17th April – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Update – And it’s confirmed, Halo 4 comes out November 6th 2012.

Interesting how the consensus is for the ranking to maybe be improved in Halo 4, but not to lose the progress from Reach. In my gut I feel that there will be nothing carried over, so whatever progress you had in previous Halo games won’t count for anything, but my heart wants there to be something, even if it’s akin to the ME character transfer where depending on how you previously performed it gives you some boost of credits and rank but not all the way through the new game’s progression system.

There has been promised an announcement today about Halo 4, rumours circulate that it’s the release date of November 6th, which would tie into previous Halo release periods and sets up nicely for dominating the holiday season 2012.

Today’s challenges are below, and are not the best for completing the latest weekly challenge:

  1. Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 4000 cR
  2. Just Holdout – Kill 1000 enemies on Holdout in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR
  3. Huck It, Luck It – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud, Tough Luck, and Catch on – 2000 cR
  4. Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

Commentary follows after the break…

Shootin’ and Lootin’ – Kill 400 enemies in any game mode in Reach – 4000 cR

You’re better off doing the other challenges first then mopping this up if you’ve not done it yet. Best options for this specifically:

  • Forge – make a game with players spawning in one spot and camp it
  • Firefight – Download my Firefight Invincible game type on my File Share, lots of Elites, lots of medals, lots of kills (plus ‘cheevos if you’ve not done the Firefight ones)
  • ONI: Sword Base – Use the Target Designator trick (run past everyone at the beginning, grab it, turn around, fire, wait for the killing to stop and restart the checkpoint)
  • Package – There are points where you can get a checkpoint just before a number of Grunts appear in the final battle, so you can gun them down and restart

Just Holdout – Kill 1000 enemies on Holdout in Firefight Matchmaking – 3000 cR

As ever if you’re going for this take whatever game type you can the first time it shows up. 1000 kills though? So that’s likely to be 11 games of Score Attack, maybe 3-6 games of Firefight Arcade or 9 games of Gruntpocalypse. I say go for Score Attack, since you get more choices of maps. If you end up with a random amount of kills needed then get into Crashsite or Gen. Defense in Score Attack to get however many you need.

Huck It, Luck It – Complete a Campaign mission on Heroic with Cloud, Tough Luck, and Catch on – 2000 cR

I’m giving exactly the same advice as every optional Campaign mission challenge – run Nightfall, get this done in 10 minutes, tops. As a guide to Nightfall speed run I’ve picked this video off Youtube randomly, but there are hundreds like it. In fact we have further options and details on the time we did it in LASO on this Weekly Challenge page and comments. There are other levels you may be more familiar with, but honestly, you can do this in 5-6 minutes with minimal stress.

Who’s the Big Winner? – Win 15 games in multiplayer Matchmaking – 3000 cR

This is just a little bit of a grind. Go for Team Slayer/SWAT/Snipers/Objective/Grifball/Action Sack game types so you only have two teams playing and a better chance of winning. I’d also recommend finding some guys you play well with and sticking with them. You’ll get lots of credits from the games too.

20 Responses to 17th April – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. MissedTheApex says:

    Glad i got the weekly done yesterday, that’s all I’ll say.

  2. Christian says:

    Wow, 15 wins. These challenges are ridiculousness. They might be easy. Buts that’s soooooo time consuming. I did the weekly yesterday. Thank the lawd

  3. xXDeaThxxGoDxX says:

    Wow epic fail on challenges today… As much as I hate doing the Flat Tire challenge, I am now ecstatic that I did it yesterday and finished the weekly because there’s no way I’m grinding 1000 kills on a FF map I hate and 15 wins for 3k is insane…

  4. Strangespace says:

    Yea glad I got weekly done yesterday too

  5. thejaydub says:

    Don’t think I’ll even turn the xbox on today….

  6. Kyle says:

    Seriously though. If this is foreshadowing of what is to come the rest of the week I will regret not killing 5 vehicles.

  7. Metal Zangief says:

    Same glad I got weekly yesterday 15 wins takes forever sometimes if you get terra bad teammates and some game types last forever

  8. Locklear66 says:

    That’s great cant wait till November 6th then. Iv allready got it preordered like last year so all I can do is wait

    • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

      Where did you preorder from? And did you choose the disc or download?

      • Locklear66 says:

        I preordered from GameStop here in the U.S.A and it was disc

  9. Dan says:

    Did the weekly yesterday, convinced my bro who hates ff to do it too. And look! it pays off. 15 wins for 3k. It should be at LEAST 10K. And then there is 1000 kills! as if I don’t have anything better to do with my time. You could do it in 9 games of score attack, but that’s still 3-4 hours, and it’s not like another 1000 kills with automatic weapons will get me to onyx. This fails even harder due to custom challenges. Instead of grinding 1000 kills on 1 map, you only need to get 400 headshots in 3 hours for 10000 credits! Combine that with an 800 kill challenge for an ADDITIONAL 10K!

    • John Myers says:

      Case in point last week’s weekly, 25 wins worth about 18K, this is over half as many for a sixth of the points. Maybe they just want us to play so much our eyes ooze out of our skulls.

  10. Locklear66 says:

    I got a good look at the article game informer did on halo4 today. I think the spartan ops with be preaty cool. I wish it was named sumthin else it’s way to c.o.d for me. There where a few things I don’t like about it and one is how they made it so you can pick your own weapons at the beginning(like c.o.d)

    • DaRoflBandit says:

      The only problem I have with spartan ops and spartan points is that their names both blatantly rip-off CoD, there is no way 343 doesn’t know that, I really hope they change it to something more creative. Seriously, its not that hard to give them another name…

      • Locklear66 says:

        Yea I totally agree. I play c.o.d but I love halo and they seem to be changing it. It honestly makes me sad.

    • Micah (SpartanM914) says:

      Yeah, gotta love being able to pick the rocket launcher and the jet pack at the same time (firefight).

      • Bond007JamesB says:

        Yeah it’s gana be awesome

      • Bond007JamesB says:

        I like halo alot but my crush is cod so I’m really excited bout 4 comn out… Guess I oughta go pre order it lol

  11. JAWbone324 says:

    Definite epic fail on today’s dailies. Just Holdout? If you do it right, and try to get whatever commendations you can, you might wind up getting just as much if not more that what the weekly is worth. I’ve seen that happen a couple of times since starting to play Reach. It’s funny.. and it freaking sucks. In my case, ’cause I’ve done so many Score Attack FFs, and FFs period, I average 1K-2K per game, so, if it takes me 9 score attack games to complete this, that’s close to if not more than 18K just from playing each game, then toss on the bonus for completing the challenge. Win 15 games? I can barely win half of the games I play. If I had had all of the time in the world today, I would have. But I work during the day. The other two are easy enough that goodnes…

Leave a Reply

