27th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

A question for you to ponder and answer in the comments this week – What would you consider to be your Kryptonite in real life?

Today’s challenges are:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR
  2. Gunslinger – Kill 75 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR
  3. Heroic Overwatch – Kill 150 enemies on Overlook on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  4. The Magic Number – Complete 7 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 3200 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Gunslinger – Kill 75 enemies in multiplayer Matchmaking – 2250 cR

Grifball as ever for high kill volumes. You can get 30, 40, 50 and more kills in a good game when you have your timing and eye in with the hammer. If you’re going for the last challenge then perhaps work in something like Team SWAT until you have that then finish this off in your favourite game type.

Heroic Overwatch – Kill 150 enemies on Overlook on Heroic in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Rule 1 for these is take the map the first time it comes up, whatever game type, in case you don’t see it again. If you don’t get it you can quit out, there have been some comments that it doesn’t count in 1 player modes like Score Attack, but I wouldn’t do it too often in case. There’s no game that has the kill volumes unless you can get FF Arcade with one other person max. I say 2 games of Gruntpoc or 2X Score Attack to get through this in 20 mins.

The Magic Number – Complete 7 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

If you want quick game types, Infection and Grifball can be very very quick, so run through them a couple of times and you’re good.

If you want to know how to get notifications of these challenge commentaries it’s easy… you can follow on Twitter, join the Facebook group or just subscribe to the site using the email option on the right to receive the challenges and a link to the commentary straight into your inbox.

16 Responses to 27th February – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. yes you can in fact complete the Firefight challenges in Score Attack. i have only once in my life actually gotten matchmade in FF so i’ve been doing these in Score Attack since December last year.

  2. Braythor says:

    Peanut butter is my answer to the kryptonite question. The stuff is vile; even the smell of it makes me retch uncontrollably. If someone were to put a lump of it on my face, I’d be on my knees throwing up within seconds.

    Challenges? Maybe I’ll have a pop, though I’m tantalisingly close to boning Miranda in Mass Effect 2, and I want to get that done (and finish the game too, obviously) by Friday, when SSX comes out and takes over my life.

  3. Krandyt says:

    Coffee!! Urgh!! Can’t stand the stuff the smell makes me want to throw up!

    As far as challenges go might do a couple everyday to get the weekly but like braythor I’m trying to Plow my way through mass effect 2 ready for number 3 coming out.

  4. MissedTheApex says:

    I like days like this where it’s not really four challenges as much as two pairs. Two FF games takes care of one pair of challenges, and then a string of quick MM games takes care of the other pair. If getting them over with quickly is the main objective, Grifball is one obvious answer.

    So 2 games of Score Attack + 7 games of Grifball = Over 11k cR in about an hour (plus cR from the games themselves, so probably closer to 20k). Not a bad hourly wage. Not to mention it gets you almost halfway to the weekely challenge, so that’s like having another 10k in escrow.

    • MissedTheApex says:

      …aaaand, if you happen to make a set of 5 custom challenges to mirror the daily challenges, you can get over 12k more, for all the same work. Nothing above and beyond what you have to do for the dailies…just double dipping.

      That’s subject to some assumptions I made…like that every kill in Grifball is at least 1 medal (pummeling), often more (Revenge, First Strike, Bulltrue, sprees, and multikills are all rampant) So getting 100 medals on 75 kills should be a cinch. (Based on my own history, I think 120 is more like it, but I’ll be conservative.)

      So I figure I’ll create a 75-kill custom, and a 100-medal custom while I go for the MM challenges today. That’s worth like 7500 cR on top of the 2250 cR daily.

  5. Rossco says:

    I would have to say I can’t stand hagus and matthew might be able to relate to that.

    The weekly is a nice easy one. Compared to last weeks 77 win grind this week will be a nice break. Should easily get all the daily challenges done.

    I will prolly go score attack also 2 rounds on overlook. Hopefully I can get gruntpocalypse both times so I can work on getting my dmr commendation up to onyx.

    Then it will be off to grifball for 3 rounds to complete kill challenge and then I will play another 4 rounds on team slayer so I can work on all my slayer commendations.

  6. Braythor says:

    By the way, Matthew, are you tracking the Mass Effect 3 space launch today? You’re in London aren’t you? Go chase it down!

  7. Dogmeat says:

    I’d have to say letting others down that are depending on me. Seeing the disappointment in their eyes makes me physically ill. Curt remarks directed at me that are the result of hurt feelings due to poor decision-making on my part sucks the energy right out of me.

    People that have unreasonable expectations or have short fuses are not the same thing. When I have legitimately failed to make good on my promises or responsibilities, THAT is what takes the wind out of my sails.

    *deep cleansing breath* Looks like some easy challenges today. Should be done with the weekly by Wednesday. 🙂 I’ll try to work on my Forge project this week. I have a goal to finish it by the end of the month since it will be some time after 343i completely takes over EVERYTHING that things like file share uploads are working again.

  8. Paul says:

    Procrastination. I would have posted earlier but….

  9. Dan says:

    Firefight is easy, the multiplayer was more fun as I tried infection again. Without friendly fire it was alot more fun. No betraying, and got to try some of the new maps, by new i mean various FX’s. I was on powerhouse and it was awesome! It was hard to see the zombies, and I learned a few tricks with evade giving me the edge on campers crammed into a corner. Finished off the gunslinger with grifball, it was fun until I met a new jackass, started playing reach less than a week ago, just kept betraying, so I made it my mission to kill him as soon as he spawned. I think the enemy actually slowed down to watch us kill the one guy. It was a good game of grifball though, the other side held on while we went at it completing our challenges.

Leave a Reply

