26th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

SW:TOR is beginning to get pretty cool, I have a lightsaber at last, I have a Companion, and generally my characters becoming pretty bad-ass. I still have an age to go both in story and progression, but I don’t yet feel like I’m being made to run around and just kill things for XP, there’s always something specific I could be doing. I remember playing Diablo II and having to run around lots of areas several times before I was powerful enough to actually take on the next area.

Today’s challenges are:

  1. One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR
  2. There Are Many Like… – Kill 100 enemies with precision weapons in the Campaign today – 2500 cR
  3. Watersports – Kill 125 enemies on Waterfront on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  4. Headshot Honcho – Kill 11 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2640 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

One Spartan Army – Kill 100 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 2000 cR

You get 120 Grunts in Gruntpocalypse, about 100 enemies in Score Attack, 120-135 in 2X SA, and something like 330 in a Firefight Matchmaking game (although split between up to 4 people). If you need to ‘top up’ your FF kills, jump into a game of Generator Defense or Crashsite and once you have your kills give up the defense.

There Are Many Like… – Kill 100 enemies with precision weapons in the Campaign today – 2500 cR

Precision weapons are the DMR, Sniper Rifle, Focus Rifle and Needle Rifle (anything that can headshot except the Pistol, which is small arms, although you don’t need to headshot for the challenge). Nightfall is good, because you start with loads and loads of ammo for the Sniper Rifle, and you can shoot the first Elite in the head, restart checkpoint and do it over and over (a little dull but quick and easy). Winter Contingency from Rally Point Bravo which has DMRs in the base and lots of guys dropped off to shoot at you. I think ONI Sword Base also starts off with the DMR as well, and a series of Grunts running towards you quickly.

Watersports – Kill 125 enemies on Waterfront on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

This is really easy, so jump in whatever Firefight variant you enjoy and blast some dudes.

Headshot Honcho – Kill 11 enemies with headshots in a multiplayer Matchmaking game – 2640 cR

Team SWAT every time for this. It’s in one game, but in SWAT you should easily get this number of headshots. If you’re not confident in your ability then perhaps try voting for an objective SWAT game, like Stockpile or 3 Plots, since there’s no kill volume target in them which should help you.

10 Responses to 26th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. SamCiphus says:

    I’ll tell you right now, I AM HANGING OUT for SW:TOR’s impending release! Cannot. Wait. I
    The Australian servers don’t come online until sometime in March, but it could be as early as the 1st! At the moment i can’t decide whether to go Sith Inquisitor or Bounty Hunter to begin with though…

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      Bounty Hunter will probably get boring after awhile, and who doesn’t want to go around slicing things EVILLY with a lightsaber?

  2. Joe says:

    I never really have ever gotten into the MOM games, but is Star Wars: The Old Republic that good?

  3. Matthew Vose says:

    It is good. I did my first two missions in a group tonight and it was excellent, much better than when I’d been playing solo. I can definitely see the appeal more after that experience.

    Plus, y’know… you can’t beat something where you can go snap-hiss womm.

  4. Dan says:

    It took me nearly 30 minutes in score attack to get a map for watersports, then when I did the best option was normal score attack. After getting my ass handed to me in the brute wave I quit and found a game 5 minutes later. For precision weapons I just tried PoA at rally point alpha, killed the elites, then went up to where the sniper is with full dmr and took out the large supply of grunts. After about 4 or 5 reloads I got the challenge.

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      A better one for challenges involving killing grunts, killing infantry, headshots or kills is on The Package on rally point Bravo. there will be a Phantom that will drop off 6 grunts near the area in the way back where a Wraith will be dropped off, (not where you spawned) just let them follow you while aiming at them, and when there is a checkpoint, kill them. Reload checkpoint, and kill them again, over and over.

  5. Dan says:

    Hopefully we get a DOABLE weekly challenge that doesn’t require me to play for 10 hours a day.

  6. Locklear66 says:

    Well You guys have just talked me into getten my computer updated to play that game it sounds awesome

  7. Ryan says:

    Yeah last weeks challenge was long. I don’t have time for 77 wins. I can only play on weekends.
    😦

Leave a Reply

