20th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Amazingly at the end of last week the RDCblog twitter account hit 200 followers, so thank you immensely to all of you. The Facebook page is now just shy of 1000 followers. I don’t often do this, if you have friends who play and would want the links to appear straight on their timeline tell them to click that Like button. If it got to 1000 in the next couple of days, well, I’d just tear up at the love. 🙂

I’ve been impressed by The Old Republic so far. I’m having to get used to the change of pace compared to the majority of games I play (I’m not a big RPG player generally), but despite a long install and setup time it does well to keep you engaged. My starting character is Ilyria, a Sith Warrior, currently an acolyte training on Korriban.

It’s a bit strange having read a couple of the Darth Bane novels, which is about the end of this period in the Star Wars universe and the start of the Master/Apprentice rule in the Sith, but the general Star Wars references are quite pleasing (everyone has a bad feeling about this!).

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR
  2. There Are Many Like… – Kill 50 enemies with precision weapons in the Campaign today – 1500 cR
  3. Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 100 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today – 2500 cR
  4. The House of Blue Leaves – Kill 111 enemies in a single Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic – 2000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

There Are Many Like… – Kill 50 enemies with precision weapons in the Campaign today – 1500 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Rifle and Needle Rifle (anything that can headshot except the Pistol, which is small arms, although you don’t need to headshot for the challenge). Nightfall is good, because you start with loads and loads of ammo for the Sniper Rifle, and you can shoot the first Elite in the head, restart checkpoint and do it over and over (a little dull but quick and easy). Winter Contingency from Rally Point Bravo which has DMRs in the base and lots of guys dropped off to shoot at you. I think ONI Sword Base also starts off with the DMR as well, and a series of Grunts running towards you quickly.

Short, Controlled Bursts – Kill 100 enemies with automatic weapons in the Campaign today – 2500 cR

Automatic weapons are those that fire repeatedly, namely the Assault Rifle, Plasma Repeater, Plasma Rifle, Needler and Spiker. In Campaign you want a mission with lots and lots of enemies quickly. As usual, Winter Contingency’s a good one as it’s not too hard, and the enemies come quickly. Stick to Normal difficulty so you don’t have to spend too long. There are tricks in some places like Rally Point Bravo on The Package where you can get a checkpoint just before a group of Grunts so you can take out 5 quickly, then restart checkpoint and do it again.

The House of Blue Leaves – Kill 111 enemies in a single Firefight Matchmaking game on Heroic – 2000 cR

Something like Gruntpocalypse or 2x Score Attack will get you through this easily, or maybe a Firefight Doubles game of Arcadefight.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

15 Responses to 20th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. Hey everyone after a long sabatical I’m back and am jumping into the gaming world once again! I have been playing Halo CE going after the terminals and skulls, while working on beating the campaign on Legendary.

    Great to see that RDC is still up and getting more popular everyday!

    • I have a blast playing Halo CE Anniversary, well worth the price, but I haven’t figured out yet how to deal with the dreaded Flood on Legendary. I start the game on Legendary and after the Flood appear I just fail miserably and take a beating rather than beating the campaign.

      • André says:

        Reminds me I still need to finish that game. I switched to heroic before the Flood level. I’ll do Legendary on all levels afterwards. I need half of the terminals.

      • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

        I just finished the last three levels of Halo CEA on Legendary last night. It was my first trip through the new game. I collected all the skulls & terminals as I went, but now need to go back and pick up the remaining achievements. After getting the Bandana skull on the Silent Cartographer (hint – use the warthog), I really enjoyed playing the rest of the levels with unlimited ammo & grenades. Still had some challenging places, but it sure made dealing with the flood (my least favorite part of Halo) so much better with plenty of shotgun ammo & both grenade types. I wasn’t sure the skull was working right away as I thought it would max out the ammo in your gun, but you just keep however much was in the gun when you picked it up. You will add ammo towards the max as you pick it up, it just won’t go down.

        Anybody up for playing at least one level on Halo CEA co-op Friday night to pick up those 3 achievements?

      • Albeezzyy says:

        I haven’t even picked that game up yet but will soon. I’ve beaten the orignal Halo CE too many times to count (late-nights during my 1-year stint at boarding school in HS).

        It’s no secret that Legendary requires the utmost planning and precision. Dealing with the flood in general means that you have to be able to maneuver backwards and sideways very well. When the little spawns try to get to you a plasma pistol or rifle is best (ammo conservation and all). But really I never even used to shoot the things–I’d beat them down while bobbin’ n weavin’. I’d also just let them hit my suit if I was safe enough and they’d die off, my suit recharged.

        A shotgun firmly planted in the chest of most flood members will do nice damage. Never use shotguns on the spawn carriers, always aim for the head and make them explode in the distance. I don’t know about anybody else, but I tend to carry 3 weapons around on Legendary. I’ll run around with Pistol and Shotty during the flood levels, but pickup all kinds of weapons to just spray the hell out of the flood. I remember the plasma pistol and rifle were far superior than other weapons on Legendary in general. Hang onto one, keep the pistol, and be good at headshots. Then you can take out extraordinary number of elites without using much pistol ammo.

        In some cases, such as 343 Guilty Spark, you may just have to run past the Flood and get to safe area, and turn around to fight them in a bottleneck. If you ever kill a Flood dude who is carrying a Shotty, make sure you scoop the ammo. Also, if you can bottle neck the Flood and shoot a spawn carrier he will damage the Flood around it.

        And the last level (Horse you rode in on or something?)–I remember this one gets a little crazy. Just watch out for the dudes carrying Rockets. Then scoop Rockets and save it for a select few parts where you find it most difficult. Shotty it up hard, and remember to retreat and lure the ‘tards into your safezones.

        I could go on all day about Halo CE, but I hope this tidbit helps you.

  2. DaRoflBandit says:

    Hey everyone, why can’t I get to halo.xbox.com? All of the other websites that I go to work, but when I try to go to halo.xbox.com it just gets stuck in the loading for the webpage. Is there any reason why this is happening, and are any of you getting this problem too? It’s been happening for only this specific website for a couple of days now, and I don’t know how to make it work. 😦

    • BowDown BadKids says:

      Halo.xbox.com is always having problems, at this moment in time at my work computer i am having no problems, but usually while i am at home i either can not load the page, or when i enter my password it gets stuck and i’m setting here refreshing and having to enter it 5 times. You would think if they are going to be the main franchise of Halo that they would have a 100% properly working website like Bungie.net

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        Yea, it works on Firefox but not on Google Chrome, which is my default browser.

  3. Muskett says:

    For some reason I’m bot getting credits for custom challenges, anyone else have this problem or anyone have soluctions?

    • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

      I haven’t been able to get into halo.xbox.com long enough to actually create a custom challenge in 3 days.

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        Try logging in to halo.xbox.com on a different browser.

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        Halo.xbox.com didn’t load for me on Google Chrome, but it worked on Firefox. What im saying is try a different browser or computer.

  4. Dan says:

    In Halo CE shooting Carrier forms in the legs makes them explode faster than shooting in the head – if they had one. I’ll ONLY use the Bandana skull when I do LASO. Halo is too easy on heroic and Legendary is never that difficult. Same goes for the library, it may be hard but it’s fun nonetheless.

    • Albeezzyy says:

      Agreed. Library is so fun. When I think of battling the Flood, I think Library.

      Best part of CE is Final Run on Legendary. Totally epic. Invisible Elites, two Tanks blastin’ at you, and… uh… a bunch of other crazy stuff. Ha it’s been years… Can’t wait to play LASO. It will finally be hard enough!!

  5. SamCiphus says:

    For everyone having trouble accessing halo.xbox.com, if you have an iPhone or Android phone try using the Halo Waypoint app. that’s what I do, and it works without a hitch!

Leave a Reply

