Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 13th February

This week’s challenge is below, click Read More to view the commentary:

Not Lough, High – Earn a score of 250,000 in any mission in the Reach Campaign – 30,000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Woah. It was 80k in points last time we saw this. Well, it’s a bit of a grind but it’s pretty easy. My advice is to go into New Alexandria to do this. Put on lots and lots of skulls to up your multiplier to 10x or more, especially in Legendary. You can then keep flying around and taking on Banshees and Phantoms (and any ground troops you stray near) till you get your total. If your Falcon gets trashed from too many dogfights land and then blow it up so you’re rewarded with a shiny new one – I think you can land anywhere not necessarily your next target. It should be that simple.

Other options are playing through any mission with a shed load of skulls on at a higher difficulty and just play well (easy right?). Or from Pillar of Autumn Rally Point Bravo with at least 5 skulls on (Normal difficulty). Play through as normal then when you jump in the MAC Cannon at the end shoot every single Phantom and Banshee you see – you’ll get a few thousand points for each and quickly rock up a lot – 250k may or may not be achievable just with that section though.

There are probably one or two other areas you can rack up big points, feel free to post in the comments your ideas.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

66 Responses to Halo Reach Weekly Challenge & Commentary – w/c 13th February

  1. My Little Housing Blog says:

    What about Sword Base, at the AA gun? A Phantom comes and comes, so you can keep shooting until you get that score. Will take some time, but that is one way of doing it.

    • mattc says:

      That would be how I’d do it too, although I’ll probably mute the TV so I don’t have to listen to Kat yelling at me for an hour.

      “Six, activate that AA gun!”

      • André says:

        I’ve yet to try this method. Is it faster than New Alexandria?

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        No, and it’s harder too with skulls on.

      • Brian says:

        I was able to use this method. Legendary, all skulls except Iron, Black eye, Blind, and thunderstorm. took 31 minutes.

    • Matt says:

      Now I’m curious about this method too. What do you need to do to set it up and earn points, and how fast is it?

      • My Little Housing Blog says:

        It did not take so long, I finished the level in about an hour, and I got three challenges done.

  2. Thazmo says:

    I think if you are to try and do this weekly on PoA (which I shall attempt later) you need a concussion rifle from the start of the level to make the jump to the mass driver gun. So do it from mission start with as many skulls on as possible on a suitable difficulty and you’ll get the weekly eventually 🙂

  3. ShockwaveEXE says:

    What about abusing the target locator in ONI?

    • Gil says:

      Nah, the score gets reset every you revert to last checkpoint.

    • ultimatevyse69 says:

      Revert to last save also resets your points to what they were when you reached the checkpoint, so that wouldn’t work.

  4. André says:

    New Alexandria on Legendary 10 skulls on (all except blind, black eye & iron) I’m 25 minutes in at 164k so I’m over halfway!

  5. New Alexandria is the way i always go when a challenge calls for a certain high score. Takes a while but i believe it to be the easiest way. Just make sure to take out all the Phantoms you can!

  6. Gil says:

    Is there a way to stop your falcon from getting wrecked or can you get it replaced?

    • Stefan says:

      Read the weekly challenge post again. And you don’t even need to blow it up, just land and call for evac when the game tells you to.

  7. Gil says:

    Oops. Never mind you addressed. X(

  8. ArchHammer says:

    If you do it on New Alexandria, when you get to 250,000 pts – can you stop or do you need to finish the mission?

  9. Haharusty says:

    Say my buddies and I wanted to do this. Does combined score count?

    • André says:

      I think so. Put it on team scoring. I will do this challenge in co-op some day of the week with a friend. Hopefully my internet connection is good and team scoring works.

  10. ACS says:

    Can you do the weekly challenge on Co-Op?

    • clutch1965 says:

      Last time we tried on co-op it only counted for 1 person. We were playing split screen on the
      same x-box. Not sure if it would count in multiplayer campaign with different players. Matthew
      usually suggests long night of solice, not sure why not today. happy gaming.

  11. mario says:

    i did the chalenge its the easys one i have ever done took me 1:15 in new alexandria

  12. Quillian86 says:

    Yeah, I say go for New Alexandria, keep shooting down the Banshees and Phantoms as they come. Also, sorry if this is a stupid question, but do skulls like Mythic and Tilt affect enemy vehicles too?

    • Dogmeat says:

      The increased resilience for the vehicles given those two skulls is not enough to worry about. Turn then on (unless you want to take even longer to reach the 250,000 points that will satisfy the weekly challenge)!

  13. GoldSon says:

    Do you have to do it in one sitting? Or can you save and quit and return?

    • André says:

      One sitting. I learn that the hard way, continued campaign at zero points. I did so because I had 2 daily challenges done & wasn’t sure if the credits count past 32,7k on the credit reward screen.

      • Dogmeat says:

        Smart thinking! Given the point at which the credits are awarded (in-game for the weekly and both dailiy challenges), you would have missed out on over 4,900cr! Congrats on finding BOB on New Alexandria. I have yet to find that rascal in spite of reading where & when to look for him! Sorry to hear you had to start over for getting to 250,000 campaign points, though! 😦

      • André says:

        Thanks. I shot him down as he turbo charged past me & towards outside of the level/horizon. Luckily my last shots hit him and the challenge completed.

  14. Matt says:

    I finished the weekly on ONI Sword Base in 39:51 (taking into account time spent failing in the courtyard and 2x Wraith sections) by using the Wraith to keep knocking down Phantoms instead of activating the AA gun. I played on Heroic with all skulls except Iron and Black Eye on for gold skulls and Blind and IWHBYD on for silver skulls. I killed 24 phantoms and got the other 10K and change from the first two fights and then enemies at AA base.

    In retrospect it would not have been significantly more difficult on Legendary, given all the skulls I used; I was afraid that the aggressive Elite Ultras might be sufficiently pissed off on Legendary to make getting out of the courtyard difficult. In fact I assassinated two of them (the second when he punched me after I killed the first), and somehow between them Kat and and a Marine killed the third (must have been a 5 minute melee fight with Kat).

    Speaking of Kat, she kept shooting me while I was endlessly punching the Wraith driver and then she wouldn’t shut up about the AA gun!

    A few tips for people approaching it this way:

    -I forgot the Target Locator after using it in the Courtyard when it would have been an easy way of disposing of the General at AA base. Whoops. Turns out it’s just as fun to use the Wraith to knock him down to the lower level where he has to dodge in and out of the door; since he has a Plasma Launcher rather than a Concussion Rifle on high difficulties, he never got a shot off and three plasma mortar shots wiped him out.

    -You will want Armor Lock, so that once you melee the first Wraith to death, you can con the second one in for a splatter-attempt-into-EMP without the danger of facing a plasma mortar using only Sprint. Board it and knock the cover off; then hop off (expect to take a full shields and 1/3 health hit because the Ultra never stops driving around at low speed), EMP it with the Plasma Pistol, and jump on to punch him 15 times or so.

    -The first Elite on the right ramp immediately at the start of the level will typically stick one Marine and kill both, but with his Plasma Repeater can’t do much to you except get punched and assassinated. That said, the Grunts below will immediately kamikaze, so get out of there immediately.

    -So long as you round the “curve” after the corner when sprinting toward the Target Locator, the Phantom cannot kill you. The Skirmishers are apparently the worst shots in the Covenant since I got to them with only three bars of health and survived with one.

    • Matt says:

      Oh, and as far most frustrating parts:

      -Got a Killpocalype and not a Killionaire in the courtyard (sad_trumpet.wav); and

      -Each Phantom took 7-10 shots to kill and the ground around AA base was littered with Phantom rubble that kept slowing me down as I chased them back and forth 🙂

    • JThomas says:

      Where are you doing this exactly? Right after you pick up the target locator when the gate opens up? And where are you shooting the Phantoms constantly?

      A little ambiguous…

      • Matt says:

        Sorry for any ambiguity. Here’s what I did from the start of the level:

        Kill the first elite on the right ramp; you can generally run up, punch him, and grab an assassination when he punches back, although you may want to throw a grenade so he dodges and turns his back to you first.

        Run along the right edge of the courtyard, bearing right and down the ramp. You may need to hide behind a pillar for a second when you get to the “garage” section where the Target Locator is. Pick it up, turn around, and blast the cluster of enemies on the slope with one shot. Pick off any stragglers with headshots. You’ll be left with three Elite Ultras engaging Kat and the Marines; assassinate them as best you can, and let Kat be your distraction.

        Leave the gate with a full DMR and the best Plasma Pistol you can find (I had Famine on). Hide behind the right-most rock and kill all Grunts, including Wraith gunners, with two headshots. Go to work on the Ultra on foot with plasma spam, then finish him with a headshot. Immediately EMP both wraiths; hop the one closest to you and beat it to death. They should be close enough that the second one boosts instead of firing, so engage Armor Lock, EMP him, and do the board/hop off/beatdown procedure described in my post above.

        Take the Wraith down the right path, stopping to kill 3 Grunt Ultras and 2 Ghosts. When you get to the AA gun base, kill all Grunts from range, then kill the Elites as they rush you. After a Phantom drops off two Ghosts, kill them and the accompanying Elite Ranger pair and Grunts. You’re left with only the General, on top of the square building; kill him however you can (Wraith mortar is the obvious choice).

        There is now only a Phantom circling overhead. Kill it with a bunch of Wraith mortar shots. Now, replacement Phantoms will arrive at the AA gun area one at a time – forever! No checkpoint manipulation or anything. They are passive and will not attack, but will fly in patterns to avoid the Wraith shots – be sure to lead them as appropriate. DO NOT activate the AA gun at any time; just keep killing Phantoms until you are at 250K. The Phantoms will arrive either from the direction of the Courtyard or due opposite (from behind the smaller square-roofed structure which contains a Sniper Rifle).

        As long as you don’t drive off the edge, the weekly is a piece of cake from the moment you step into the Wraith.

  15. Paul says:

    New Alexandria – I camped on top of the SinoViet Tower (green symbol building) – good all-round visibility, no shades to worry about and occasional phantom passing below.

    Heroic with Famine, Tough Luck, Catch, Cloud and Thunderstorm. Very slow at 90 minutes though.

    Next time will ramp up the skulls and do Legendary

  16. Braythor says:

    Ok, I’m getting annoyed at this and may not bother now. First try was New Alexandria, legendary with enough skulls to get 19.20x multiplier. However, after ten minutes or so it drops to ~14x, and by that point I was only on about 60k, so I thought “screw this, I’ll try PoA”. So I fired up rally point bravo, normal, all skulls except black eye and iron. Quickly powered through to the mac cannon, and I can tell you that even had I had all skulls on there is no way you’d get to 250k before the cruiser glasses the surrounding area. You might scrape it on heroic, but I don’t know if I can be bothered to try. I might just go for the ONI approached mentioned above.

    • jon rivera says:

      Try Oni. I turned on all skulls except for iron and tilt with heroic diff. This will give you a decent multiplier. At the beginning you don’t even have to worry too much about the elite on the right. Just focus on the grunts in the middle and the elite will go away once the reinforcements arrive. Then make a break for the target locator by just running to the right and staying against the wall. Jack one of the wraiths and head toward the west path(right side). Get to the anti air gun but don’t activate it. Then just shoot down the phantoms. Took me a little over 30 mins including the beginning part.

      • Braythor says:

        Yep, did that in the end, though I started from rally point alpha, meaning I missed the start out and got 3 shots in the TD. Took me about half an hour too.

  17. Rossco says:

    I did it in coop and it took 2hrs on new alexandria. However we had to score over 500,000 in order for both of us to complete weekly. So in essence its better to do challenge alone cause its an hour completed faster. Also when its coop ur sharing banshees and phantoms. By urself there all for just u.

  18. Noble six! says:

    Easy as taking a candy from a baby!!

  19. Robert P says:

    44 minutes..EASY!!!

  20. Dan says:

    You did what I did matt, although with slightly different base. I set it on Legendary ONI sword base. no mythic tilt iron black eye blind. running on a 12x multiplier I got through with only 3 deaths. locator 1 wraith, use the remaining shot to kill the elite and grunt infront of the wraiths, then kill the grunt in the second wraith disabling it with the plasma pistol. Strip the elites shields when he pops out and headshot him. each phantom on my run went for 7200 points. I did it with my brother coop later on, in all the games in firefight or matchmaking we were the only ones who had the weekly done so early. And I was wrong about the weekly prediction, but I was right about it being a campaign challenge. 2 of my campaign commendations are on the verge of onyx, I can’t wait! Same goes for Riflin’ Through in firefight – only about 1200 more I think until gold. 🙂

  21. Jamie says:

    I followed everything what Matt posted and worked perfectly. ONI completed in just over 45 mins!

  22. Eric says:

    I just completed the weekly challenge. I did it on new alexandria on legendary with 10 skulls on, not iron or black eye, and it took me 50 minutes to get to the 2500000 points.

  23. LC ECLIPSE says:

    It took me just over 45 minutes on New Alexandria to finish this challenge. (and 3 falcons!) make sure you keep an eye out on the lower area near the fog, thats where the phantoms were flying every time i found one. i had all skulls but iron, black eye, and blind on at heroic difficulty. the point value of the vehicles doesn’t diminish with the score multiplier either, so thats a plus.

  24. CyberCyclist says:

    I did the weekly challenge on New Alexandria on Heroic with tough luck, catch, and famine.
    Very easy, took just over an hour, 400+ kills no deaths. I didn’t realize how close I was to the 500 spree or I would have kept playing until I got it.

    • CyberCyclist says:

      sorry, I was mistaken. I checked the stats and it actually took me 101 minutes. 647 points for a banshee and about 4800 for a phantom

  25. SkyrinGans says:

    I’d be happy to help anybody out with the weekly challenge this week. Gamertag: Skyrin Gans

  26. Dogmeat says:

    I decided after first watching a couple of youtube LASO speedrun videos to try the Pillar of Autumn on legendary with all skulls on except Iron, Black Eye, and Blind (10 total). My intention was to copy the gamesave elsewhere for future use (like another campaign points challenge). I flew past everything after snagging a concussion rifle at the very beginning. The only place I got held up was wanting extra concussion rifle rounds from the elite in the smelting room. I doubted myself on being able to get up to the mac cannon early with the amount of ammo I already had. He and his elite buddies kept turning to fight me, resulting in a number of reloaded checkpoints. Eventually, I landed an assassination and fled. I’m sooo glad I despawned the hunters! It only took 3 tries to get up to the mac cannon. 🙂 I just reloaded the checkpoint after a failed attempt (could have avoided the trio of elites had I thought about that in advance). I shot a few enemies below me with my needle rifle until I hit a checkpoint. I quit and saved, copied the gamesave from the cloud to a USB, and restarted the game. According to the game history, the first bit took 98 minutes. However, I am certain it only took about 25 minutes or so…weird. The next bit was 250,000 points in just 7 1/2 minutes (proof)! Because of the time multiplier, I had a total campaign score of over 425,000!

    • Dogmeat says:

      Okay…question for anyone knowing…

      I copied the cloud gamesave from today to the hard drive of the 360, restarted Reach, selected the hard drive instead of the cloud, and went to bring up the campaign. The game I just played on PoA was there for but a moment and then mysteriously was replaced with a different one (Nightfall). Anyone know what I did wrong? Kind of worried I won’t be able to keep a backup of this checkpoint and use it later on when a points challenge rears its head! 😦

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      I tried the same thing, but I could never get up to the Mass Driver. I tired so many times and then just gave up and tried it normally. Then I died and hit Restart Mission instead of Reload Last Save. I was so frustrated with it that I just gave up. I’ll try again later, but I just can’t stand the fact that I can never get the jump right with the Concussion Rifle. I’m really bad at trick jumps. Sometimes I can’t even crouch jump right much less a grenade jump or Concussion. 😦

      • Dogmeat says:

        For tips, watch RC Master’s 5 1/2 minute video on youtube where he racks up over 7 million (yeah…you read that right) points getting to the big gun early. Granted, we don’t need that many points or want to spend 2 1/2 hours doing so. He does two different types of jumps to get there just in case you prefer one option over the other. One is with a grenade, and one is using a bubble shield off of a railing. Look where he lines up his reticule (IMPORTANT) and count the number of shots he uses. He does a first-person and third-person view for each method. Hopefully, one of those tactics will work for you if you choose to try again! 🙂 FYI…I used the grenade jump (first method).

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Thanks for the tips. 😀 I tried the Bubble Shield off the railing and got really close a few times, but could never quite get it. I’ll have to watch that video and try again. Over seven million point is Unfrigginbelievable! 😉 (Yeah, that was a really bad joke.)

      • SensoryFour34 says:

        Thank you so much! 😀 I watched the video and tried the grenade jump, and that was so much easier. It took a few tries, but I got up there in about 10-15 minutes. I made sure to save the checkpoint to a USB so I don’t have to do it again, but I should be able to do it again if it comes down to it.

  27. YOUR EX WIFE says:

    Took me 37:41 to finish on New Alexandria. On heroic with a 9.3 skull multiplier. Just used the same Falcon you get in the beginning, one wing just had minor damage surprisingly. Lol

  28. BraYden says:

    Once you reach the score limit do you hafe to finish the mission or just quit

  29. JThomas says:

    Started up a favorite podcast, sat back, relaxed, and enjoyed getting an easy 30k credits. Took me no longer than 45 minutes…breezy. Got any more num nums 343?

    All that’s left now is last armor effect…

  30. Mo says:

    Iam not a campagin buff, but I did it on New Alexandria last monday w/ all skulls but Iron, Mythic and Blind. I played on Normal and it took me a little over an hour since each banshee was about 1500 points. I died about 10 times…

  31. balv says:

    does it matter if u die on new alexandria

    • XtheallmightyxX says:

      no, but i would recommend to NOT use the skull that disables motion sensor, nor the one that disables shield recharge and doubles enemy health and the one that doesn’t show you your reticle (the dot which shows you where your shots are going). Do it on legendary…took me half an hour

  32. XtheallmightyxX says:

    I completed this challenge in half an hour (give or take 5-10 minutes), by doing the New Alexandria method (hopping into a falcon and just take out the covenant air force. I had at least 6 golden skulls on and 3 silver, plus legendary difficulty. The banshees would give me at least 2000 points and Phantoms were 8000/9000 points each. A word of advice, keep doing this until you get the pop-up saying you’ve completed it. My previous attempt I saved and quit since my score was “257,000” At the post-game stats I was actually “239,000”. Good luck to you all!! I ranked up with this challenge =D

  33. adam says:

    All skulls but iron, black eye, and blind, only two falcons no deaths on heroic, took about 40 painless minutes, easy peasy!

Leave a Reply

