18th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenge & Commentary

I had a randomly Australian themed day yesterday, for lunch I went to the Aussie pie shop and sent pictures to an Australian friend of all the stuff they import (Tim Tams, Shapes, Cherry Ripe… you name it).

Then after hearing Leeds pull off a thoroughly surprising win over Manly in the World Club Challenge I went out for drinks with the friend who’s visiting. We ended up on a table with four Aussie girls in the pub and hearing all about their exploits travelling the UK and Europe.

So this morning I say g’day to you all 🙂

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR
  2. Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  3. Leadership Element – Kill 45 enemy leaders in the Campaign today – 2200 cR
  4. Just a Shower – Complete any Campaign mission on Normal or harder with Thunderstorm on – 4000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Not as Clumsy or Random… – Earn 5 kills with precision weapons in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

Jump into a Team SWAT match, take out some guys and it’s an easy top up of 2000 credits. Precision weapons are the DMR, Focus Rifle, Needle Rifle and Sniper Rifle.

Leadership Element – Kill 45 enemy leaders in the Campaign today – 2200 cR

Nightfall, the first dude with his back to you, either snipe him, beat him down or assassinate him, then restart the checkpoint again and again to get it quick. Other options are the Package or Pillar of Autumn levels (which have loads of leaders), the Target Designator on ONI: Sword Base since you get one or two in that beam and can reset the checkpoint just as the bombs fall.

Just a Shower – Complete any Campaign mission on Normal or harder with Thunderstorm on – 4000 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

12 Responses to 18th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenge & Commentary

  1. SamCiphus says:

    And G’day to you sir!

    I managed to get the 50,000 jackpot today, then the next game I got the 50,000 AGAIN, with an added 30,000 too! So I got 130,000 worth of jackpot in two games!

    • Rossco says:

      Wow congrats I have played team slayer for two weeks now and haven’t hit a single jackpot. You probably got mine 😦

    • Quinn says:

      I’ve managed to get 30,000, once, but never the 50,000. Also, I thought you could only win it once a day, and isn’t the daily cr cap 120,000?

      Anyway, pretty easy challenges today. Which elites are leaders? I now the blue ones are infantry, but with all the new enemy rankings in halo reach, I’m at a loss.

  2. SnuK eVoX says:

    Man I don’t understand the allocation for these credits. Yesterday’s challenges were very time consuming to get and not worth as much as today’s challenge are.

  3. Quinn says:

    Yep, easy as advertised, already done. All I needed was 1 game of swat, 1 play-through of nightfall, and 1 game of arcadefight. I was a little surprised that I got 125 kills when competing with four other players, but a lot of it was the bonus round.

  4. Dan says:

    I was busy today editing a video I saved from my last campaign session. Had the blind skull on, tip of the spear. It was one of those moments that belongs in the mythic fails videos. And a hilarious Elite Ultra Suicide. Lots of screen shots and lots of videos recorded from different angles. Was disappointed however that I ran out of time without getting the daily challenges done. I got the 120 firefight enemies in 2 games, 114 first game of x2 score attack, 2nd game was crashsite installation 04, which was surprisingly easy, I complete the game without dying and set a nice high score. Made a new friend over halo waypoint. Someone heard how I love and miss firefight limited and sent me a friend request. Anybody else enjoy 30 minute survival games hit me up if I’m online.

    GT: KrazyDan26

    I wish I could have done just a shower, I enjoy doing that level, and no I NEVER do it on Nightfall. Anything except Pillar. If it weren’t for stickies I could do the game with all skulls on, even blind. I was trying it out on heroic, all skulls on, and 1 sticky on WC got me.

Leave a Reply

