16th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

A number of people recommended to me a mobile game called ‘Triple Town’, so I thought I’d give it a try. And it’s good, really good. So good in fact I stayed up too late playing it, and missed my stop on the train this morning playing it.

It’s almost a gamified version of Alchemy. You can combine 3 of any one thing to make one better thing, and then if you can combine 3 of them you get an even better thing. So 3 grasses make a bush, 3 bushes make a tree, 3 trees make a hut, and so on. The world map is only about 6×6 for spaces so there’s a lot of strategy about how you place items to set up combinations. I’m thoroughly impressed.

Triple Town is freemium, so you can play X moves for free for a certain period until the move allocation is topped up, but you can pay for unlimited moves. Which yes I did pretty soon in playing!

Other than that I have to tout the Guinea Grill, a restaurant I visited last night. Not only was it a wonderful restaurant serving one of the best steaks I’ve ever had in the UK, they gave us a box of chocolates for one of the party being the 600th follower on Twitter. Now that’s impressive marketing and a good way to win the hearts and minds!

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR
  2. Just Holdout – Kill 1000 enemies on Holdout in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  3. On the Sixth Respawn – Complete a Firefight Matchmaking game with fewer than 5 deaths – 2000 cR
  4. …And Recreation – Kill 125 enemies on Beachhead on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Just Holdout – Kill 1000 enemies on Holdout in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

As ever if you’re going for this take whatever game type you can the first time it shows up. 1000 kills though? So that’s likely to be 11 games of Score Attack, maybe 3-6 games of Firefight Arcade or 9 games of Gruntpocalypse. I say go for Score Attack, since you get more choices of maps. If you end up with a random amount of kills needed then get into Crashsite or Gen. Defense in Score Attack to get however many you need.

On the Sixth Respawn – Complete a Firefight Matchmaking game with fewer than 5 deaths – 2000 cR

Go into Score Attack and choose your favourite game type, just play it slowly and carefully. Drop Shield’s a good idea too if you can, as long as you’re prepared to run away and heal if needed. 5 deaths isn’t difficult, most of you should be aiming to do it in one or less!

…And Recreation – Kill 125 enemies on Beachhead on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

Not often we get two map specific challenges in one day. As ever I say 2X Score Attack. You should get about 130 enemies so you can do this in one go. However as with these you should take whatever you’re first offered on Beachhead in case it doesn’t come up again. Don’t forget about the Warthog and Ghost on Beachhead so you can up your vehicle commendations whilst there.

16 Responses to 16th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Prox says:

    1,000 kills on one map?! …For only 3,000 credits?! I think I’ll have to pass on this challenge. The time it would take me to complete this would be much better spent completing the 30,000 cR weekly.

    • SensoryFour34 says:

      My thoughts exactly. It’s not even close to worth it. Killing 120 enemies anywhere is worth more than 1000 enemies on Holdout, and 125 on Beachhead is worth almost nothing. These challenges aren’t really worth it today.

    • Gil says:

      Not so bad I guess since I look complete all commendations. Hence it’s like a 3k bonus for playing FF assuming I can get a Holdout game each time. 😐

  2. Quinn says:

    If 343 really wanted anyone to do Just Holdout, they ought to have put it on last week, where it would’ve been done for the weekly.

    I may do On The Sixth, and just find somewhere safe & wait it out.

    • Phil (GT feeblestud) says:

      Oh, come on! You’re going to *hide*?!? What are you, one of those Inheritors with only 29% Commendation progress?

      As someone who plays a lot of Firefight, I think you can probably tell how much I detest hiding. Get your butt out there and support your teammates! As Matthew said, five deaths isn’t difficult at all on most maps and/or game types. Unless, of course, you’re playing Skirmigeddon on a map with no clear choke point… 😉

      • Dogmeat says:

        I detest hiding (and idle boosting) as well! I only fall back from the frontlines during a round 3 heretic wave since I’m working on not dying at all during rounds (5 deaths is unacceptable). Even then, I peek out and pull 2-3 at a time my way with a few pot shots and then lay into them when they round the corner or come up the stairs. I will contribute around a dozen kills this way without taking on the entire lot all at once.

        Oh…I’m at 97% commendation progress and counting! 🙂 I have yet to onyx Mobile Asset and Downshift while settling for gold on Perfectionist and Grounded. I don’t want to sound like I’m bragging…just trying to prove I do my part to help my teammates.

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        Well like Matthew said, the challenge doesn’t require you to play a team mode of FF MM. I think you can get the challenge off of 2x score attack or gruntpoc pretty easily. Plus if you happen to draw Holdout with one of those gametypes then it may work to your advantage, because those gametypes go by quicker (although it will be a 1/3 of the enemies granted in a FF MM team mode), since they can be completed under 6 minutes most of the time.

    • Dogmeat says:

      343i didn’t hand pick the Holdout challenge for today. It shows up randomly similar to 1000-kill challenges on Overlook or Glacier. I don’t even think 343i “touched” this challenge in regards to credit payout either. Besides, it’s a small map for being able to complete a game quickly and typically shells out 4-5 banshees! Just go to Firefight Doubles where you can cycle through nearly all the maps before being forced to accept one, thereby greatly increasing your chances of getting that map. You also split 300 enemies with only one other person instead of four. I average around 175-225 enemies each game. So 5-6 games would be all I need.

      Be careful about hiding! If you don’t kill any enemies, you risk the banhammer finding you. If you only take out a few enemies and then stop, you risk some griefing from your ticked-off teammates due to your not helping AND possibly not completing the entire match (which the challenge requires).

      Not dying isn’t that hard. Just don’t stand out in the open or where a load of covenant reinforcements typically appears. Make sure you have terrain or a structure to jump behind/into if you are taking too heavy of fire. The only time I take great lengths to hide is IF a wave of round 3 heretics show up. I leave those spot-on grenade launching, spartan lasering, and rocket launching baddies to my 3 teammates and only defend myself when necessary (you draw their attention by firing on them). 1,388 perfectionist commendations so far! 🙂

      • André says:

        20.000 cR in custom challenges helps! (840medals,840kills) First game I got Perfectionist on 2x Score Attack on Beachhead, 2 challenges down. 134/250 perfection’s I need to finish that one. It’s going to take awhile though over 100 more matches!!!

        I usually go guns blazing, hence the 106 thousand kills/947 games and only 134 perfections. Nice tips by Dogmeat! 🙂

      • André says:

        Halfway on Just Holdout 591/1000. I soon need to set up 2 more custom challenges. This challenge takes a lot of hours!

  3. André says:

    onyx 5000 perfections here I come! I’ll be an old man by that time lol.

    • Dogmeat says:

      If you’re thinking of ramping up your perfectionist commendation, you definitely want to go with regular Arcadefight. You can get through 3 rounds with 4 players in the amount of time you get through just one round going solo AND the covies aren’t all coming after you and you alone!

      • André says:

        Aha, thanks! I mostly play solo because of my internet connection and because it’s easy getting kills towards custom challenge and/or commendations. Soon I get broadband then I will play more multiplayer firefight. Currenltly @ 80% commendation.

  4. Dan says:

    I remember the first time I saw this one before 343 took over, it was corvette 1000 kills. And that was worth 6000 not 3000!!! This is bullshit, 120 in firefight is 3200 but 1000 on holdout is just 3k? WHere’s the incentive? Regardless I finished all daily challenges and got Gold Riflin’ Through – 10000 Automatic Weapon kills! It took forever, soon I’ll get afew more into onyx. 2 of the games I mis chose. Actually it was just 1, a normal score attack game. It was a long time since I had to deal with those elite generals, they sounded pissed and were packing some serious heat! The ohter game was Skirmageddon, this game pissed me off like you wouldn’t believe. I got it on Holdout and killed 119/120. THe very last one killed me. THat game type is so damn hard, I had more than 100 headshots and I couldn’t kill the last one. ARG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Dan says:

      Oh ya I forgot to mention that the game of skirmageddon, the 120th that killed me, that was the only death too! I was psyched that I was about to have the first perfect game of Skirmageddon, then I died. So Sad 😦

      • André says:

        Typical eh, I usually get to the last wave then I die. I prefer Gruntpocalypse, 2x or Rockets on certain maps for the perfectionist. Not sure if I have done Skirmageddon perfect game. I think I have done that on Holdout, staying in the ammobox/staircase room.

Leave a Reply

