19th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

I finally got to check out the PS Vita for a decent play session yesterday. I’ve been wanting to for a while, as it’s a pretty impressive bit of kit. The Vita Access Room on Oxford Street has probably a dozen of the handheld units inside each running a different game. However you can access the flash card to start up the demo for other games.

I played Gravity Rush, Wipeout 2048, Little Deviants and Escape Plan. Follow this link to read my further thoughts on it all.

Today is Star Wars The Old Republic day. Finally. I’ll see you all in March! 🙂

Today’s challenges are:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. Single Wield – Earn 20 kills with small arms weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  3. Five-time Champ – Win 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 4343 cR
  4. Multiplier – Earn 3 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 400 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack, 120-135 in 2X SA, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). If you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense.

Single Wield – Earn 20 kills with small arms weapons in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2000 cR

Team SWAT – Magnums will be a good way of doing this. The Plasma Pistol also counts as Small Arms, so think about using that to take guys down, it’s good for stripping away shields, but the Magnum is better for unshielded guys. Infection is good too – you can snipe the zombies using your pistol and get a few kills that way, esp in Cage, Courtyard  or Pinnacle where you can see Zs coming.

Five-time Champ – Win 5 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 4343 cR

Team Slayer and SWAT will be excellent for this, as there are only two teams so a much better chance of winning than in multi team. If you are doing Multi Team, try objective based types and go for the objective itself, most teams don’t. I mean Crazy King, Oddball, Rocket Race. Grifball can be good if you’re ready to grab the bomb and score you can win really quickly.

Multiplier – Earn 3 multikills in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 3000 cR

As ever, Grifball is pretty much the number 1 game type for lots of multikills. You’ll easily get this and might even get the second challenge today at the same time. This is any multikill, so a Triple Kill gives you a guaranteed 3000 credits!

8 Responses to 19th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. For the last challenge, don’t you mean that getting an overkill guarantees the 3000? You need to get 3 multikills, and the double kill is considered one, the triple another, and the overkill the third?

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      Yea, and I found another copy/paste mistake, it says that you can complete the second challenge along with the multikill challenge in GRIFBALL. I didn’t know that you could get small arms kills in griffball! XD

  2. André says:

    I tried Grifball and SWAT earlier I just had extremely bad luck. In Grifball everyone went for bomb/round over and in SWAT twice in a row a team of reclaimers using mic’s. I mean how hard can it be to get 3 multikills.. I will try again later today.

    • André says:

      I get fast broadband soon, can’t wait! Then I can finally play firefight and campaign without the major delay and dropouts.

      • André says:

        Played another 5-6 games, not my day for this challenge. I’ll just do some ONI boost checkpoint.

      • André says:

        On the bright side I finally got through the invisible barrier on Winter Contingency so I can get onyx War Machine.

  3. Dan says:

    I can’t wait to see tmorrows new challenge. I bet after all these campaign ones they’ll go back to boring multiplayer. Cmon campaign runthrough weekly! Haven’t seen that stupid 77 revenges in a week challenge in a while, maybe we’ll get that one. Or another LASO. You know I was playing heroic today with tilt on and I needed 2 full over charge shots to bring down the zealots shields in winter contingency. Mythic wasn’t on so I don’t know why it was different. It’s usually just 1 over charge.

    Later on I played New Alexandria on heroic with all skulls on except for iron and blind. Got through it deathless, but I really would have died a few times, man was it hard though!

    • André says:

      I’m hoping for a campaign challenge as well. Try Legendary on New Alexandria with 10 skulls! I died 11 times, it is tough! It took 70 minutes extra after getting the 250k weekly. Though I’ve done Mythic before so I know what to expect, and the checkpoint spawn glitch is a must! Leaving all the elites except for one, in the second floor of the hospital.

Leave a Reply

