3rd February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Some interesting news in the latest Halo bulletin. Friendly Fire turned off in Infection is excellent. New Action Sack game type ‘Team Hotshot’ sounds intriguing, you get more powerful (damage is multiplied) but slower (speed is reduced) as you mount up a kill streak.

There’s also an indication that nameplates won’t work when the transition to 343 is done at the end of March. Whether it means you just can’t change or you’ll only be able to use B.net yet I don’t know. Increasing the file share size to 24 is good stuff though.

Custom challenge of the week is anything with Catch. The technical detail is ‘ from now until next Tuesday at 11:59 p.m. Pacific Time, setting up a Custom Challenge with Catch and then turning that skull on in-game will result in three times the usual multiplier. Please note that when you set Skulls as a Constraint, you must activate ONLY those skulls for games to count. No more, no less. ‘

Anyway, today’s challenges are:

  1. More than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. Now I have a Machine Gun – Earn 77 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 4400 cR
  3. Fourth Horseman – Earn 5 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2500 cR
  4. Three Dog Fight – Earn a Triple Kill in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

More than a Handful – Kill 25 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Multi Team Battle or Grifball are the best ways to get lots and lots of kills, you tend to get more than any other modes. If you play Crazy King or Oddball you can get even more as some people who would shoot you go for the objective, and you can take them out. If you can make an area in an Infection game defensible as a human you can rack up kills quickly.

Now I have a Machine Gun – Earn 77 kills with automatic weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 4400 cR

Your multiplayer automatic weapons are the Assault Rifle, Needler, Plasma Repeater and Plasma Rifle. I’d recommend Team Slayer in Elite Slayer, so that you can use the Needler to take guys out. Rumble Pit can be really helpful too running around blazing the AR, but it’s tempting to pick up other weapons.

Fourth Horseman – Earn 5 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2500 cR

There are so many options for multikills – Team SWAT and Grifball are probably the best in my opinion. But any mode you’re good at will work – Squad Slayer because people cluster in it. Juggernaut (if you can get it) is really good for it. Don’t forget that multikills stack, so 4 kills in a few seconds counts as the double, triple and over kill, and you’re almost there!

Three Dog Fight – Earn a Triple Kill in Multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Multi-Team, Grifball and Team SWAT usually yield a good chance for multikills. Rumble Pit, particularly Juggernaut, is also an excellent place to do it in. Probably Grifball works best for you here, since it’s a massive melee with one hit kills for the most part.

22 Responses to 3rd February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. They turned off Infection Friendly Fire? Yesssssssssss

  2. robert p says:

    Sounds interesting enough to keep me playing..hit the weekly last night and racked up over 50,000 credits in less than an hour..woohoo!

    • Fazzy06 says:

      I am completely new at setting up custom FF challenges or whatever (and have playing H:R for a long time) but am interested if anyone on here is a pro at setting them up.

      Apparently you can get a ton of credits that way? If anyone wants to play and can set them up easily, please add me! Not trying to sound like a douche but I’m a pretty decent player so if anyone wants to add me, play customs or go into team slayer or arena, def hit me up.

      GT: Fazzy06

  3. Dogmeat says:

    Most of the February update sounds positive. I am not looking forward to the TU infecting Rumble Pit, though. Getting shot with 3-4 assault rifle rounds followed by a pummel and dying from it is not my idea of fun.

    I’m also going to be playing Breakneck from now until 2/7 just shy of going cross-eyed. I will miss the banshee on that map. The revenant replacing it won’t be nearly as useful with everyone running around on the upper levels of the buildings! 😦

    • Dogmeat says:

      I worked hard to earn my star nameplate through the Bungie All-Star competition. I don’t care that anyone can get it through the Bungie phone app. I wear my nameplate with pride. It makes me wonder whether Bungie knew 343i would be throwing support of those away eventually and decided to let as many players have nameplates as possible until then. 😦

      How are we supposed to convert our recorded gameplay (or forge stuff like the rube goldberg creations we see, for example) to video now? Will we have to resort to a video capture device? Better use those rendering minutes before the end of March! I also now have an impending deadline to turn my idea in forge into a reality.

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        I’m not a big fan of the damage bleed-through. TU settings are really good except for that, especially the reduced bloom.

      • Fazzy06 says:

        Ya Dogmeat, how did you get that star nameplate? Never noticed an announcement about anything with those

      • Dogmeat says:

        Agreed, sensory. Remove the bleed through, and I have no issue with it.

        Fazzy, you can unlock the star nameplate thorough the Bungie mobile app. Then go to your Bungie.net account and change the nameplate to whatever you have available in your list. What you have played in the past (Halo 2, Halo 3, etc.) will determine which ones show up for you to choose.

  4. DaRoflBandit says:

    Hey all, can anyone tell me why the custom challenges don’t seem to be working right now? I set some up, turned them in and when the challenge would have expired if I hadn’t turned it in and when I was supposed to get my credits, I never got any. I made another challenge as well, and completed it and did not turn it in, but I didn’t get credits either. Anyone else having the same problem?

    • Fazzy06 says:

      Hmm, that’s weird. You play custom challenges a lot? I have no idea how to set them up so if you have a lot of success with em, we should party up. Add me.

      GT: Fazzy06

  5. Gran Calabaza says:

    It’s done! Now I’ve got the Haunted Helmet… at last! =) And I’m hungry… I’d love 1 big pizza, pasta and 1 bottle of red wine…

    • Dogmeat says:

      Congrats, gran! And 91% commendation progress is nothing to sneeze at either!

      Did you forego eating for a length of time to work on that last final “push” to the Inheritor rank? That seems like a lot of food and drink for one meal! 😉

      • Gran Calabaza says:

        Thanks Dogmeat!
        I was hungry not because of the last final push, but that’s what I use to eat and drink with some friends, plus 2 or 3 tacos 🙂 (I don’t like to talk about food because I get hungry again, like now… damn!)

  6. Scruff 815 says:

    Question about the Catch thing – is the maximum Campaign Custom Challenge payout still 5,000? Or is it now bumped to 15,000? If it’s 5,000 that’s pretty stupid because you can hit the requirements for a 5,000 challenge very, very easily. 😕

  7. J says:

    More than A Handful – Grifball
    Now I have a Machine Gun – Multi Team (Alot better than Team Slayer imo)
    Fourth Horseman – Grifball
    Three Dog Fight – Grifball

  8. Dan says:

    I don’t play MM as much as campaign or firefight, and I generally try to keep myself far away from my targets unless I’m going to blow their ass away with the shotgun so I don’t have much experience with bleed, but from what I read it sounds retarded.

    I decided to take today off after yesterday’s firefight-a-thon. Set up custom challenges to go in tandem with normal challenges. My brother is a King of TS, he loves it and he cleans up very nicely, I don’t so much, I prefer larger teams.

    I wonder when I see people of particular high rank, do you stop trying to max grounded and perfectionist or support role? The commendations that require serious farming or boosting to max quicky, otherwise take forever (in my case), I know their max, 8000 for perfectionist, its ridiculous. I can’t imagine trying to max that and grounded, everything else seems like a cake walk compared.

    • Dogmeat says:

      Bleed through will ruin your day at any distance! A head shot on a person with a little shield left will kill him now instead of “popping” his shield first.

      I plan on getting to gold for those two firefight commendations (should take an entire month by my calculations) and forget about onyxing them. I also only am worrying about getting the two vehicle-related, mp matchmaking commendations to gold.

  9. André says:

    Arena is long time since I played. Good for Assault Rifle kills at least on my last game, 14 kills with it 🙂

    • André says:

      Oh and if anyone found out if it’s safe to use custom challenges please let me know.

      • André says:

        Rumble Pit is easier unless they vote for pro like my last 3-4 games. Back to arena then I guess.

Leave a Reply

