10th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Thanks for the birthday wishes yesterday folks. I had a really relaxing day, which included checking out Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol at the cinema (good film) and generally chilling out.

Today my new computer arrived, so I’ve been setting that up this morning. I’ve got about 200 GB of data to transfer from my old machine so they’re just running next to each other. I’ve also finally been able to play Halo 2, so those of you who sent me messages when I bought it we can now start arranging some play dates to pick up multiplayer achievements! So far I’ve defeated the sneaky Covenant bringing a bomb on board the Cairo, and returned it to sender! Good times.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  2. Sticky Icky Icky – Earn 3 sticky grenade Kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR
  3. Deathless Pillar – Complete The Pillar of Autumn on Legendary without dying – 5343 cR
  4. You Want This, Don’t You? – Earn 14 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Fire When Ready – Kill 50 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

As ever, Grifball, and you’ll get this in a game or two. Try and get at least one buddy to hold the bomb whilst you play for kills (and vengeance), or hold the bomb yourself and pick off the other team as they come at you with hammers.

Sticky Icky Icky – Earn 3 sticky grenade Kills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1250 cR

Slayer Pro has no armour lock and one loadout with Plasma Grenades. Invasion is excellent too since it’s really good for sticky grenades in the first round. DinoBlasters can be surprisingly good since no one tends to look out for the grenades, especially when you’re in Zealot type maps.

Deathless Pillar – Complete The Pillar of Autumn on Legendary without dying – 5343 cR

Key to this challenge is the point that if you die, quickly hit pause, then select Save and Quit, then reload your last checkpoint in the menu, and you’ll be reset back, having never died. The best advice I can give is to have a read of Tyrant’s Mythic guide to PoA, which will serve you well here for getting through the mission, and is much much easier than trying to figure it out yourself. Previously we have been able to play through as you would with dying included, then at the very last checkpoint quit the game, go back in and finish it and you’re good.

You Want This, Don’t You? – Earn 14 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Team SWAT, or maybe a Slayer DMR type game, will get you this. The main Multiplayer precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle and Needle Rifle.

12 Responses to 10th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. SensoryFour34 says:

    Pillar of Autumn on Legendary actually isn’t that bad. Skulls like Tilt and Mythic are what really make it hard. I might actually do this one.

  2. Rossco says:

    If I had time I would do campaign one. However I will only be doing the other 3 challenges. Been lots of tough campaign challenges this week. Now that legendary alone is complete and all my commendations are all almost onyx in campaign it isn’t as inspiring.

    Oh and I have been hearing about people getting jackpots in slayer this week. I have been playing TU ZB slayer, team slayer and rumble pit all week and the biggest slot machine I got was 3,000 cR. Am I playing on the wrong mode or just having bad luck.

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      The super jackpot is only in Team Slayer, so I guess you had some bad luck 😦

      • RedinHP says:

        True. I played a Team Slayer game last week and hit a 15,000 credit jackpot. I thought it was because I finished the game eventhough we were slaughtered 50 – 12 and half the team quit. But I guess it was just good luck.

      • Scruff 815 says:

        And this is why you should read the big shiny notice that popped up telling you that you have a small chance of getting a 50,000cR jackpot with every Team Slayer game.

        Biggest I’ve had so far was 33,443. Considerably better than a poke in the eye with a sharp Moa.

      • DrDmoney365 says:

        I had the same luck as Scruff. 33,443 cR was a nice surprise on Monday night. 🙂

  3. André says:

    I won’t play team slayer even with the jackpot. anything but team slayer. Custom challenges, I need to go back to them seeing as they fixed the bans! Campaign challenge is on my to-do list.

  4. DaRoflBandit says:

    Are custom challenges still not giving credits? When you turn them in, when do you get the credits?

  5. Dan says:

    5k for PoA on Legendary without dying? Seriously? Yesterday it was Lnos and it was 8500, what’s with the cheapness? It I find is the hardest mission of all. I can’t complete it on heroic without dying and thats just with silver skulls on. Last time I played it on heroic I had all silver skulls – blind included – and got away with 3 deaths. One was a suicide sticky grenade to a zealot, the other 2 were typical fuel rod guns. But to get it done on Leg it’s so much harder. I got it done ONCE, no idea how many deaths I had but it was alot. I got about 80-100000 credits yesterday from my firefight challenges. I hate team slayer and won’t have much time this weekend to give it a try for a super jackpot. Just hit Legend so I will be taking some time off from the Grind.

  6. Dan says:

    Also funny thing happened yesterday during my firefight extravaganza, I was on arcade in the corvette, 1 guy had already quit at the start, so when it came time for the bonus round, another guy died and I had an army of angry coughing grunts coming after me. I lobbed ONE Frag Grenade and when the word’s Killionaire sounded I just stood stunned. 10 for 1!

  7. Nave Flow says:

    Can you restart from a checkpoint if you die?

Leave a Reply

