15th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

I’m awaiting my copy of Star Wars: The Old Republic to arrive now. I won’t be able to play it until at least Sunday if not next week however. In the end I did buy the collector’s edition, which started at £130, dropped to £100 a few weeks back and went down to £80 last week. With the money off at Game I already had, the money back in points from buying this AND the Quidco 4% cashback it’s ended up about £70, so why not go big with it!

And I’m not playing the Mass Effect 3 demo. I’ve already pre-ordered it, so all it could do is make me less enthusiastic about getting the game, I’d rather wait until I can immerse myself in it. I am however interested in hearing if any of you have played it yet – any initial thoughts or comments?

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR
  2. Heroic Overwatch – Kill 150 enemies on Overlook on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  3. Cannon Fodder – Kill 75 infantry-class foes in the Campaign today – 1100 cR
  4. Multiplier – Earn 2 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Blastin’ and Relaxin’ – Kill 180 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 2343 cR

If you’re going for just this challenge you’ve got a few choices for doing this really easily and quickly…

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Heroic Overwatch – Kill 150 enemies on Overlook on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Rule 1 for these is take the map the first time it comes up, whatever game type, in case you don’t see it again. If you don’t get it you can quit out, there have been some comments that it doesn’t count in 1 player modes like Score Attack, but I wouldn’t do it too often in case. There’s no game that has the kill volumes unless you can get FF Arcade with one other person max. I say 2 games of Gruntpoc or 2X Score Attack to get through this in 20 mins.

Cannon Fodder – Kill 75 infantry-class foes in the Campaign today – 1100 cR

Winter Contingency should give you over 50, assuming you clear out all areas when in the truck, and take out the Grunts when defending marines, and die having taken out all enemies in the courtyard at the start of Rally Point Bravo and do it twice (or just keep restarting that section). I think Tip of the Spear will give you enough infantry enemies through the whole mission, but it is a long mission that has a lot of potential for death and delay. Your other option is either the checkpoint respawn in the end of The Package, and use the Target Designator on ONI Sword Base – run straight to where it is, ignoring all enemies, grab it, turn around and blast the grunts. Then respawn to the checkpoint or restart mission to do it again.

Multiplier – Earn 2 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

As ever, Grifball is pretty much the number 1 game type for lots of multikills. You’ll easily get this and might even get the second challenge today at the same time. This is any multikill, so a Triple Kill gives you a guaranteed 1000 credits!

5 Responses to 15th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. SensoryFour34 says:

    You might get the second challenge today at the same time? I didn’t realize you could get a Firefight challenge in Grifball. 😉

  2. DaRoflBandit says:

    That stuff you said about the Mass Effect 3 demo doesn’t make sense….. I mean, if we have played the demo and we tell you truthfully that it is bad, that will still make you discouraged since you already pre-ordered it. I doesn’t seem to matter whether or not you play the demo, if it is good, I think you would be hyped for the game, if it is bad, you would less enthusiastic, and us telling you if it is good or bad will be no different than you actually playing the game, but you have to play it to get a good opinion about it, because someone might think is is horrible, while another might think that it is awesome. Or is there some other meaning that I didn’t understand? Its kinda weird from my view.

    • Matthew Vose says:

      You do realise you answered your own question there right?? I’m interested in opinions and comments because I want to hear what other people think, but I know that even if someone else hates it for some reason I may well love it (potentially for the same reason too!). I’m not going to be discouraged but I do like to be able to discuss these things.

  3. Dogmeat says:

    Okay…a question for whoever is able to assist me.

    I copied my cloud gamesave yesterday to the hard drive of the 360, restarted Reach, selected the hard drive instead of the cloud, and tried to bring up the campaign. The game I just played on PoA was there for but a moment and then mysteriously was replaced with a different one (Nightfall). Anyone know what I did wrong? I’m kind of worried I won’t be able to keep a backup of my mass driver checkpoint and use it later on when a points challenge rears its head!

    Thanks in advance!

  4. Dan says:

    I’m on the verge of Gold Riflin’ Through. After all this time, all these score attack games, which btw 2 games of score attack worked for the overlook challenge, I will be at 10000 Automatic Weapon kills. Next up: getting Backup and Trigger Happy to Onyx. Then Vehicular. Tomorrow is firefight day as well. Can anybody tell me have you noticed in custom challenges the payout for a set number of kills in firefight varies from time to time? Todays challenges were 800 kills in firefight and the payout was 7072 cr, but when I went to set another up for tomorrow, same kills = just over 6k credits. It doesn’t make any sense.

Leave a Reply

