23rd February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

The Facebook page blasted past 1000 people last night! Thanks not only to those of you who clicked like recently, but to all 1007 people who have liked it so far. And the 210 people who follow on Twitter. And the 39 people with blogs who follow. And the 234 email followers. In fact all of you who read and make it worth writing, thank you 🙂

In case you’re interested, I’ve never monetised the site. There are no adverts on the RDC page with the exception of the mobile site (which I can’t control) , and no one pays to license the content. The only place to access the posts outside of the site itself is the Reach Service Record mobile app by Aelatis (and even that’s essentially a link back here), and they get to do that because they were very professional but friendly when asking about using it.

As opposed to the site who were copying and pasting the whole daily posts I make with no acknowledgement to start with, then added my name as though I wrote for them. Little surprise that their site no longer exists.

So thank you for continuing to read, if no one came I’d have stopped a while ago. But whilst you still visit, I still write. 🙂

Anyway, today’s challenges are:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR
  2. Survivor – Earn 9 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 2000 cR
  3. A Satisfied Thirst – Kill 100 Grunts in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  4. Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Survivor – Earn 9 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 2000 cR

You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. If you can get kills using weapons (ie 5 grenade sticks, a shotgun, sniper rifle etc) then you get nearer the total – use Score Attack to get a range of weapons. Beachhead is quite good as you can use the vehicles to get more sprees – and now on Firefight Arcade you’ve got a good chance of using a variety of weapons, lots of killing sprees and grenades and the like. I like hitting up Gruntpoc then getting the 5 killing sprees.

A Satisfied Thirst – Kill 100 Grunts in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR

This just cries out for a quick jaunt into your favourite Gruntpocalypse map. Personal recommendation is for Corvette, so you can use the platforms by the corridors into the spawn room to snipe quickly from. Then if you need to retreat you can do so easily and use the corridor to funnel Grunts down, shooting them as they appear. There’s no requirement for how you kill them, so grenade, Pistol, DMR or melee, whatever seems appropriate.

Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

A lot of the unusual solo Firefight MM variants give around 25 Elites these days – 2X, Fiesta etc. Firefight Doubles might well be a good way to go here if you pick Arcadefight on a map you both like, although I’m not sure if that’ll give you 100 Elites to split.

9 Responses to 23rd February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. brxoverdose says:

    I would suggest using firefight doubles it would be possible to get all 4 done in one game. You usually get around 200 kills a game and you have 20 minutes to earn 9 sprees and with being able to choose shotgun sword sniper from the loadout menu plus the normal killing sprees should take care of that challenge easily by the time you make it to the bonus round you should have more than enough grunt kills but if you dont you can easily pick up another 50 if you have a rocket launcher the toughest one will be the 50 elite kills but with a little luck you will get a few waves of nothing but elites plus the ultras on the last wave make todays challenges possible in 1 game wit some skill and patience. Good luck!

    • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

      I agree w brxoverdose and would add that Holdout and Courtyard are great maps to use because of the relatively close quarters, which means you’re more likely to get through more waves quickly and make it all the way to the bonus round. Especially when using the rocket launcher or FRG.

  2. Locklear66 says:

    Well congrats on the facebook thing. I use the reach service record app on my iPhone to read your blog. That is achualy how I found y’all by using that app. I’m also on Facebook too.

  3. Bean says:

    Have only just discovered your page and I must say thankyou. Its well laid out, clear and nice to read and I have started to enjoy playing Halo Reach again and getting my levels up. Keep up the good work.

  4. Micah (SpartanM914) says:

    So, given how hard it’s been to connect to waypoint via the console and how often one can’t get into the website, has anyone heard anything about what Microsoft and/or 343 are doing to improve user experience on these servers?

  5. DaRoflBandit says:

    I got all the challenges but Demon on a game of FFA doubles on Corvette, I only got 45 Elite kills in that match (so close!) I completed it on a game of 2x Score Attack on Installation 04, also in FF doubles. (the other guy wanted it, and I couldn’t outvote him) He kept killing himself for no reason (He also blew up himself, the warthog and the mongoose at the beginning when I got in the warthog, waiting to see if he would get on the turret.), stealing all of our shared lives, and eventually he left me alive with no lives left. If I died once, the match would be over. I managed to camp in room that goes up to the main deck near the back of the structure for the majority of the match, I only had trouble with the skirmishers, they always kept my shields low. I died when I was fighting off the elites from all of the entrances, and I chucked a plasma grenade at the other entrance, which set off a chain reaction with all of the other plasma grenades on the floor, dropped from dead elites. The match ended, and he left. I really don’t know why he did that, maybe he was trolling me?

    • Dan says:

      He was a noob. I find everyone I play with goes for heavy weapons, I play score attack all the time, it’s necessary if you want things like riflin through or small arms to be higher. When I play it I find the best vantage point is in the small hut to the rear of the main base where you can find guilty spark from time to time, in there is a health pack and ammo crate with grenades. It makes for a great holdout and when the final wave drops just go on top where you find a plasma coil – just blow it up and hold out there taking elites out as they run up the ramp to meet you. I managed to get a Corrected medal in a game of 2x today.

      • DaRoflBandit says:

        But all he literally did was kill himself over and over with different weapons…..(FRG, Target Locator, Grenades, etc, never by the enemies.) He only got 15 kills, and he seemed focused on killing himself, not picking up more weapons and using them to kill things other than himself.

      • André says:

        Seems like a version of AFK. I sometimes get teamed up in with those and I have to do all the work.

Leave a Reply

