos – Kill 40 enemies with Sniper Rifle headshots in
    Nightfall on Normal. – 3000cR

    Is this now the listing on Xbox Live, too?

    And, yes, it really does say “Range-class” on the web site. 🙂

  12. Paul says:

    I guess we won’t see “Clip it Share It” or “Link up with Bungie.net” from 1st April then. Anyone think of other challenges not likely to appear again?

    As long as they speed up the performance of Waypoint web site….

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      There’s no reason that they wouldn’t have Clip It Share It again. It has absolutely nothing to do with bungie.net. You can’t even do it from there. It has to be in-game.

  13. Nancy says:

    Hi Everyone,
    Finally got to my inheritor level and now what????
    Doesn’t seem exciting any longer not working for something.
    Was hoping they would have more levels but right now I guess I’m all through.
    This doesn’t mean that I’m that good but very determined, and seems to show I have no life but I do this every night after everything else is done and stay up late.
    If anyone knows of anything about more levels, please let me know.

    • Dan says:

      Max your commendations next. There is only one person I know to have done this. Cloudspider. Good luck getting 8000 flawless, deathless rounds of firefight!

      I’ve only got 332, once I reach Silver I’m not going to bother trying to increase it. Same with Grounded once it hits Silver.

    • Dogmeat says:

      Congrats! I got to the Inheritor rank last November and have PLENTY left to enjoy in this game in spite of earning any credits being pointless now. I am currently working on getting to 98% commendations, trying to improve my matchmaking k/d ratio, enjoying the anniversary map pack matches, hoping to snag my last 3 defiant achievements, playing with friends, completing every weekly challenge since the game was released, and creating something in forge that I hope will be unlike anything anyone has attempted before,

    • Scruff 815 says:

      I hear there’s a new level called “FUN” that you might want to investigate.

      In all seriousness, there aren’t going to be any more levels. You’re gonna have to wait for Halo 4 if you’re that bothered about ranking up.

  14. Dan says:

    Firefight day is tomorrow and I hope 343 doesn’t mess with the tradition of 4 FF challenges. 🙂

    Yesterday the golden ranger challenge I got using WC alpha. Today it wouldn’t work so I went back to my usual at package alpha and went east of the garage, up the ramp to the jackals. He’s there most of the time. He is also inside sword base just after the elite general with the concussion rifle, where the switch is to go down to the excavation site there is a BOB. Very hard to get to in time. Best option is plasma pistol and shotgun.

  15. Pissed Off says:

    Man I must have spent 3 hours today trying to get the If It Bleeds challenge done. I tried everything people have suggested, and I’m pretty sure I’ve found him and killed him multiple times but it doesn’t award me with the challenge. The spots people say he will show up, he shows up and I kill him but I don’t get any award.

    What a thorough disappointment

    • Nancy says:

      Welcome to my world!
      I have problems like these right along and no one does anything to help.
      I kept making my challenges and not getting credit for a lot of them.
      Sometimes it says challenge was made but never got credit.
      I was told that sometimes it doesn’t say but it gives you the credit but I don’t think I did.
      It was really maddening when I killed myself for the weekly challenge to get it done in time and when it came time for the credits, it did not give them to me. I lost over 30,000 credits alone for that one.
      Then one time I was almost finished with the daily challenges and weekly and just before I got finished doing them, I was banned for credits because my daily credits were met. That really got to me.
      Always says challenge met but sometimes forgets to list them! I really don’t think so!
      Then because I through a grenade sometimes and my team mate sprints by me and catches it, I get banned for 10 min due to the fact that I was quitting. This is supposed to count as a quit.
      I never quit just for that reason and get thrown off anyway.
      I had to kill the elite a couple of times to get the credit for it also.
      Too many do’s and donts in this game. They are trying to keep people from cheating but it hurts the ones that don’t. They will cheat some how if they want to but the only ones it hurts are us.
      I still liked Halo 2 online the best.
      Wish they would have made a Halo 2 throwback for xbox 360.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Consoles don’t pick and choose people to lie to. They are not artificially intelligent.

Leave a Reply

