4th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

Today’s challenges are listed below, click Read More to view the commentaries:

  1. Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR
  2. Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR
  3. Survivor – Earn 5 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR
  4. Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Commentary follows after the break, and don’t forget it’s Game Night tonight on RDC.

Covenant-cide – Kill 120 enemies in Firefight Matchmaking – 1100 cR

You could do this in one game of Gruntpocalypse, 2X Score Attack or some of the other variants. 2X is good because you’re likely to get slightly more than 120 so it takes account of TKs from the Covvies.

Demon – Kill 50 Elites in Firefight Matchmaking – 1500 cR

Rocketfight’s usually a good one here, especially since they often up the amount of Elites you get, particularly in the Bonus Round. Fiesta Attack gave a lot more Elites than I’d seen before, but only about 25, and I think there are about 25 in 2x Score Attack too.

Survivor – Earn 5 Sprees in a Firefight Matchmaking game – 1000 cR

You get 120 kills in Gruntpoc so it’s an easy way to do it. If you can get kills using weapons (ie 5 grenade sticks, a shotgun, sniper rifle etc) then you get nearer the total – use Score Attack to get a range of weapons. Beachhead is quite good as you can use the vehicles to get more sprees – and now on Firefight Arcade you’ve got a good chance of using a variety of weapons, lots of killing sprees and grenades and the like. I like hitting up Gruntpoc then getting the 5 killing sprees.

Flat Tire – Kill 10 enemy vehicles in Firefight Matchmaking – 1125 cR

Holdout is a good option for this because you’re guaranteed a Banshee each game, and if you take it out quick (Sniper Rifle in the crow’s nest) then you can get several. Another trick is to keep the last Grunt or two in a wave alive to extend the game as much as possible. Note you need to take out the vehicle NOT the pilot, so explosive weapons help, and it seems they don’t count when played in Fiesta Attack. Turrets do count if enemies get on them, again take out the turret not the dude.

Game Night tonight, so join us from 8pm London time for some multiplayer madness, anyone working on the weekly would be well advised to get on into it.

53 Responses to 4th August – Halo Reach Daily Challenges & Commentary

  1. porottaja says:

    Too bad that Firefight Thursday challenges don’t match up with Game Night very well.

    • John says:

      Agreed, it’s a bit annoying that the game night changed when apprentice finished and onto the only Firefight day which means you can’t do any challenges if you join in

  2. chrisllama says:

    First to say, Flat tire, why you such a bieber :l

    • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

      sure wish there was a mode called Vehicular Fight-guarenteed vehicle on every wave. FF Limited on Beachhead didn’t give us a single vehicle last night. SHENANIGANS I SAY! SHENANIGANS!!

      • t-rOY (tROYnHI) says:

        oops sorry meant to say on Unearthed not Beachhead…..SHENANIGANS!!

  3. Sir Galahad 63 says:

    You should have a weekend game night, so people from other timezones have a chance to play with different people… Just a suggestion 🙂

  4. John says:

    Why will everyone be going to outpost for the last challenge?

    • Sir Galahad 63 says:

      So they get the ghost, because they don’t realise about the numerous banshees on holdout… I think…

      • gans42 says:

        holdout and beachhead are the best in my opinion, though i dont think its worth going for. besides…im sick of flat tire after having it numerous weeks in a row 😦

      • John says:

        Outpost is no different to several other maps in that regard though, as various others also drop vejicles

    • Matthew Vose says:

      That’s my bad, the last time we had this there was also an Outpost challenge in FF. Corrected now.

  5. HC Sangheili says:

    Drop into Doubles Attack for these. 4 games on Holdout out gets both players Flat Tire (Yes!) in addition to the other 3 challenges.

    Just over an hour of playtime.

    • gans42 says:

      if youre looking for someone to do doubles with, ill gladly do it with you in like an hour or two. i wanna get the dailys done before game night

  6. Project SHAVE says:

    I recommend Fiesta Attack on Beach Head and either fiesta or sniper fight on holdout. Last time we had Flat Tire, I got both a wraith and a ghost on Beach Head.

    And what was in my Spartan’s hands? A Spartan Laser. My baby.

    I’m going to breeze through these challenges so I can join in on my first game night 🙂

    • John says:

      2x Score Attack and Fiesta Attack both have the same enemy loadout including the enemy vehicles. I like Fiestafight but find Fiesta Attack pointless without infinite ammo enabled and weapon pickup disabled.

      • Project SHAVE says:

        The difference is that I always spawn with a Splaser in Fiesta Attack, whereas with 2x Score attack, I usually only get a sniper rifle in the ordinance drop, which doesn’t work against banshees because of the overpowered weaponry.

        I don’t like fighting with people for vehicle kills, so I usually just play by myself.

  7. Stephen says:

    Hey snickerdoodle! I played against you on xbox live last night… just through random game assignment in multi-team! Just thought it was pretty cool that it actually happened.

    • callupchuck says:

      Haha, nice. I also had a random encounter with another RDC person. It was on SWAT jackpot weekend (so around 14,000 in the playlist). I recognized a post he did and sent him a message.

      “RDC?” “Yep”

      Bam, that’s brand name recognition level right there.

    • HAHAHAHA! awesome. 🙂

      but uh…who are you? 😀

      • Stephen says:

        Just a guy who reads RDC almost everyday, and happened to play against online. I’ve never joined the RDC Game Nights or anything so you wouldn’t know my gamertag (GoBlueFiddler13).

  8. lolGTFOplz says:

    weekly challenge, DONE! won 15 games in a row of griffball, how? no idea, picked my friend up again and we won. lmfao. FF thrusday always sucks. i wouldnt mind doing game night tonight, how do i go about doing that? Thanks.

    • Woody says:

      Grifball seems to go much better with friends. I was playing with Project SHAVE and my best friend the other night and had better gaming than usual.

      As for game night, click on the link in the last paragraph of Matthew’s commentary. It will have all the info you need.

      • gans42 says:

        its even better when you have a full team for grifball, and a 4v2. end result? this http://www.bungie.net/Stats/Reach/GameStats.aspx?gameid=738009727&player=gans42

        join me today at around 6:30 UK time for some fun filled madness in grifball and swat (just send me a friend request AND a message please)

      • lolGTFOplz says:

        totally skipped over that last line there. lol. thanks woody!

      • Project SHAVE says:

        Gans, that game was tragic. Those two on the opposite team will never make that up for that horrible k/d ratio.

        Haha! I’m gonna friend you and join your party tonight.

      • Woody says:

        Oh my gosh, gans!! That was a slaughter!

        I will still be at work 6:30 UK time. I don’t usually get home until a few minutes before 8:00 that time… assuming I’m going straight home.

      • gans42 says:

        shave i felt guilty at first, but my teammates convinced me its worth it. plus literally the game before i was on the 2 side in a 4v2, though i only went -7 that game. and its not THAT hard to recover from -100 or so, i go around +100 on days where i dont work (or take naps lol)

        and woody whenever youre on just let me know, id love to have you

      • Matthew Vose says:

        That’s so harsh (the game). I’ve been in that situation myself and can end up holding my own (I was only about -15 against a top notch team once) but it puts me off playing again.

        When I’ve been on the full team and seen the opportunity I’ve scored myself just to stop others doing it. Last thing I want to do is put someone else off playing Reach!! 🙂

      • gans42 says:

        matthew id normally agree, but literally the game before i got the same treatment (though not as coordinated as my team), and i had to let out some pent up frustration

  9. eltorro52 says:

    How long do yall normally stay on for game night?

  10. xxboy1daxx says:

    For Flat Tire, play Sniper Attack on Holdout..choose the jetpack, then fly up to the top of the level on the main building and stand on the yellow rail, you won’t be out of bounds..wait for a grunt to man the turret and snipe the leg..then proceed to snipe the grunts until you get a few kills after your Be The Bullet medal appears..then a banshee should fly out anywhere between 12:30 and 11:30 left in the game, and every 3 minutes after that..you should get 5 vehicle kills each game this way, sometimes 6 if the first banshee spawns early enough…

  11. Jesse says:

    With yesterday’s technical problems, 343 should double up today’s credits. Especially flat tire, which was 5 kills for 1K credits just a few days ago.

    it’s not like it’s real money, why so stingy? 🙂

    • Woody says:

      I was thinking the same thing about the cR doubling. I tried waiting on the server issue to get fix, but it came too late for me and as a result, I didn’t get a single challenge. I felt violated for that. lol

  12. Beermit says:

    MORE flat tire? Someones gift be peeved about that. I love it tho, just an excuse to do more Firefight 🙂 Now if only I wasn’t at the parents for the weekend 😦

    • Chris (Insanity Boy) says:

      Now that’s why Reach should be on some sort if Xbox handheld device… 😉

  13. gans42 says:

    hey guys, something came up, i should be on in about roughly half an hour. sorry for the delay

  14. Jesse says:

    I did play a couple of firefight matches (during that server issue), but quickly exceeded my daily “offline” limit, even though i was playing online.
    Seriously, Cr’s ain’t real cash! 🙂 They need to loosen their purse strings after a down-day.

  15. 'Cos says:

    …wow. What a week already. I need as break from what has apparently become my harsh reality so far this week. I’m gonna go play some gamenight. Here i come…

  16. 'Cos says:

    Sorry i had to leave on short notice, everyone. Such is the life this week. Too bad; i was actually having fun…helping erase the ‘reality of the week’. I will be online later, and would like to pick off where i left off. Except the fact i was playing horribly. Kudos to those i did play with/against. You are quite skilled.

    And a personal apology goes out to snickerdoodle. S very sorry for that last game. Fun, Eh? “Bonne chance mon nouveau amie”! Thanks for the game and conversation…

    Good luck to all, and happy haloing…

    – seventh dawg

  17. eltorro52 says:

    Anyone wanna play some SWAT?

    • gans42 says:

      i know this is kinda late, but im always up for some swat. send me a friend request, and if you see me on ask if im willing to play. chances are itll be a resounding yes

  18. Woody says:

    For all those who left messages or some sort of invite, I apologize for not responding. Amazingly, I was either knocked out asleep while my XBox was running or stepped outside the room at the time message/invites were sent, therefore making me unaware of them until it was too late.

Leave a comment