9th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary – Birthday Edition

Yep, I’m 31 today. To celebrate my growing maturity, I’m eating rubbish, playing video games and will be going to the movies later. On the flip side I’ve also been given a book about design, visualisation and statistics that I’ve been wanting for a while. And Rayman Origins. So I’m probably about even so far!

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 5343 cR
  2. Survivor – Earn 7 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  3. L.D. Exodus – Complete Exodus, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt, and Tough Luck on – 5343 cR
  4. …And Recreation – Kill 125 enemies on Beachhead on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 150 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 5343 cR

You’re better off doing the other challenges first then mopping this up if you’ve not done it yet. Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Survivor – Earn 7 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. If you can get kills using weapons (ie 5 grenade sticks, a shotgun, sniper rifle etc) then you get nearer the total – use Score Attack to get a range of weapons. Beachhead is quite good as you can use the vehicles to get more sprees – and now on Firefight Arcade you’ve got a good chance of using a variety of weapons, lots of killing sprees and grenades and the like. I like hitting up Gruntpoc then getting the 5 killing sprees.

L.D. Exodus – Complete Exodus, without dying, on Legendary with Mythic, Thunderstorm, Tilt, and Tough Luck on – 5343 cR

I’m not sure why there’s a Campaign mission on FF Thursday. They’re almost giving us challenges in mission order, so it’s really weird. Hmmmm. This shouldn’t be too bad, especially if you’ve done the LASO on Exodus previously. I’m not going to post it all here, but your two things to do are to follow Tyrant’s guide to playing it in Mythic, and read through the commentary and particularly comments for the weekly challenge to get further tips.

…And Recreation – Kill 125 enemies on Beachhead on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

2X Score Attack. You should get about 130 enemies so you can do this in one go. However as with these you should take whatever you’re first offered on Beachhead in case it doesn’t come up again. Don’t forget about the Warthog and Ghost on Beachhead so you can up your vehicle commendations whilst there.

26 Responses to 9th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary – Birthday Edition

  1. André says:

    4/4 now working on commendations and the weekly.

  2. Tim says:

    Happy Birthday bro

  3. robert p says:

    Guess i better get that weekly done…Happy Birthday!

  4. Rossco says:

    Happy birthday!! Now I don’t feel so old I just turned 30 last august but somebody on here is older than me :P.

    I will do 3 of these challenges. Is it worth doing the campaign one? Is there an easy way to defeat exodus on legendary with those skulls on. I never attempted this map on LASO. Either way I will prolly work on my perfectionist firefight, sitting at 495/500 right now.

  5. André says:

    Happy Birthday!

  6. Locklear66 says:

    Happy birthday 🙂

  7. Quinn says:

    Does anyone else see the huge number of cr for 150 kills?

    • Rossco says:

      Yes its nice for a change. If anyone is good at the exodus challenge and wants to do it with me later.
      Add me and I should be on later around 3pm est until 8pm est
      Gt: Lethenium

  8. Steve Bergen says:

    Happy Birthday Matthew! Enjoy your day.

    GT: stevebergen

  9. Emma says:

    Happy birthday x

  10. psycho013 says:

    Happy Birthday!
    And thanks, as always. I finally got my Gungnir helmet yesterday, and much credit goes to this site.

  11. Andres Gastelum says:

    Happy Birthday! For all of you that feel old, I am 32 and just start playing this game on 1/1/12. I am glad I found this site soon after I started playing, I appreciate all of the good advice.

    GT: RedinHP

  12. Scruff 815 says:

    Happy birthday! 😀

  13. Dogmeat says:

    Here we go again! :-/

    REMINDER: If you will be satisfying the weekly challenge today, make sure NOT to additionally get the 1st daily or any combination of the 1st, 3rd, and 4th daily challenges in the SAME firefight match in which you get the 150th wave. The postgame challenges “bucket” can only hold 32,767cr. With the weekly being 30,000cr, it will be very easy to go over. Any credits you have earned by way of challenges beyond that limitation will be lost!

    This issue does not include the credits you earned simply playing the game or the jackpot. It is totally fine to have a grand total over that amount as well. It is just the challenges section where you have to be careful. Happy firefighting, everyone! 😀

  14. Braythor says:

    Happy birthday Matthew, and welcome to the early ’30s (30 doesn’t count as being in one’s ’30s, it’s just 30…).

  15. Gran Calabaza says:

    Happy birthday Matthew 🙂
    Feliz cumpleaños!

  16. Zidane says:

    Happy birthday !!!!

  17. Dan says:

    Happy Birthday!!!

    So I was playing today and I was talking with someone here yesterday about people taking other peoples weapons if they suicide at the start of a firefight game, and today I heard the funniest conversation. On Holdout: me and another guy leave the spawning room, 1 guy looks to be afk in there, and a dude with a rocket. So the rocket guy blows himself up and the afker walks over and takes his rockets, the guy who wanted double the firepower (rockets and frg) kept saying over and over “gimme my f***in’ rockets!” so hilarious! Cmon he did that RIGHT IN FRONT of him. How could he be surprised that that happened?

    I finally reached Legend last night. I’ve been doing arcade instead of score attack all week and I’m 300 assists and 50 perfectionist past what I was before. Also completed the LD Exodus today without saving and quitting, first time ever. If anybody is wondering how to do that watch Tyrant’s mythic walkthrough. Also if anybody sets custom challenges for firefight, DO NOT set the kill challenge at 1500. It’s so long, boring, and tedius. I did get 10000 from it, but I do NOT want to play anymore firefight for I don’t know how long.

    • André says:

      I waited awhile at the start and went for double firepower! This guy turns around and takes my weapon, of course lol. but he was kind enough to give it back hehe.

      • André says:

        I did 840 kills & 840 medals for 10.000 each! that put me halfway on the weekly. I boosted assault rifle kills so I had 1150 kills before I got to 840 medals, usually I get them around same time. I’m at 3500 rifle kills +400 from today’s firefight.

      • André says:

        onyx auto rifle kills is going to kill me! doubt I’ll have the patience. 100% armory then I’m on a break from halo. 1200000cr to go.

  18. Dan says:

    Andre, check out my service record for firefight:

    GT: KrazyDan26

    I’m closing in on gold Riflin’ Through! This week has been great for Backup as well, got 300 assists this week.

Leave a Reply

