8th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

I’m discovering a few good bugs in Saints Row. I couldn’t play one Genki mission (which are good fun) because the screen was covered with a big red cross. Then when roaming the world the multi kill metre wouldn’t disappear from my screen, which did give me double bonuses when I got a multi kill so I didn’t mind! And for some reason the Y button stopped responding so I couldn’t take down Brutes or use body shields.

Other than that though it’s still fun. Far too derivative of GTA to make me adore it, but it’s silly enough to be worth playing through. And it has good mechanics for finding hidden collectibles, something Assassin’s Creed (and the GTA games I’ve played) could well do with!

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 2800 cR
  3. L.D. Solace – Complete Long Night of Solace, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt, and Tough Luck on – 8500 cR
  4. Put Your Quarter Up – Complete 10 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR

If you’re going for just this challenge you’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Demon – Kill 40 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 2800 cR

A lot of the unusual solo Firefight MM variants give around 25 Elites these days – 2X, Fiesta etc. Firefight Doubles might well be a good way to go here if you pick Arcadefight on a map you both like, although I’m not sure if that’ll give you 100 Elites to split. So as above, do 2x score attack twice and you should get this.

L.D. Solace – Complete Long Night of Solace, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt, and Tough Luck on – 8500 cR

The best advice I can give is to re-read Tyrant’s guide to doing it Mythic, as this is very similar to that, and all the advice when we saw this as a LASO challenge.

Put Your Quarter Up – Complete 10 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Complete these games. Don’t drop out. Get to the end of each. Just play through them. Doesn’t matter if you win or lose. Sorry, I can’t drag out this explanation any further. Is there a way of doing this quickly? Grifball can be very quick depending on if someone goes for the score straight away! Halo Ball can be quick, as can Infection, but Infection these days often lasts a while as Humans camp.

17 Responses to 8th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. André says:

    Good luck on L.D. Solace! I’m on last checkpoint and it’s really tough (Mythic).

    • André says:

      I give up this is a stupidly hard checkpoint.

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        Is it at the end, where you have to defend the pelican? If so, then put up a drop shield near the right side of the pelicans gun, crouch, and keep pressing X. You will eventually do INSIDE the gun itself! you will be able to shoot it at enemies (It is a copy of the falcons main gun in campaign) and you are invulnerable to all damage! (unless you get out, then it will disappear) When you first get in it, you can’t see much (Your view is blocked by the main gun ) but the gun in front of you will go away when it takes enough damage (Which will happen quickly on mythic), and even though it disappears, you can still fire it and kill things! Hope this helps 😀

      • André says:

        I know but I never got that working. I assassinate them all! I will try later though, I have the drop shield.

      • André says:

        It took a few tries but I managed to Assassinate them all in 2-3minutes. That might be easier considering my bad checkpoint I try to do the glitch and get shot down or melee’d. I use Recon button configuration so that might be the problem. Though I’m sure Ive tried RS button to try glitch through.

  2. Scruff 815 says:

    Personally the Campaign challenge isn’t worth it for me – the amount of credits I can get for a MM/FF game far outweigh the effort/credit reward on this one, and I’ve got no commendations to increase any more.

    However, it’s nice to see that they’re finally offering a relatively decent amount of credits for those who do like to do these challenges 🙂

  3. Tim says:

    What’s up every1 completed the three dailys and weekly wasn’t about to kill myself on L.D Solace so decided to do team slayer for the 50,000 cr and just now got 33,000 on jackpot slayer aint my thing but easy jackpot here hit me up profile stormbootz if any1 wanna get a game in

  4. Dan says:

    Been getting back into arcade firefight, not just becaues of the weekly – I finished that on monday, but it’s alot more fun than score attack, and I’m getting my assists closer to onyx. Funny thing today, I see it all the time, when the game starts up someone usually kills themselves, usually with the rockets then chooses jetpack to have double heavy. I noticed I got another vote for unsupporting conduct today and it was because as soon as the game started he killed himself, i was watching him. So I took his rockets because lets face it – he chose the wrong loadout and wanted the FRG instead. Then the next 5 minutes it’s him shooting me in the back until he quits.

    I wanted to stack the deck afew times in arcade, I would blow myself up at the start and what happens? someone comes and takes the weapon you wanted to have. Usually rockets. This guy really took it personally. It’s not like I had the rockets and frg, I swapped the FRG for the rockets. Needler and rockets ftw.

    I would love to attempt these LD’s but they’re so damn hard. I could do it if the no death requirement wasn’t there. I don’t want to do the old save and quit, reload last checkpoint.

    • clutch1965 says:

      Dan, He did not pick the wrong loadout. He intentionally did that to have both weapons and or
      armor ability. While funny you swooped his weapon, you have to admit it is kind of a dick move.
      I also would attempt more legendary campaigns except for the damn iron skull. Happy gaming.

      • Dan says:

        Oh I know he meant for the double heavy weapons, and I really hate it when people do that, jeeze are they in THAT much of a rush to reach Inheritor? Besides I’ve done the same and they take my rockets. If you’re going to blast yourself at the beginning of the game so you have 2x the power, at least do it in an area that ISN’T a spawning room. That guy was asking for it practically. Yesterday I was on holdout and at the very start someone did that, I didn’t bother with his weps as I was already using a RL, but someone else merely went up to his corpse, took his weapons, and tbagged him. If you do it in plain sight BEFORE people are out of the room expect that to happen.

  5. André says:

    Assists to onyx you’re crazy! lol

    L.D. and SLASO takes patience keep at it if you want the challenge and keep a backup file afterwards 🙂 But yea the endless loading screens is discouraging.

    • Dan says:

      No man crazy is trying to max perfectionist and grounded. And Riflin’ Through. 32000 automatic weps. >.< I've got a little more than 500 assists before it hits onyx. Just hit Legend tonight. It was worth the grinding at the end for the last 200k.

      LASO or mini Laso missions are a pain in the ass. If I could still get the challenge and die as many times as I wanted I would slug through it. Back on CE I would intentionally kill myself over and over since it was so fun. Now it's all stay alive, take no deaths or penalties. I think one of my biggest beefs is if you go rampant a single bullet from a sparten kills you. Cmon wheres the fun in that?

      Side note if you kill marines in WC or other missions and manage to take cover you can hear some funny dialogue from Carter or Jorge.

      • André says:

        Yea that perfectionist will take me forever! and those driving assist ones! automatic kills in campaign is easy boostable 7 kills in 3-4sec but it’s boring as hell!

      • André says:

        Oh well I got plenty of time, I will be playing this game for a long time! So far 22/45 onyx.

  6. Jacob says:

    Why does the L.D. Solace challenge fail whenever I die, even though the challenge does not say ‘complete without dying’? It just says to complete it, but whenever I die the challenge fails. Anyone else having this problem?

    • Dan says:

      All LD’s must be completed without dying. If you look it up on bungie.net you’ll see it says without dying.

      http://www.bungie.net/stats/reach/globalchallenges.aspx

      You might as well stick the Iron Skull on because if you die that’s it. I love campaign but I can’t do Legendary without dying. Back when the weekly was ONI LASO I must have reloaded it 30 times, the level took 3 hours that way. But at least the credit payout is worth it.

    • Dogmeat says:

      L.D. means “Legendary Deathless”. If you REALLY want the credits, die as many times as you want through the level, save,& quit at the last checkpoint, continue the mission from that checkpoint, and finish the level without dying again.

Leave a Reply

