5th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Beer, layers and a surprisingly exciting match were all very useful against the cold yesterday. We lost, but against one of the best teams in the league so the performance against them was very heartening given the Broncos are essentially a new squad this year.

I don’t think I’ve elaborated it in the past here, so to explain the rugby connection this season… now I live near(ish) to the London Broncos ground in Twickenham I’ve bought myself a season ticket for them. I’m still a Wigan RLFC supporter, but given it’s a 400 mile round trip to Wigan and back (and they play at 8pm on Fridays so I need to leave work early afternoon), seeing the Broncos is a better alternative for me. Plus the cheapness of the season ticket or game day tickets (depending on the match it’s only £10-£15 to get in) makes it very worthwhile.

And BJ2603 you might be jealous that our league is starting now, but I’ll be jealous when I watch the top NRL matches, some of the quality is outstanding!

Anyway, today’s challenges today are:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. Participation Counts – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2400 cR
  3. J.H. Death Machine -Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Grenade Launcher – 2000 cR
  4. Triple Thrill – Earn any 3 Sprees in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack, 120-135 in 2X SA, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). If you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense. I reckon that two 2x Score Attacks should just about get you this (and the other challenges).

Participation Counts – Complete 4 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2400 cR

Complete 4 games. Don’t drop out. Get to the end of each. Just play through them. Doesn’t matter if you win or lose. Sorry, I can’t drag out this explanation any further. Is there a way of doing this quickly? Infection is a very fast game type so you’ll probably get it done in 10 minutes using that, or Grifball if you want to just go after the bomb score.

J.H. Death Machine -Kill 40 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking with the Grenade Launcher – 2000 cR

Score Attack for this one. One of the loadouts is the Grenade Launcher, so grab that and go nuts. The waves are Grunts, Jackals, Brutes, Skirmishers and finally Elites.

Triple Thrill – Earn any 3 Sprees in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

This should apply to any spree, not just kills. So you can get sprees using:

  • Hammer
  • Shotgun
  • Sniper Rifle
  • Plasma Grenade sticks
  • Sword
  • Vehicles (two here – kills in vehicle where you do the killing, and kills as driver with passenger killing)
  • Spartan Laser
  • Assists
  • Some for specific variants of Juggernaut, Invasion and Infection

See the list on Halopedia for everything. What’s easiest to get? Well trying to get 5 kills with a Hammer, Sword or Shotgun nets you two straight away. Through in some Grenade sticks and you’ll be there. Vehicles might be another easy way to do it in Invasion, team up with someone so you can work on your assist levels too. Grifball of course is a good one if you can get your Hammering eye in and take out a load of guys in a row. And although I’ve not tried it everyone says that Infection is really good if you can Shotgun 5 zombies that’s your three sprees done (shotgun, zombie and killing).

14 Responses to 5th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Rossco says:

    Well I won’t be on to partake in todays challenges. I was able to officially complete halo on legendary alone yesterday wahoo

  2. SensoryFour34 says:

    Am I the only one who sees a problem with 400 enemies in Firefight for only 200 cR?

  3. clutch1965 says:

    For the J.H. Death machine, 2 x score attack on outpost ( ? the map where pilllar of autum is fought ) on the main level if you stay to the left side you can angle and bank grenades out the
    door while not being visible to enemies. FF Doubles will give you 150 – 200 kills or so per game.
    Of course 2x did not appear as an option on that map today and I played normal score attack. Calling the grenade launcher a death machine is a joke, it should be called the assist machine.

    • Dogmeat says:

      Yes, Holdout is good since it is a smaller map. Work on your aim with the grenade launcher, and it’ll be deadly enough! 🙂 Try bouncing the grenade off of the ground so that it ricochets into your target. It will devastatingly explode upon impact.

  4. Flacksguy says:

    Nothing for me today, it’s Super Bowl Sunday here in the US, and the game is much more interesting when your team is in it.
    Hoping to be celebrating a New York Giants victory in about 8 hrs.

    • Tim says:

      Go Giants I’m from New York as well they are ganna win for sure

    • BJ2603 says:

      Congrats Flacks and Tim on an NY win! It’s Monday here in Aus so I’ve been stuck at work, but I’ve heard It was right down to the wire.

      • Flacksguy says:

        Thanks BJ,
        Yes another stressful ending, but a good one. It’s not often you get to celebrate a championship by your team, so it is very sweet when it does happen.

  5. BJ2603 says:

    Shout out in the write up!? Woot! 😉 im fair certain Wigan had a few of my storm boys playing for them last year, hopefully Leeds smack Manly about in the club challenge!

  6. Dan says:

    Does anybody else feel that the weekly challenges are now ONLY LASO’s and multiplayer matchmaking? It’s been SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO long since I saw ride the wave, a good firefight grind. I’ve completed Endure the Return twice now, and then there was the coop dash, and before that was ONI Laso. I’m getting sick and tired of the multiplayer weeklies. I want to play the campaign weekly, and a ride the wave type (150-200 waves). Ever since I maxed out the 5 easiest firefight commendations I haven’t been tempted to play arcade firefight, I just do score attack to get harder commendations up – automatic weps, small arms, vehicles – I want a reason to go back to some arcade and get my perfectionist up faster. And assists, damn assists I need 700 to Onyx. Weekly challenges of 200 multikills, 500+ enemies, so on and so forth, I just hop into grifball for afew days and get them, then don’t want to see another hammer or sword in MM for a while.

    While last time I did campaign I had Blind on I found strangely enough I died alot less than if I could see the Hud.

Leave a Reply

