2nd February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Happy Groundhog Day folks. Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow this morning, so it’s 6 more weeks of winter. Hurrah.

Playing Saints Row all I’m thinking is ‘this is GTA 3/VC with the ridiculousness cranked up to 11’. It’s good fun, but so far not much new. I oversaturated myself playing particularly those two GTA games so we’ll see how long I last doing something still very similar.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR
  2. Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2343 cR
  3. A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  4. A Heroic Breach – Kill 100 enemies on Corvette on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2343 cR

Key to point out is you must destroy the vehicle, not the driver first. You’re better off using something explosive (Spartan Laser, Plasma Launcher). The Anniversary Firefight map, Installation 04, seems pretty good for Banshees, they appear pretty often. The best options outside of that are below.

  • Score Attack – On Holdout you get Banshees in the rounds. If you can keep a Grunt alive at the end of a wave for a long time you have a higher chance of getting them to come out again and again. They don’t tend to appear when it’s raining
  • Firefight Doubles – Especially Beachhead, where vehicles are usually dropped at the beginning and end of each round, you can decide who gets to take them out and work on it (plus great for working on assists)

A Simple Spree – Earn any spree in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Sprees cover a lot of options, 5 kills with Shotguns, Sniper Rifle, Plasma Grenade sticks, Swords… and so on. Frankly, 10 kills with anything gets you a spree, so just do that and you’ve got a very easy 2000 credits, perhaps a quick visit to Crashsite/Generator Defence just to do it in a minute or two.

A Heroic Breach – Kill 100 enemies on Corvette on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

So Gruntpocalypse or 2X Score Attack, use the platform to the left as you move from the spawn chamber and snipe the Grunts as they come towards you. Then use the corridor to funnel them if they get too much. Take out guys with the Fuel Rod Cannon, Plasma Launcher and overcharged Plasma Pistol first, and watch for Grenades. This is 7-10 mins max.

25 Responses to 2nd February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Gil says:

    It must be one of those weekends as I got ~16000CR from the slot machine in Team Swat about 5 hours ago.

  2. Lord Kinbote says:

    Ooh, I HATE Flat Tire.

  3. psycho013 says:

    Hey guys. I’m a big fan of this site and it’s helped me immensely as I’ve tried on and off to rank up (still just a Corporal Grade 3), but I wanted to try contributing as well.
    For Flat Tire, you can wait until someone is manning the turret, and then take out the turret for one vehicle kill. I found this out while downing Banshees on Installation 4 today.
    I haven’t seen it mentioned here before in the main post, so I apologize if it’s been covered.

    • TheOneInYellow says:

      I shall be testing this out, as it is news to me. 😮

      • Braythor says:

        Yes, it does count, it’s something I do regularly, and I’ve mentioned it on here before, but it’s certainly worth mentioning again. It also suffers from the same issue as killing the pilot in the banshee, and so it’s best to use something like the spartan laser or rockets. Another option is to leave it until the brutes spawn, as they man it too and as they’re a bit tougher than the grunts, you’re more likely to be able to destroy the turret first. Finally, if you’re quick enough, you can spawn next to it, switch to a plasma grenade, and stick the turret (NOT the covvie using it) before the grunt/brute lets go and turns to attack you. Doesn’t always work though.

      • PEM1989 says:

        Make sure you shoot the turret, and not the Covenant enemy. The enemy itself, doe not have to die. Remember, it’s the enemy occupied vehicles you are “killing”.
        This is why destroying a vehicle on 2x score attack rarely works. You end up killing the Covenant before the vehicle.

  4. Rossco says:

    Best levels for vehicle kills in FF is outpost, holdout and beachead. The rest of the maps u may see a wraith or two but I personally prefer the ones I mentioned cause u will always c 3 or more. Beachead I was able to dismantle 8 vehicles one time in a round. Everyone seems to hate beachead though, not sure why cause I find it to be a lot of fun.

  5. ultimatevyse69 says:

    I don’t know if it’s a fix, a glitch or what, but when I was on Score Attack on Installation 04 this morning, the Banshees I destroyed didn’t count towards Flat Tire. Thought I’d mention it in case anyone else has had a similar problem.

    • LiTiNuP says:

      Banshees don’t have tires….. Lmao. J/k

    • Peggy Peggy says:

      How did you destroy them? As stated above you needed to destroy the vehicle before the driver so to speak.
      I personally use the Sniper on Installation 04 on FF Arcade, as everyone else is running around spamming FRG/Rockets and two or three sniper shots will destroy the Banshee!

      • ultimatevyse69 says:

        With the Sniper Rifle. That’s the only weapon I use to take out vehicles, rockets and FRG I find too slow from a distance.

      • Braythor says:

        If you want to take out the banshee in score attack with the sniper rifle and have it class as a vehicle kill, you should aim for the wings, making sure you’re not firing side-on at it. The spartan laser is a better choice of weapon, I find. If it drops…

  6. LiTiNuP says:

    Maaan. People are so greedy with the vehicle kills.

    • André says:

      That’s why I play score attack.

      • LiTiNuP says:

        Yeah, will have to now. I just had to leave a match. Partner kept shooting me with the fuel rod gun. Blowing the ghost up when I got into it. Taking my wraith kills. People suck, lol.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        Betray them by running them over with a vehicle. It’s always, always funny 😀

        Failing that, do what I do and get really angry and spend the rest of the game following them around making life hard for them… 😉

  7. Rossco says:

    Is installation 04 a new map or apart of some sort of map pack. I have never played it before nor heard of it until today.

  8. MJOLNIR Tester says:

    Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 2343 cR

    Firefight Doubles -> Arcadefight on Holdout will give you FIVE Banshees every time. Two or three shots with a Sniper Rifle will take them down. With Arcadefight you have INFINITE lives and INFINITE ammo. Two games of Arcadefight will give you 10 Banshee kills.

    If my son is available to play he usually chooses the Jetpack/FRG loadout while I use the Active Camo/Sniper Rifle loadout. He keeps the Covenant busy while I snipe and wait for the Banshees to show up. When Phantoms come in with reinforcements I use the Sniper Rifle to remove the Concussion Gun from the chins of the Phantoms so they don’t shoot at us.

    If my son is not available I use a second controller signed in as Guest. I switch my DRG secondary weapon for a FRG to take out the Covenant while waiting for the Banshees. Even when playing Arcadefight by myself I always get 5 Banshees per game on Holdout, thanks to infinite lives.

  9. J says:

    You can get firefight challenges with a guest? I hate trying to fight with my partner for getting the vehicle kill. My partners will get all 5 some times I feel like killing myself lol

    • psycho013 says:

      Try playing Score Attack. You’ll have the map and all the enemies to yourself. There will be fewer per game, though.

  10. Dan says:

    So basically 3 out of 4 challenges can be done on 1 game of corvette. Nice, I already did them this morning I just thought I’d put this out there. For flat tire either go for beachhead in arcade, or try and find sniper attack in score attack and either go for holdout or installation 04. Banshees are common on both and spawn just as often. They don’t count as vehicle kills if killed in 2x score attack/fiesta attack. First game of installation 04 I did gruntpoc and killed 3 banshees with a plasma launcher. A game of sniper attack on same map got it up to 8, and finally a game of sniper attack on holdout. I also discovered here that the grunt turret counted. I shall be looking out for this. If you can manage it without dying on beachhead let an elite hijack you while you are driving a ghost, then if you don’t die, or if you do, blow it up and it counts as a vehicle kill. Last time this challenge was up last week it was kill 5 vehicles, the 5th was the above method, though I died and was just in time to kill it before another sniper.

  11. Dan says:

    I just read the feb update, and the best thing so far is that friendly fire in infection is now OFF!!! No more will I as a zombie get bitten by another zombie! And as well no human will go on a betrayal spree. And sword base is gone from infection too. Man I loved the map radiant on grifball, it was never slow for me. Now we’re back to the same boring looking maps again.

  12. clutch1965 says:

    2 x score attack on corvette and 3 challenges done, + 1 flat tire. As stated beach head and holdout in arcade mode, with the sniper load out in ff doubles seems the best route for vehicle kills.
    p.s. thank you Matthew and all the other contributors to this great site.

Leave a Reply

